We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm that dork”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Key West Cemetery

Key West Cemetery
Ranked #28 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A very unusual cemetery - several graves have humorous epitaphs (e.g., "I told you I was sick").
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm that dork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I talked my friends into a walk and ended it at the cemetary. It was hot so the Iguanas were sunning. There's no public restroom so stop for a cold one and use the facilities. Interesting history and sections within.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    394
    165
    42
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to Learn History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Drove through on an electric cart with a map provided by the cemetery. Historic notes of interest are noted on the map.

Good way to learn history and spend a little time off the beaten path of the normal tourist traps.

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lots of history here.This historic site was very peaceful.The only cemetery I've ever found to be peaceful, beautiful and gave me fits of laughter ... due to some of the funny notations on the head stones. A self guided tour is fun. Another must do activity when you go to Key West. And it's free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank catsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fun and fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It seems a little morbid to say but it really was a fun and fascinating visit. Reading the headstones is entertaining. It's so different from what I'm used to seeing in a cemetery. It's an interesting look at life and death in a completely different part of the country. Go visit! And they have maps at the little caretaker building so you can find some of the sillier headstones as well as the different ones and some of the more famous locals.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Creepy but VERY interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

How creepy is it to visit a cemetery on vacation? I thought it was very creepy, but we did it. You can grab a guide map on the way into the cemetery and walk around and explore. You can find "Sloppy" Joe's grave and see some other interesting spots. Mostly everyone is entombed above ground so it is different. Also, the huge iguanas are all over the place which can really creep you out as you walk through the very quiet cemetery and one darts out past you or behind you. It is interesting to visit if you have time. Do the Ghosts and Gravestones trolley tour before you visit. It will give you insight into some graves you'll see here and make it more interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Key West Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing