We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home”
Review of Bahama Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahama Gardens
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Bahama Gardens is a great place to rent for a stay in Key West. The location could not be better as you are in walking distance to everything you want to eat, see, do, and try. Don't bother renting a car if you are staying here as you will park it and not touch it again. Duval Street, Fort Zachary State Park, Blue Heaven,Santiago's Bodega are all right there. The property has beautiful gardens and a great pool and hot tub and while you are enjoying them you feel right at home. Same for the place itself. We rented the Cigar House and it was perfect for 2 people. It has a nice porch for sitting and reading or having a meal outside. Everyone who runs this place is pleasant and professional, for the owner to the maintenance guy and the housekeeper. They are genuinely friendly, responsive, and helpful. Lastly, the roosters next door do make some noise as others have mentioned, but after the first day you get used to them. They are a good part of the local atmosphere and sometimes downright funny!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEDogGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The pros: Key West is great and this is a terrific location. Two blocks from Duval Street yet you can't hear the crowds and music. It's a nice set-up with the houses around the small pool and our neighbors were charming.
The cons: The house needs some loving care. Everything is just a bit lacking. The kitchen is poorly equipped and dingy. Things don't work well, like one of the TVs and the toaster. The pain is smudged and dirty in spots. The bedrooms are small and--the biggest issue--there's only one full bathroom for four bedrooms. We were five people and that quickly became a problem. None of these things is major, but put together you are paying a lot of money for a place where nothing is quite what it should be. The one thing, however, that IS major, is the roosters. The house (I should say shack) next door has a flock of roosters (yes, I said a flock). They start crowing at about 3 AM and don't stop until midday. The two bedrooms that have windows in that direction are impossible for sleep. We tried earplugs, we tried white noise. One of our neighbors told us she was forced to take a sleeping pill every night. We played musical bedrooms so no one would have to deal with it every night. I know it sounds sort of charming--and the occasional crow is kind of colorful and Key West-y appealing--but non-stop multiple crowing for hours on end can make you kind of crazy. We all started having fantasies of roostercide.
Despite all that, we had a great trip and would go back to Key West in a heartbeat. Just not to this spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JilPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Bahama Gardens has great potential but, needs some T.L.C.! My husband & I rented "Cigar House" in Nov. 2011.
The location is absolutely perfect, the grounds are nice but, flower planters are lacking flowers, pool chairs are dirty & covered in tree sap, spa doesn't heat up, our porch & front door badly needed fresh paint. We weren't told that adults can not stand up in the sleeping loft so must crawl to bed, broken bedside lamp, fridge is rusty on the exterior (not pretty to look at every morning,) window blinds are dirty, bent up or broken. There is a chicken coop in the yard next door so lots of noise round the clock. Owner needs to spend some time fixing/cleaning up and, the place will be MUCH better for the rental price!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just returned from 10 days in Key West. We found this property on Tripadvisor and noted that there had not been any reviews in awhile. However, those which we did find were relatively positive. The property consists of 5 houses, a pool and a small spa. It is very well located as it is walking distance to the beach, Duval and most points of interest. I can confirm that we did indeed relax and enjoyed the property. Keep in mind that chickens and roosters live nearby but that is part of the charm of Key West.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I just returned from a wonderful long weekend in Key West with 6 high school girlfriends. Bahama Gardens was the perfect spot for us - centrally located, great pool, plenty of space. We stayed in the main house - 4 bedrooms and a pull out couch - and had plenty of room for 7 women and all their stuff. The house is a short walk from a great beach - Fort Zach - and an even shorter walk to great bars and restaurants. John the property manager was very helpful and full of great tips for things to do around the island.
I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We just celebrated our wedding in Key West on New Year's Eve. We needed housing for our guests/family. We were very pleased with the accomodations at the Bahama Gardens. We rented the Main House and Conch House for a week., 8 and 4 guests respectively stayed. Plenty of room. Best part according to our guests was the location of the property. One block away from the beach, 2 blosks away from Duval St. Meanwhile neighboorhood was very quiet. Only negative might be the roosters crowing in the early hours, but no way to avoid it in Key West. Part of the charm of Key West I guess. Would definately recommend this place especially if needing a larger group for a wedding. Very reasonable cost wise as well.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

in april 2008 we signed a lease for jan-mar 2009 In may 2008 we bought a house in key West and tried to contact the owner. I say tried because he would not respond to multiple calls or letters. When we have rented in Fl keys in the past there has always been a cancellation policy. There is none at Bahama Gardens - this is the Roach motel.... All sublets must go through the landlord and there is a rental fee you pay for this plus cleaning fees etc and we were even charged a $100 breakage fee for a tv cable for a tv we never used .... When we rented in 2008 the house was a little 'as is' but the grounds were nice, In 2008 we had a verbal promise from the owner work was going to work on things we were unhappy with(like intermitant hot water, washing machine, window air conditioner right behind the couch etc...) but In 2009 the place was more 'as is' e.g. the shower still had intermitant hot water - and now the grounds needed to be maintained. All I can say there are many rentals in KW keep looking- it was our 15K mistake. Read the contract carefully. Pls don't make the same mistake. The place is for sale maybe that is why it isn't being maintained.
Since we didn't need the 2009 reservation and we could not rent the place, we let family stay free - my sister-in-law tried to clean the back deck, washed the rugs, cleaned the grill .. they left early. That says it all.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahama Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Gardens

Property: Bahama Gardens
Address: 704 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7335
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Main House is a two (2) story 100+ year old, recently completely renovated "Conch" house. The house has an open downstairs floor plan, and four (4) private bedrooms upstairs. There is a downstairs wraparound porch, and a complimenting upstairs wrap around balcony, both of which overlook the pool, sundeck and Thomas Street. All window, door and floor trim is turn of the century style, and all windows are 6 / 6 double-hung sash.The house has a secured wi-fi network, ADT Security System (24 hour central monitoring), CCTV, three (3) HDTVs (two (2) Sony 32" flatscreen (HBO, DVR) and one (1) Samsung 40" SMART HDTV). The house has five (5) tons of central air conditioning, and six (6) 52" Hunter ceiling fans; there is a full size Whirlpool washer and dryer located at the rear of the house. There is a propane barbecue located on the pool deck.The house can comfortably accommodate a maximum of eight (8) guests.There are two (2) off-street parking spaces on the property.First Floor The kitchen, dining room, living room are located on the first floor. Located off the living room is a half bathroom, which has a pedestal sink. The downstairs floor is a Golden Oak Pergo, and the downstairs ceiling is 9' high. KitchenThe contemporary galley kitchen is new with maple cabinets, Corian countertops, and a double compartment, integrated Corian sink. Kitchen equipment includes a GE range, GE microwave, GE dishwasher, garbage disposal, Samsung side-by-side refrigerator with icemaker and serve through ice and water dispenser, coffee maker, toaster, dishes, flatware, glasses (service for 8), pots, pans, and all basic cooking utensils. There is a set of two (2) French doors providing access from the kitchen to side porch, pool, and sundeck.Dining Room The dining room has a glass dining room table with seating for six (6). There is a ceiling fan in the dining room.Living Room The living room has a queen size sleeper sofa, a love seat, a reading chair (with ottoman), an entertainment center, a Samsung 40" SMART HDTV, Sony DVD player, and a Panasonic CD/MP3 player. The living room has recessed lighting, and a ceiling fan.Second Floor The second floor has four (4) private bedrooms - one (1) queen bed, one (1) full bed, two (2) twin beds, and one (1) twin bed. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan, and there is a Sony 32" flatscreen HDTV in two of the bedrooms. One bedroom provides access to the 275 square foot wrap around balcony, which overlooks the pool and sundeck, and Thomas Street. The second floor is carpeted, and there is a new full bathroom located on the second floor.All linens and towels are furnished.2014 Old Town Key West (5) circa 1880 historic houses in a private gated compound setting within easy walking & biking distance to the best restaurants and nightlife in Old Town Key West - 2 blks. from Duval St., 4 blks. to beach. Amenities include a 10'x35' pool (including Jacuzzi), 10'x40' sundeck, BBQ, brick walkways, heated Jacuzzi, tropical landscaping (bananas, hibiscus, orchids, palms). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahama Gardens Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing