We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its what we do !”
Review of Duval Street

Duval Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.18*
and up
Small-Group Key West Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour
More Info
US$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
More Info
US$107.42*
and up
Key West Island Helicopter Tour
Ranked #10 of 177 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular, busy street offers plenty of shops, restaurants and bars.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Its what we do !”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's tradition, go to Key West, hang on Duval until late, have something quick to eat and try and do it again. But frankly, Duval is expensive, loaded with the types of over priced , tourist dive bars you can find in any tourist haven. The Key to Duval is finding the history. Visit Captain Tony's, find the Chart House, hit the Rum Bar for a tasting. But be aware , it's expensive and I'm sure Hemingway would roll in his grave if he knew what it cost to drink on his favorite street. It's become the Disney land for the Margaritaville attitude.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cndrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,554
    3,235
    1,294
    309
    132
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cute area of Key West!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Cute area for sure, lots of really neat little stores and love the style of the buildings. I thought it would be bigger but was still nice to walk through and check out. Was finally able to find a store with the Salt Life bumper sticker that I wanted! Definitely can't miss on your trip to Key West.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank leemoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Duval Street”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Duval Street and Mallory Square were great! We traveled by city bus from our resort and got off the bus at Caroline & Duval. We were told by a very friendly islander that Caroline's was a great place to eat, and he was right. Highly recommend Caroline's . Loved the outdoor atmosphere right on Duval and straight across from "Fat Tuesday's" what a great Daiquiri Bar. We are coffee lovers and wanted to try some Cuban Coffee so before strolling down Duval for the Sunset Celebration at Mallory Square we went down Caroline street and found the "Cuban Coffee Queen". Great Cuban Coffee and sandwiches and friendly people. Highly recommend this place also. While you are there you can visit Mac's Sea Garden, great shop! We loved the trip so much we are going back in May 2014 and staying in Old Town. This time we plan on visiting more of the tourist attractions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting, to say the least”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited KW for the first time in October and of course a trip down Duval Street is almost 'mandatory'. We have mixed feelings...there were the obligatory tourist souvenier shops at the lower end graduating to mostly bars as we approached the Mallory Square area. Great if you are like bar-hopping (us--not so much, though). Great to walk once or twice for people like us...interesting and varied things to see. You know, I was a little surprised, though...Key West is touted as such a laid-back place, but you wouldn't know it from the tourists. I have never travelled to a place where the tourists are so rude! Was told by a couple shop owners that it is mainly the cruise-ship crowd that has the me-me-me mentality, though...but it was a shock to me. Still, if you are in Key West, take the trek.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tkontheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint John, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carnival Atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Duval is the main drag of key west. Shops, bars, restaurants and galleries line the streets. Things to do on Duval include Hard Rock cafe- Wyland galleries - Ripley's believe it or not. Sloppy Joes, Hog's Breath, The Green Parrot and much more

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lolly311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duval Street also viewed

 

Been to Duval Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing