We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duval $treet”
Review of Duval Street

Duval Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.18*
and up
Small-Group Key West Food Tasting and Cultural Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular, busy street offers plenty of shops, restaurants and bars.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Duval $treet”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Duval Street is pretty much what I had expected - lots of expensive brand stores, tacky $5 t-shirt souvenir places and many bars offering BOGO drinks. Fortunately there are not pushy sales people hassling tourists into there "unique" stores or bars. You absolutely need comfortable walking shoes and you need some serious patience when the cruise ships are docked. Duval Street is a fun place, but not somewhere I would rush back to. We would recommend going a block or two away from Duval where you will find great bars, restaurants, and some cool stores.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,235
    3,085
    1,236
    289
    129
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were soooo looking forward to visiting Duvall Street for that Vegas Strip/Bourbon Street experience! But we were disappointed to be the youngest, soberest people there. Honestly, even before sunset the streets were crowded with people my parents' age so drunk they could hardly walk. I am surprised you are able to drive on the street with how many drunk people are crossing, walking in the street, etc.
The bars were all fun and had great drinks for reasonable prices, but it seemed to us like a big frat party for people who haven't been in a fraternity for 30 or 40 years. Plus, hotels on Key West are soooo expensive that if you stay in an affordable place in the Keys you probably have a drive in store for you at the end of the night, which means lay low on the drinking. Our guess is that's why there were so many middle-agers...they are the only ones who can afford to stay on Key West! :-)
A fun place to visit, but know that it's like Bourbon Street on steriods, and that the crowd is all WASPs!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthews,nc
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Really enjoyed my visit on Duval street, wanted to go back at night but was told it was crazy down on other end from where I was staying, walked up and down a lot saw all kinds of people, some not to my taste. Lots of restaurants, bars, cafe, stores, and even a C V S, and Walgreens. Had fun and hope I get to go back again someday!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank deeMatthews_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Its what we do !”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's tradition, go to Key West, hang on Duval until late, have something quick to eat and try and do it again. But frankly, Duval is expensive, loaded with the types of over priced , tourist dive bars you can find in any tourist haven. The Key to Duval is finding the history. Visit Captain Tony's, find the Chart House, hit the Rum Bar for a tasting. But be aware , it's expensive and I'm sure Hemingway would roll in his grave if he knew what it cost to drink on his favorite street. It's become the Disney land for the Margaritaville attitude.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cndrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cute area of Key West!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Cute area for sure, lots of really neat little stores and love the style of the buildings. I thought it would be bigger but was still nice to walk through and check out. Was finally able to find a store with the Salt Life bumper sticker that I wanted! Definitely can't miss on your trip to Key West.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank leemoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duval Street also viewed

 

Been to Duval Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing