We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Trip”
Review of Catamaran Echo

Catamaran Echo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.48*
and up
Champagne Celebration Sunset Cruise
More Info
US$95.59*
and up
Shipwreck Snorkel and Wild Dolphin Encounter
More Info
US$95.59*
and up
Key West Shore Excursion: Shipwreck Snorkel and Wild Dolphin Encounter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's always upscale on this beautiful 28 seat sailing catamaran because of quality controls - like 1/2 full maximum. Join our Wild Dolphin, Snorkel & Sailing Adventure day trip to visit Wild Dolphins in the shallow waters off Key West, Snorkel reefs, wrecks and giant sponge gardens (wherever it's best) and enjoy some great Sailing too. Top quality snacks, fruit, soft drinks, beers and wines are always included free on Catamaran Echo. Our Key West Sunset & Moet Cruise includes only the most expensive items served on the water - Champagne, 6 premium Wines, 3 top Beers and our famous Gourmet Cheese Buffet. Even better Moet & Chandon Champagnes are available as an upgrade, and at wholesale prices, but only to our guests. It's nice to know that you'll only be served the best, while sailing into the Key West sunset.
Ohio, United States
1 review
“Incredible Trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a great trip out to see dolphins in the wild and snorkel on the reef. Was very good weather , had Wonderful guides, and saw all kinds of dolphins. Couldn't have been more relaxing of a trip out to the reef and great snorkeling sight.
I highly recommend this as an excursion from a cruise ship and make sure you book online with the company on their website.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    71
    15
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My husband and I had a great time.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For our honeymoon my husband and I went on the snorkel/dolphin encounter. We had an amazing time! The reef was beautiful and we had the pleasure of watching a dolphin swim and hunt.

Helpful?
Thank Mtoole13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our group chartered the Echo the Saturday following our wedding the night before. After all the stress involved in the nuptials, we were looking for a relaxed, no hassle day of fun. Well, we found it on the Echo! We met the crew at 1330 hours at the dock and proceeded out to open water where we immediately came across a very active pod of dolphins. There were at least 6 that spend a considerable amount of time socializing with us, allowing for some great pics.

From there we proceeded out to a snorkel spot where we were given about an hour (would have been longer had we not been so lucky with the dolphins) to play in the water. There were some colorful fish and some VERY large stingray as well as corral in the area. It wasn't the greatest snorkeling but was fun anyway. After we were done, we boarded the boat where the crew had bottles of Moet Chandon (boat sponsor), wine, beer, and sodas waiting for us. They offered fruit and snacks but I recommend stopping at the Cuban Coffee Queen for sandwiches to bring as well. The champagne was flowing so having a good amount of food with you is important.

All in all the trip was a huge hit with our guests. The crew was personable and knowledgable of the area, dolphins, and history of the Keys. The ride was clam and comfortable which made for a great day in the sun. For those unhappy with your tour, it may have been just bad luck. Let Echo know and I'm sure they will make it up to you. Great boat, great people!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break Activity with Family”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

*** Book direct with Echo --> SAVE money ***

We were down in Key West recently on Spring Break with the 4 kids and this activity stood out as the highlight of the trip. The whole operation, from boat to crew, is very professionally run, yet very personable and engaging. The kids had a blast getting up close to the dolphins up on the front trampoline of the catamaran; and we saw a ton of them. As we looked across the water at other site-seeing boats in the area, mostly V-bottom type boats, their guests were much higher off the water whereas we had a much more up-close and personal engagement with the dolphins. The snorkeling was also fun for the kids, got to see a lot of sea life as the water was crystal clear.

The only disappointment was not booking directly online with Echo (www.dolphinecho.com). First of all, it's CHEAPER to book directly; we would have saved $90. Unknowingly, we went through a 3rd party site and not only did we pay more, they screwed up our booking to boot; they failed to send the reservation over to the Echo team. Fortunately, and as they request you to do, we called over on the day we arrived at Key West to confirm our reservation and we were nowhere on their passenger list. With 6 in our family, they could not accommodate us on our original booking date, but bent over backwards to get us out on the water on a different day. So disaster averted and it turned out the weather was better on the day we went anyway.

A must-do activity for families on Spring Break!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewitt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I felt duped”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

On th eweb site I read about a cruise to a dolphin playground in the back country. We simply circled outside the harbor among the speed boats and jet ski traffic. No dolphins were cited. From what I read on the web site, I expected to be snorking on a coral reef. The captain dropped us off in murkey green water about 100 ft off shore from a trailer park. I could have drove there and didn't need a 2 hour boat ride to get to a beach with a grassy bottom. Sea life was minimal and underwater visibility was about 5 ft. On a scale from 1 to 10, I'll give the snorkel experience a 1 because the water was warm. I expected the locals to know the good snorkel spots, yet now I suspect that this captain had never been snorkeled before. It was windy and on the way back had opportunity to sail. The captain fumbled with the sail, and finally caught wind. The boat never really propelled forward and we ended up motoring back to the harbor. The captain blamed the poor showing on the wind conditions. There was some chop, yet nothing excessive. We finished the trip an hour early. I rationalize the expense as a charitable contribution to the local economy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWCaptain, Manager at Catamaran Echo, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Jim Q,
Well, we were not happy with your trip either. That is why we issued you a nice refund as soon as we got the c card info. Even though you or the other passengers did not even ask for one. I fact, all the passengers who spoke up that day were very gracious and said that they still had a great time anyway and that they understood that we could not control the weather and the 5 year wind conditions that rolled in during your trip. That day we even offered everyone a free trip, and 4 people went again the next day and had a fantastic time.
It would have been very nice if you would have just spoken to us that day about your feelings. We would have done our best to make you happy on the spot. We are not in this business to dupe anybody as you broadcasted. We only strive to provide more five star experiences from Mother Nature, as depicted in over 250 other fantastic reviews on TA. But even when Mother Nature does not cooperate with our desires, we always do our best to make our customers happy, if they give us a chance. So we guess you should check you credit card statement. You just might find a nice surprise.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catamaran Echo also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Catamaran Echo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing