We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!”
Review of Villas Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Langhorne, PA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed here over Thanksgiving week. We rented a total of 3 rooms. 2 single rooms and 1 deluxe poolside villa. We weren't sure what to expect with mixed reviews but we were more than pleasantly surprised. This place was amazing. The website did not do it justice. The location was amazing. Quiet yet close to everything. Our villa was hugely spacious. The owner and workers were wonderful. The kitchen was great for us to cook breakfast every morning but they did offer a simple continental breakfast if you wanted that. The pool and hot tub were great. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    45
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay during the Columbus day weekend. Out of three cottages at this property we were accommodated in the largest one that is located inside the yard. Lovely rustic-style decorated, with the tastefully painted yellow walls, solid -wood big and gorgeous dinning table. Simple but lovely furniture, full kitchen amnesties. Great and very modern equipped laundry house on site. Sufficient number of towels are provided, including the beach towels.
I loved the idea of having ( shared) but really felt- privately pool at the backyard.
People who ran the place left us at the house the extensive list of the variety of local restaurants describing each and every one , list of suggested grocery shops , sight seeings tips, including the map of the island. This was quite helpful and handy to us. Not only it saved us the (searching) time it also helped us with avoiding the "tourists traps".
We actually never met the owner/manager or any other staff members of the property, due to our late arrival/early departure hours we did the keys pick up and drop off at the main office.
Lady who helped us reserve the cottage through the phone was quite nice and helpful.
Free Wi-fi is provided, as well as cable TV ( should be - hence we never turned TV on)
We were as as family of 3 ( with the 3 year old)
I recommend this place to a couple, smaller family, or a larger family - group renting the all 3 cottages at the property.

This location is quite close-walking distance to Southernmost point.

Room Tip: The cottage inside the property - off of the street in the backyard is more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this place due to reviews and the great proximity to Duval Street as it is just two doors away and almost dead center in the middle of the island. I definitely have mixed feelings about certain things but will say with no uncertainty we would stay here again. We had room 6 which was advertised as a "suite" which it is not. We were told the wall had been taken down to allow more room, which I can see would help, but the description needs to be corrected. I don't normally do a pro/con type review, so this will be a first.......

PROS
Fabulously friendly and helpful staff. When we needed something taken care of or just information they were always friendly and helpful.
Great location for Duval Street. If you're here for that or any sights, this is a fabulous location without having to deal with most of the noise of being right on Duval.
Quaint, older property in a very nice setting. Small pool and (not) hot tub in the center courtyard made for a great gathering spot to chat and enjoy other guests.
Comfortable bed
Lots of TV channels if that's what your into.
Small fridge and microwave in the room.
Coffee, juices, fresh fruit and pastries in the lobby included with room

CONS
Coffeemaker in the room, but no coffee provided.
In seven nights our room was cleaned only once. We were asked if we needed things on other days if we happened to catch the housekeeper.
Backdoor on room that can't be opened and leads to nowhere.
Several mornings it sounded like someone doing construction on our back wall that went on for some time. I complained one morning and it stopped for that day.
Floors really needed cleaning as our feet would get quite dirty from walking around. Generally room could use a thorough cleaning and paint.
Pool and Hot tub feed from the same heater and filter, which means they are the same temperature; the hot tub is not hot.
It is close to Duval, so if you are there for a noisy festival (Fantasy Fest) you Will hear the music.

This is an old property but the owners seem to be reactive in trying to slowly make it nicer; it is definitely a place to try. We had such a good time I actually feel bad about the CONS, but I have to be honest in my reviews.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is probably going to be the quietest as it is a stand alone unit in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We rented 3 villas at Villas Key West for the Memorial Day weekend and all we can say is that it was outstanding !
Great accommodations, great staff, Hi Hazel, great location .... simply excellent !!!!

We would return on a heart bit !

We'll be back !!!

THANK YOU Villas Key West !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Conch Cottages with our large family in August (8 ppl). We really enjoyed the location and the accommodations, which included a full kitchen in all 3 houses, a shared pool and deck with area for outside meals, laundry machines, and what appeared to be newly remodeled interiors. We had 2 small boys as well as our Grandmother with us and there were things that appealed to everyone. The pool and deck were a family favorite and the waterfall feature really made it a relaxing oasis. This was our first trip to Key West and we would definitely return and stay in the Conch Cottages. The location was ideal and all the staff we met and interacted with were very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

First of all our one bedroom that slept four was just that - one clean room crammed with a king bed with a pullout couch literally right next to it. Aross the couch was a small fridge with a tv above it. We could only get four channels and three of them were not English but we weren't there for tv. The bathroom towel rack was completly broken and the shower curtain was too small so our floor was always soaked. Several of the outlet covers were too small so you could see in the wall and when the paint they just went around the sink and such. LOCATION WAS AWESOME. We loved were we where and the small pool was clean and never closed. They also had a small room by it that had an icemaker, towels, radio and laundry you were free to use and that was a nice touch. The gate to get into the rooms and pool is locked that your key can open. They have bikes we rented and a complimentry cold breakfest and coffee. We were dispointed with the room but the pros ourway the cons and we would stay again. They had free wifi too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abner88, Owner at Villas Key West, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Ms. Pohl: We are very sorry for the confusion about the "suite."

We remodeled this accommodation to combine the living room with the bedroom. Both rooms were too small. By taking out the wall there is now light from windows on both walls as well as more usuable room. Also, in this way we could replace the AC with the modern cutting edge ductless units.

Unfortunately, we did not remove the word "suite." However, the accommodation is now much better than it was before.

I will check on the television tomorrow. We have standard cable and you should have been able to get a good range of channels.

Please come back. You get a 10% discount as a past guest.

Thanks for your words of praise.

Villas Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our family stayed in the Garden Cottage, a two-bedroom cottage sited a little away from the main Villas Key West Complex at the rather hefty off-season rate of $365/day (before taxes). Our experience was a bad one and I would definitely not recommend this accommodation to others.

The Cottage is well located and the structure itself is quaint and holds much promise. But this is where the good news ends. Unlike the impression given on website pics, the building is run-down, poorly maintained, and dirty. A number of screens are torn - some very badly so - and all are coated with a thick layer of dust. Paint is peeling off the walls in the downstairs bathroom; the stairs are grubby and in poor repair; the upstairs carpet is badly stained and smells. The beds in both bedrooms are old and sag in the middle, and one of the futons is soiled. In the living room, wires protrude through an unused light fixture, and the TV is located some distance from and at a right angle to the furniture, thus making viewing a practical impossibility. Throughout, the windows are filthy. There are limited cooking utensils (no frying pan, for example). The yard is dank and unkempt, with dirty furniture strewn around it. It is also important to know that the pool is shared with another two facilities, one of which is capable of accommodating a large party. An oasis of tranquility it is not!

We reported these problems to the Villas duty manager shortly after beginning our stay, invited her to the house and pointed them out. She was casual and unapologetic. We subsequently received a brief visit from another Villas manager who blamed the “minimum wage staff” who clean the place, but seemed otherwise unconcerned. At check-out we were offered a total of a $100 discount to our bill, which simply added insult to injury and was declined.

Villas Key West portrays itself as an upper-end-of-the-market outfit, offering premium accommodation. The only one of these characteristics the Garden Cottage displays is the price. This is the worst vacation accommodation our family has had to endure in 15 years: in its current state, it should simply not be on the market, even at a much lower rate. Until significant repair, maintenance, and cleaning work is done I strongly recommend that it be avoided.

Room Tip: This accommodation should be avoided in its entirety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abner88, Owner at Villas Key West, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We regret that this family (a couple - 2 people only) was unhappy with this quaint, old fashioned cypress cottage that sleeps 6.

Our guests were unhappy from the beginning. This was their first trip to Key West and it appeared they were not happy with the City itself. The kind of accommodation they seemed to want would be a room at the Hyatt (at $235 per night for a room for 2 with a king bed and no kitchen). What we and the other guests who have stayed at this Cottage find funky and enchanting about Key West and the house, made these guests unhappy. Different people want different things and what others might find as sterile in the Hyatt, they might very well find entirely to their tastes.

As can be seen in other reviews their account is in stark contrast with the observations of other guests.

They complained to us of 2 things while they were here: (a) a torn screen on one of the 3 screen doors that had been punched by the previous guest and (b) peeling paint on the interior of the house. When they complained, we responded in 30 minutes with a physical visit by the owner. We explained that our handy man was out of town that week and we could not fix the screen until he returned. (It was fixed after their visit).

Then we asked them to show us the peeling paint. In a 2 story 1000 square foot house they had found THREE places the size of a little finger where the paint had cracked and slightly warped up. This is not surprising in a house that is 150 years old and has been painted many, many times.

It's hard to understand how these 2 problems created the "worst accommodation" in the lives of this young couple. We are sincerely sorry that there were these problems and we have fixed the one that really was unacceptable - the screen. We believed that we made a reasonable offer to compensate their unhappiness but, as they say our $100.00 offer, only insulted them and they fel they were entitled to a larger rebate.

No one ever blamed "the minimum wage staff." No such statement was ever made. Period. Besides, all members of our staff are paid almost double minimum wage. You can choose your own opinions. You cannot choose your own facts.

The legitimate complaints of the guests end with the screen door and peeling paint problems.

*The stairs are NOT in poor repair. The stairs were entirely rebuilt only several months ago and are NEW.

*The yard is bright and lushly planted with bright tropical plants. It is NOT "dank" nor is it "unkempt." Many visitors have commented on the spectacularly beautiful flowers and plantings.

*The LARGE pool is shared by one other accommodation a fact that we are at pains to make clear on our website. The 2 houses have separate decks and seating areas by the pool. No previous guest has ever complained about the semi-private pool being shared with another house.

The price for the Garden Cottage paid by these guests was $325.00 - not the $365 figure mistakenly used in their review. They didn't need a house that sleeps 6. A room for 2 in a standardized place like the Hilton could have been theirs for $265. They would have saved $60.00.

They would have had to share a pool with several hundred other Hilton guests, a shared pool being something that does negatively impact the quality of their accommodations but they would not have had funky wooden stairs, the 3 places where they found peeling paint and a screen with a hole in it.

We believe $325 for a house that sleeps 6 in the heart of Old Town is a better buy for most guests than a $265 room for 2 at the Hilton.

Different people like different things. Our other guests have liked the Garden Cottage. We'll try to make you like it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.0 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Key West

Property: Villas Key West
Address: 512 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Key West consists of 1 and 2 bedroom vacation villas, rooms, and suites in an old town compound renovated in 2007. Available for nightly, weekly & monthly stays. Enjoy relaxing days at the pool and the exciting night life on Duval Street only 1/2 block away. The accommodations vary from a single room with a private bath to a two story, two bedroom, two bath villa with private deck. Relaxation and comfort with all the amenities of home make Villas Key West a place to experience Key West to the fullest. The villas have all been decorated in a Caribbean style and accented by Key West artist Rick Worth's artwork to capture the island feeling. Lush tropical foliage and the detailed historical restoration of the property make this a truly unique experience perfect for a memorable Key West family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villas Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Key West Hotel Key West
Villas Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing