We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget economizing in Key West, here you will find a beautiful room, a private beach, heated pool, nice restaurants and bars on ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Forget economizing in Key West, here you will find a beautiful room, a private beach, heated pool, nice restaurants and bars on ”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Okay, so I made a mistake thinking I could save some cash and spend a few points on a property run by a chain, which had never disappointed me before. Forget doing Key West on the cheap. Stay with one of the 4 or 5 solid, well known hotels on or near the pier. This property is at the intersection of Front and Duval Streets. Right in the middle of the great restaurants, bars and attractions, but with a private beach and a beautiful heated pool (with enough lounges for the whole crowd). We ate here during my last trip, but this time was a little disappointed that tables were no longer set all the way to the edge of the pier. Views, food and drinks were good, however, but the best meal of all is a Piña Colada at your sand chair. As I said, you'll spend some money enjoying the fabulous Key West restaurants and bars (although you can find $ 5.00 rum drinks, good music and lots of fun at places like "Hogs Breath" within easily staggering distance). This place is worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WellesleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    533
    160
    80
    76
See reviews for
428
1,295
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I've stayed at six different hotels in Key West, and this is the Best.
Location is phenomenal, at the very start of Duval Street, close to everything.
The grounds of the hotel are disney-esque, almost too perfect. The private beach is better than any other beach you will find on the island.
Finally, the rooms are exceptional. We had a third floor room with private balcony facing west, definitely worth every penny for the memories it created!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulelake, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just returned from Key West and had the pleasure to stay with the nice people at the Pier House Resort. The room was somewhat smaller than I expected but, very nice, clean, nice 4 poster bed and large bathroom. The chart room is a small very friendly bar located in the courtyard. Rustic would describe it, peanut shells on the floor, popcorn and lively conversation. There is another lounge and restaurant on the property if you would rather have a nice quiet drink and dinner. Located at the very end of Duval St. with excellent views of the sunsets over the Ocean.
We will return.

Monte

Room Tip: Spend the extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdj5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked this trip in July because spending Christmas in paradise was always a dream of mine. We could not have picked a better resort! From the moment we checked in until the sad moment of check out, we were treated like royalty. Although our room was not available when we arrived ( early) they took our luggage and encouraged us to explore.We received a call when the room was ready. We had a Lanai room that was spotless, spacious and the balcony looked out on lush green foliage (which gave us extra privacy) and a turtle/koi pond. We had gotten engaged on December 6th and we were so happy at The Pier House, and with KeyWest in general, that we decided to get married while we were there. Todd the concierge (who rocks) helped that happen by getting us in touch with Cathy at The Hip Tourist, who together with Travis who did our photography, arranged a fairy tail sunset wedding in less than 48 hours. And thanks to Jamie at the Spa who did my hair and makeup, ((huge hug)) so that even at 58 years of age, I was a beautiful bride. The pool and beach were lovely, the food at the restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced, and my martinis were perfecto! Also special thanks to staff members Dimietri, Alex, Eric, Lee, Karen, Chandler, the housekeepers who fulfilled our every request, the bartender at the Chart Room, Linda our server at our wedding dinner, the beach attendents (and apologies to anyone whose name we didn't mention) for making our visit to key West so very memorable and a dream come true! If you want to come to Key West and stay at the best resort in town, please book this gem. We will be back! Pattie and Steve Hernandez

Room Tip: If you like regular tea in your room in the morning, bring some tea bags or buy some Lipton across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felineluvr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was our second stay at Pier House. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The staff was courteous and easy to work with. This latest stay was in the Caribbean Spa. If I have to pick nits, the bathroom could have a better layout. For a short stay, it would be fine. There is no bathtub, which is a favorite of ours. It has a spacious shower that has the "rain" style shower head that comes down straight from the ceiling. For me, it was fine. My wife does not like that style mostly because she does not have the opportunity to turn away from it as she can when the shower head comes from the wall, and this can make rinsing shampoo not nice. However, I would recommend this location to anyone who wants a nice, clean, safe place to stay that is close to everything that you would like to see. Cars are not really necessary once you make the Pier House your base.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We drove all the way from Tampa, and got at the hotel without a reservation, which I do not recommend. The manager for the night, Rob, got us a Spa room for 3 nights, with a balcony. The room was spacious, and very quiet. The balcony has the feeling of a decadent European resort, perfect. The hotel is located at One Duval Street, virtually at walking range to anything relevant on Key West. We never used our car. Room service closes at 10pm, as pretty much else in the island. The breakfast at the restaurant by the private beach is perfect.
You wish the week never ended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonny_Doin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We just returned from five nights at the Pier House Resort and very much look forward to our return. My wife and I stayed in the Beachcomber Suite and my boys stayed in the Harbor Loft Suite.

The Pier House Resort is a tropical oasis in the heart of the Key West action. From Pier House, you can easily walk to all of Key West's best restaurants and historical sights, as well as partake in the fun of Duval Street (in fact, we only used our car to go to the golf course and to go on a snuba trip). The Pier House courtyard is beautiful, with lush plantings, a decent-sized pool and hot tub, and a nice beach with swimming dock. We stayed at Pier House during the Christmas rush (the hotel was completely booked), and never experienced any trouble getting a chair. Yes, there were many people at the pool and on the beach, but it frankly didn't feel overly crowded.

Be aware that Pier House is not a huge beach resort like one would find on a Caribbean island. It is a "pocket" beach resort integrated into Key West.

We were impressed by the service at the resort. We had room service for breakfast a couple of times, and the food was good and prompt. The room was cleaned every day at the requested time. The concierge was very knowledgable about local activities and made parasailing reservations for us.

We will always remember our time in the Beachcomber Suite. The enormous wrap-around patio gave us 180 degree water views, including an unbelievable perch to watch the sun set -- in fact, the same view as Mallory Square. The bedroom and living room were large (the bedroom has a vaulted ceiling) and tastefully furnished, with a large soaking tub in the bathroom. The Harbor Loft Suite has a bedroom in the loft area up a spiral staircase and the living area and small patio have very nice water views. The suite has 1 1/2 baths, which would make it workable for small families.

In reference to previous reviews, we noticed a few teensy ants around the refrigerator, but it seems to me that it would be very difficult to keep ants out of a hotel so opened to the outside. We resolved the issue by keeping any open snacks in the refrigerator.

We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view are really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing