We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced”
Reviewed 4 January 2008

My husband and I just returned from the Pier House. We spent New Year's in the Keys and it was quite enjoyable. The best part of this hotel is the location! It is at the far end of Duval Street, so you can walk to everything very quickly. It is also at the end of the street where the crowds thin out. We really like the parking and security. We had a garden view room on the ground floor with a very nice patio (room 413). The room was very close to all the offerings of the hotel. There were some sweet ants in the bathroom and on bedside table. We also found a worm in the bed one night. I did not complain because it is the tropics and we were on the ground floor, but the ants did kind of turn me off because we were paying over $400 a night. The pool was nice and refreshing. You can order food poolside and beachside from the pool bar and grill. The beach was nice however I didn't swim in the ocean or lay on the beach. Key West is not known for great beaches. We ate our New Year's Eve dinner at the Harborview Cafe and It was delicious. We had stone crab, salads and filets. The chef came around to every table to make sure the dinners were cooked well. The wine bar is nice too. They have music every night. Another bar at the hotel is called the Chart Room. It is a famous bar in the Keys. They have popcorn and happy hour which is fun. The showers were nice and tub was very deep which is good for soaking your feet after a long day of walking. We also ordered room service and it was delicious too. It was expensive, but room service always is! Great cheap breakfast across the street at Two Friend's restaurant. We also enjoyed Alonzo's and Conch Seafood Restaurants. Both are within 5 minutes. CVS across the street helps with any last minute items you forgot. We did not even really notice the construction going on. I would recommend this hotel because of the great location and easy access to many amenities, but be prepared to pay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ants and cost
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vancebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

On my first trip to Key West, the Pier House was very accommodating. The lobby staff were courteous and helpful. The heated pool was wonderful with a true deep end. The little beach was perfectly groomed and the water quite inviting with a real diving platform! I had several good meals at the on-site restaurant, where the service was impeccable. My room was spacious, comfortable and quiet, overlooking beautiful sub-tropical gardens. The hotel was located within walking distance to everying I wanted to see in Old Town.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank igitaround27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

The Pier House is a very nice hotel but it is a beach hotel. Our room was very nice, the service was good, the price was moderate (considering it was December in Key West) and the hotel location itself was perfect. My only word of warning is the location of the rooms themselves. We stayed in the spa, which is a seperate building. The rooms are very spacious, with hardwood floors and a large whirpool tub. The "but" is the view from our room was of the parking lot and the room is right on Front Street across from several bars. Fun people watching from the balcony but don't expect peace and quiet. We would stay at The Pier House again and recommend it, but I suggest you do you make sure where your room is.

  • Liked — Great loacation for wandering Key West
  • Disliked — Very noisy room.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

The Pier House is a "grand dame" of a hotel that has been living off a "expired reputation".

The resort may have the loyal guests coming back year after year, but a first timer is likely to be shafted!

The reception upon arrival was cold and indifferent. The only brightspot was the concierge Todd, who greeted us. He had even sent us an pre arrival e-mail wth information on Key West.

The bell man took our bags to our room, and never even instructed us on ice, internet, spa, A/C. Just drop the bags and grab the tip.

We had reserved a Caribbean Spa Suite, which was beautiful and very large. It had a huge jacuzzi that was difficult to step into,
Not for anyone with any disabilities. Our view was of the shrubbry, phone lines and a mainteance path.

Our patio was filthy and full of bird and animal droppings. The chairs were so dirty that lounging was at your own risk. I reported it immediatly, and requested another room...no they were full. We stayed our reserved 5 nights, as there was an early departure penality, and the 4th day it was finally cleaned up a little (the debris in the corner was shoveled out, the bird poop remained on the rail and floor)

We had a california King Bed, and the top sheet was never tucked into the foot of the bed. The sheet was placed so it covered only 3/5ths of the bed. I asked the maid about this, and she told me she makes all the beds this way.., but if I wanted it tucked, she would do it. (that is a very odd custom not to tuck in a sheet) We use to short sheet the beds at summer camp :(
I still ended up remaking the bed every night.

We had been told that this was a deluxe hotel. I find that hard to fathom after our stay. For $350+ per night, we did not even have turn down service or fresh towels in the evening. There was no in room fridge or mini bar. We were not informed of the construction or the torn up beach. Both of which were an issue during our stay.

The restaurant used to have a lovely vew, which is now blocked by construction of an addition. The food and service here was excellent. The pool was very enjoyable, and warm. The best service of all was the waitress at the pool.

I will never stay at or recommend the Pier House again. It should have been a great vacation, Key West was lovely, but the resort was very disappointing, and did not live up to it's web site or reputation!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank jberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

The hotel is nice with a great location close to main strip.
Room was clean and comfortable, but I would not recommend the spa.
Prices are high and service is terrible. I got manicure and pedicure done by the lady who was unprofessional and hostile. My husband who was getting the same service was outraged by unprofessional behavior toward clients. Don’t get your nails done at that place!!!! They may cut your cuticles till you bleed. Also I got cut while she was using razor on my feet. I am not sure about other services at the Spa, but I wouldn’t recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Great location at end of Duval Street. Only a couple blocks to the late night party scene. A small beach by the bar, nice heated pool, told by friends (locals) the restaurant is really good. Overall pretty good little resort. The not-so-good: Can be noisy during big events due to the couple bars adjacent to the property. Spa services are expensive. We were upgraded to a suite because our 2-queen-bed room was needed by a family. It was nice and spacious with a tropical feel. It was expensive even with the standard room rate ($304 sat/sun, $209 wk days), but compared with rest of KW area prices were on par...in fact if you go by KW prices it was a reletive value. Still seems like a lot though. We didn't have a choice as our house was being packed out and we needed someplace to be for last few days there and all hotels in area were booked because of the world championship offshore boat races. That week had it's own rate schedule. Be aware KW does not do a standard summer/winter rate schedule! The on-season is winter; however, there are 'special' rate schedules with the local hotels that are not advertised. These include but not limited to: Lobster Fest in late July, Fantasy Fest in late Oct, Boat Race weeks twice a year, 6wks in spring for spring break, and holidays.

  • Liked — Location!!!
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bondrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Park your car and walk or bike ride everywhere! This hotel is wonderful and in the best location on the island. Nice rooms - GET a 2ND FLOOR ROOM definiately! Pool is nice and beach is cute. If you don't care about the view, the Standard Room (again only on the 2nd floor) was a great room and inexpensive. The Chart Room is a great late night drinking place... and you don't have to stumble too far home!! Loved this place and will come back for sure!!!!!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing