We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of "Traditional Rooms" at the Pier House Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of "Traditional Rooms" at the Pier House Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

My sister and I stayed one night at this resort and really enjoyed the hotel and it's location. We had a cute, enclosed patio with two chairs. We were very surprised in the morning, when we opened our curtains to see a total stranger, in her pajamas, sitting two feet from our sliding doors, on the patio that we thought was exclusively ours. We later found out that some of the "Traditional Rooms" share patios with guests from another room. This type of arrangement has never occured at any other place we have stayed and, of course, we would never stay in this type of room again. Make sure that you find out beforehand what type of patio or balcony you get, so you won't have this happen to you. Most of us want our privacy and this, of course, had none.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your traditional room. We have very few rooms with shared patios and often get request for them from guests traveling with friends or family. We do however guarantee private patio or balcony rooms in our Lanai and our HarbourView rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    521
    157
    76
    74
See reviews for
410
1,256
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Been to the Pier House many times and we think of it as the best bang for the buck. It is nice and quiet, beautiful property, and no cruise ships blocking your view........ever. It has been recently renovated and the rooms are plenty spacious. Parking is free even though you do not need a car at this prime location. The pool is heated for the cooler days and along with the hot tub, both are surrounded by beautiful trees and plants so that you can relax in almost seclusion. You are right at the end of Duval so when you want to get out to the sites and sounds of Key West, everything is there for you and very walkable.

Room Tip: Lanai Rooms overlooking the interior are great rooms. Also the HarbourView rooms overlooking the Gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdb1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your review and taking the time to share your room tips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We visit Key West every year or so as a post-holiday winter getaway. Usually we stay next door at Ocean Key. This hotel is more laid back with an older vibe. Whereas Ocean Key overlooks the hustle and bustle of Mallory Square, Pier House overlooks the water and a small beach. The rooms aren't very tropical but are decorated in a more generic way. There are lots of outdoor and gathering spaces, all with great ambience and service. Still, the hotel is located at the end of Duval Street and all the action. Everything is just footsteps away.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BetseyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Okay, so I made a mistake thinking I could save some cash and spend a few points on a property run by a chain, which had never disappointed me before. Forget doing Key West on the cheap. Stay with one of the 4 or 5 solid, well known hotels on or near the pier. This property is at the intersection of Front and Duval Streets. Right in the middle of the great restaurants, bars and attractions, but with a private beach and a beautiful heated pool (with enough lounges for the whole crowd). We ate here during my last trip, but this time was a little disappointed that tables were no longer set all the way to the edge of the pier. Views, food and drinks were good, however, but the best meal of all is a Piña Colada at your sand chair. As I said, you'll spend some money enjoying the fabulous Key West restaurants and bars (although you can find $ 5.00 rum drinks, good music and lots of fun at places like "Hogs Breath" within easily staggering distance). This place is worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WellesleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I've stayed at six different hotels in Key West, and this is the Best.
Location is phenomenal, at the very start of Duval Street, close to everything.
The grounds of the hotel are disney-esque, almost too perfect. The private beach is better than any other beach you will find on the island.
Finally, the rooms are exceptional. We had a third floor room with private balcony facing west, definitely worth every penny for the memories it created!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulelake, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just returned from Key West and had the pleasure to stay with the nice people at the Pier House Resort. The room was somewhat smaller than I expected but, very nice, clean, nice 4 poster bed and large bathroom. The chart room is a small very friendly bar located in the courtyard. Rustic would describe it, peanut shells on the floor, popcorn and lively conversation. There is another lounge and restaurant on the property if you would rather have a nice quiet drink and dinner. Located at the very end of Duval St. with excellent views of the sunsets over the Ocean.
We will return.

Monte

Room Tip: Spend the extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdj5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked this trip in July because spending Christmas in paradise was always a dream of mine. We could not have picked a better resort! From the moment we checked in until the sad moment of check out, we were treated like royalty. Although our room was not available when we arrived ( early) they took our luggage and encouraged us to explore.We received a call when the room was ready. We had a Lanai room that was spotless, spacious and the balcony looked out on lush green foliage (which gave us extra privacy) and a turtle/koi pond. We had gotten engaged on December 6th and we were so happy at The Pier House, and with KeyWest in general, that we decided to get married while we were there. Todd the concierge (who rocks) helped that happen by getting us in touch with Cathy at The Hip Tourist, who together with Travis who did our photography, arranged a fairy tail sunset wedding in less than 48 hours. And thanks to Jamie at the Spa who did my hair and makeup, ((huge hug)) so that even at 58 years of age, I was a beautiful bride. The pool and beach were lovely, the food at the restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced, and my martinis were perfecto! Also special thanks to staff members Dimietri, Alex, Eric, Lee, Karen, Chandler, the housekeepers who fulfilled our every request, the bartender at the Chart Room, Linda our server at our wedding dinner, the beach attendents (and apologies to anyone whose name we didn't mention) for making our visit to key West so very memorable and a dream come true! If you want to come to Key West and stay at the best resort in town, please book this gem. We will be back! Pattie and Steve Hernandez

Room Tip: If you like regular tea in your room in the morning, bring some tea bags or buy some Lipton across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felineluvr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing