We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Rooms were clean, shiny, and beautiful. Service at the beach was top notch. Pool was clean, hot tub was HOT! Food was perfectly prepared and consistent. Our Dock Side Suite was the BEST EVER. The view was to die for. Bar tenders at the Bar/Grille could be a little snippy and short with you but some of them were great. The staff that worked the beach (combed the seaweed out, brought our chairs to us, gave us towels) were just fabulous and never acted like we were being ridiculous. Not the place to go if you are on a budget but if you can affort to splurge a little do it here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want the best views (at a price though) book a Dock Side Suite. Otherwise, choose any room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeaniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We're happy you enjoyed your stay and took time out to write this review. Please accept our apologies regarding any rude treatment you received from our bartenders. If you would like to speak further about the occurrence please contact kpeace@pierhouse.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Pier House in Key West - this was our 2nd visit, and we were once again pleased with the resort and staff. We have stayed all over the island and stayed at Pier House last August for the first time. After that visit, we will not stay anywhere else in KW. The location is perfect, the accomodations are excellent and the staff is great. If the waterfront rooms are available - especially Dockside, they are well worth it for the view. We stayed in a Spa room in April and my favorite part was the bathroom - it was huge. Have also stayed in the Lanai rooms which are also very nice. Didn't use the Spa but it looked nice and pricing was reasonable for a resort. If you want to be close to everything but not deal with the noise and foot traffic of Duval Street, this is the place for you. It's within walking distance to Mallory Square, Duval Street, the Wharf and most attractions. Food at the restaurants is great but if your looking for the best hot dog ever - go to Island Dogs - it is on the back side of the hotel property on Front Street. We will definitely be back - already planning a trip for our anniversary!

Room Tip: All are great, just depends on what you want to spend. If you get a Lanai room, ask for one on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA_Apopka_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATBORO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I try to go somewhere each year for our wedding anniversary. The location of this resort is perfect and surpassed our expectations in every way. We upgraded to a suite which was on the water and were not dissapointed - it was beautiful. The layout of the room was such that it was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. One of our favorite memories is having breakfast on the deck by the water. The food was outstanding and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating. The entire experience was pleasurable and we would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a fabulous Key West vacation! Thanks to everyone at the resort.

Room Tip: Suites on the water are beautiful, but my husband has trouble walking and there really wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
You are welcome and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl1203
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel sits right at the base of Duval street but tucked away in the corner so you do not hear all the Duval street noise. It's close to EVERYTHING- Mallory square, all the fun bars, great restaurants. You can walk to everything and really don't need a car. The room was beautifully decorated and we had a gorgeous view looking out over the harbor and all the anchored boats.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: A harbour view room is worth the price. We had happy hour on the balcony every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kl1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed 5/5-10 in a Harbor View room overlooking the beach/lagoon. Everything was fabulous from start to finish. This was our 3rd trip to Key West and the 2nd time we stayed at the Pier House. The hotel location can't be beat, staff was attentive, polite, and would go out of their way to help you with anything. Food at the Harbor View was delicious, and the Lobster Sliders are amazing!
Finally, a bit shout out to JJ at the Chart Room....thanks for the great nightcaps, funny conversation, and just treating everyone like your best friend. He has to be the best bartender in Key West in the coolest bar around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancincpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House from Monday 5/14 to Friday 5/18 for our anniversary.

Check-in was a breeze, I had requested a 3rd floor harborview room and we were assigned room 302. Our bags were brought up to the room for us and the room is exactly as pictured on the resort's web page. Nice size room with a comfortable king size bed. A flat screen TV, no HD channels, a small refrigerator, a safe, one sitting chair, a small desk and desk chair. Tile floor throughout the room and bathroom. Several outlets are availble for charging your gadgets. The bathroom has a small flat screen tv also. The shower is very nice, glass enclosed and has real nice tile. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom but there is no cool setting and its very hot, there is also a seperate make-up mirror. The bedroom ceiling fan is controlled by a swich just outside the bathroom but it seemed strange that the higher the number the slower the fan went, I'd though it would be the opposite. The balcony is small, maybe 4 feet wide by 10 feet long. It has two padded chairs and a small round table. The air conditoner drains onto the balcony area.

We spent some time on the beach and found it nice enough that we canceled our plans to visit other beaches in the city. It is raked by hand and kept clean. There is a young man to set-up chairs, tables and towels. They don't have or allow umbrellas which is a negative for me since I burn easily. There is an area that is covered, it was actually directly under our building, and has pavers along the beach so that you can sit in the shade and still see the water but its just not quite the same as sitting on the beach. We didn't spend any time at the pool but it looked very nice and was never crowded.

We only had breakfast at the Dockside Cafe and the service and food was very good and you can't beat the view of the harbor as you're having a meal. We had drinks at the Chart Room bar, its on the small side, there's two tv's for watching sports and they had popcorn and peanuts to munch on as you drink.

The reason I can't give the place a 5 rating is because of a problem we had in the room. We woke up Thursday morning and while my wife started walking towards the bathroom she slipped on water on the tile floor. Luckily she didn't fall or get hurt. The water went from the area of the air condtioner across the floor at the foot of the bed and under the entertainment center. We got dressed and called for maintenance and housekeeping. We advised them we were headed to breakfast. By the time we got back the water was cleaned up and there was a message from maintenance on the phone that they thought the refrigerator door was left ajar which caused it to defrost. Considering the amount of water there would have had to have been a block of ice to have melted and left that amount of water, but I was satisfied with the quick response and that it was cleaned up. We went to the beach and it started raining, we sat under the building on the previously mentioned pavers. I went to the room to get a drink and everything with fine. My wife went back to the room 30 minutes later and found the room flooded worse then before. I had rained pretty hard during this time. We again called for housekeeping and maintenance and they again responded quickly. This time they thought there was a leak around the air conditioner and when it stopped raining they came back and silconed around the edges. It didn't rain again so I don't know if they fixed the problem. Our room was actually below the balcony deck for the 4th floor room so Its possible the water is leaking through that deck and down the inside wall but there's a problem with this room when it rains hard. I was disappointed that no one from management called to offer us a different room or something for the fact that we had to deal with a flooded room twice. I paid with taxes $450-$550 per night and for that money I shouldn't have to be concerned with the room flooding from rain which is why I can't give the resort a 5 star rating.

The location of the resort can't be beat, everything you need to see is in walking distance but yet it is quiet enough to be relaxing. I found every employee to be friendly which is a big plus. The grounds are well maintained and it has a great tropical feel. Housekeeping gives you a slip to pick a time that you want them to clean your room which is a nice feature. It would be better if you could pick a time for each day of your stay as our planned time leaving the room was different each day. They have a computer and printer in the lobby you can use for printing boarding passes for you flight if needed. After check out I asked if there was a hose I could use to spray down my car since the birds had a party on it. They had one of the ground crew meet me and cleaned up the mess on my car.

Despite the problem I had with my room flooding I would still recommend this resort but I'd have to say if you're given room 302, ask for something else, why take the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrysnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Pier House for 4 days. Loved the location, walked everywhere, didn't need the car at all. Staff was friendly. The room was a good size, perfect for two people. The beach is adequate, beach/pool staff overly attentive. Ate breakfast once in the cafe, perfect. I have already recommended the hotel to family who are planning a trip to Key West.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a balcony, overlooked the garden/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing