We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We have been to Key West several times and enjoy staying at different B&B's and hotels in this wonderful town. This time we stayed at the Pier House and highly recommend it. The location is perfect if you want to be directly on the ocean near Mallory Square. We have stayed at the Westin which is close by but decided we preferred the Pier House. The Westin has a wonderful view of the ocean, except that most of the time it is blocked by cruise ships. The Pier House doesn't have this problem. Also we really enjoyed the extensive tropical gardens which abound on the property. This resort also has a lovely sand beach just below the pool area. We found the staff exceptionally pleasant and they seemed to truly enjoy their jobs and were very welcoming.

Our room was lovely as you would expect in this price range. It had a balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool area.

A real plus is that parking is included with your room and it an easy in and out parking lot (unlike the Westin). We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockyMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,147 - 2,153 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2008

My wife and I live in Florida and wanted to have a quick get-a-way.
We decided to go to Key West so we read reviews of different places to stay,chose the Pier House,made a reservation for 1/26 jumped in the car and headed south.We booked the Carribean Spa room because we liked the reviews. We arrived early and were greeted by smiling faces . I had requested an early check-in and I was not disappointed.We were allowed to check in by 11 a.m
because the room had just been vacated.The front desk, in fact all of the employees that we had contact with were very helpful and friendly.
We loved our Spa Room (623) on the second floor and across the street from the Rum Barrell. If you do not like a good band playing outside your window do not stay on this side of the Pier House,get a garden view or a harbor view,that is probably the quiet side. I had the French doors open and listened to the music until I could no longer stay awake. I walked across the smooth bamboo floors,closed the doors and fell into a very comfortable bed with crisp linen's and slept like a baby while the band played on.
Some people have written the the jacuzzi tub is difficult to get into,well it is deep and you cannot step into it but if you sit on the edge,lift your leg's and turn yourself into the tub it shouldn't be a problem for anyone who does not have a severe handicap.
The jacuzzi tub was just what we needed at the end of the day .
The a/c was cool and efficient and a might be a little loud for some people, I know,how can you hear the a/c with the band and street sounds? Well with the French door's closed the street sounds are not that bad.
A little more about the room....the bed had plenty of pillows.
I always like some extra towels so I asked the housekeeping girls and was given towels without a hitch. The room was very clean and bare feet on that bamboo floor felt great.
We had a great time and it was just what we were looking for with walking distance to most places.
It was expensive ( 349+a night) and that was discounted I was told. I believe they wanted 379+ a night. We would definitely stay there again,of course it would be nice if it were a little less expensive . Then again if we skipped the lobster dinner at the wonderful A + B Lobster House we could stay there more often : ) We hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drummer1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Everything was top-notch. Staff was courteous, professional, personable. Standard Garden Room had been recently redone. Nice balcony, no ocean view, however. We had several great meals in the restaurant, not terribly pricey, either. Waiters, waitresses, & bartenders were all very nice, very friendly, very personable. WONDERFUL singer-pianist in the bar out on the pier. Best location on the island - everything is within walking distance - don't even bother with a rental car. Some great seafood restaurants & bars out "behind" the hotel near the marina ( away from Duval St)
Well-equipped, free workout room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lctrcjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Fantastic accommodation, clean & well appointed rooms. Centrally located with lovely pool & beach. Would return in a heartbeat. . . enjoy if you go!

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank londoner1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

My husband and I just returned from the Pier House. We spent New Year's in the Keys and it was quite enjoyable. The best part of this hotel is the location! It is at the far end of Duval Street, so you can walk to everything very quickly. It is also at the end of the street where the crowds thin out. We really like the parking and security. We had a garden view room on the ground floor with a very nice patio (room 413). The room was very close to all the offerings of the hotel. There were some sweet ants in the bathroom and on bedside table. We also found a worm in the bed one night. I did not complain because it is the tropics and we were on the ground floor, but the ants did kind of turn me off because we were paying over $400 a night. The pool was nice and refreshing. You can order food poolside and beachside from the pool bar and grill. The beach was nice however I didn't swim in the ocean or lay on the beach. Key West is not known for great beaches. We ate our New Year's Eve dinner at the Harborview Cafe and It was delicious. We had stone crab, salads and filets. The chef came around to every table to make sure the dinners were cooked well. The wine bar is nice too. They have music every night. Another bar at the hotel is called the Chart Room. It is a famous bar in the Keys. They have popcorn and happy hour which is fun. The showers were nice and tub was very deep which is good for soaking your feet after a long day of walking. We also ordered room service and it was delicious too. It was expensive, but room service always is! Great cheap breakfast across the street at Two Friend's restaurant. We also enjoyed Alonzo's and Conch Seafood Restaurants. Both are within 5 minutes. CVS across the street helps with any last minute items you forgot. We did not even really notice the construction going on. I would recommend this hotel because of the great location and easy access to many amenities, but be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vancebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

On my first trip to Key West, the Pier House was very accommodating. The lobby staff were courteous and helpful. The heated pool was wonderful with a true deep end. The little beach was perfectly groomed and the water quite inviting with a real diving platform! I had several good meals at the on-site restaurant, where the service was impeccable. My room was spacious, comfortable and quiet, overlooking beautiful sub-tropical gardens. The hotel was located within walking distance to everying I wanted to see in Old Town.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank igitaround27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

The Pier House is a very nice hotel but it is a beach hotel. Our room was very nice, the service was good, the price was moderate (considering it was December in Key West) and the hotel location itself was perfect. My only word of warning is the location of the rooms themselves. We stayed in the spa, which is a seperate building. The rooms are very spacious, with hardwood floors and a large whirpool tub. The "but" is the view from our room was of the parking lot and the room is right on Front Street across from several bars. Fun people watching from the balcony but don't expect peace and quiet. We would stay at The Pier House again and recommend it, but I suggest you do you make sure where your room is.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £228 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing