We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our 5th trip to Key West and our 3rd stay at the Pier House. We returned to the Pier House simply because we love the location and our first two stays were enjoyable. As returning guests, we received welcome gifts both times which was very nice. This year we received two free drinks at the bar. The beach bar has excellent service and the view is wonderful as it looks out over the water. The beach area itself is small, but in my opinion, you don't come to Key West to lay out. The pool was heated and not overcrowded while we were there. So even if you are looking to catch some rays, there is definitely a place to do it at the Pier House. The staff waits on you at the pool so you can stay in your chair and they will deliver drinks and food.

A couple steps out the front door of the hotel, and the livelihood of Duval Street is right there for you. Within minutes, you can walk to the bars, restaurants and the historic seaport. The location is top notch in my opinion if you want to be in the heart of the action. But once inside the pool/beach area of the hotel, you'd never even know the hustle and bustle of Duval existed.

Our only complaint this year was the service at the Harbour View Cafe for breakfast. We ate there twice because it's convenient and it has an awesome view. Both days it took forever to get our food, but I'd still go back because when you take in the view, it really is worth it.

So overall, I highly recommend this hotel and we will return. The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel is well kept and very clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Traditional King room- it's affordable and the Lanai room was not available. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hi Angie,
We were happy to have you back for yet another visit. Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We will make sure to share your concern regarding the slow service at breakfast with the Food and Beverage Director so that she may address with the staff.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    521
    156
    76
    74
See reviews for
410
1,254
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I was traveling with some friends and we have booked the Hyatt Hotel next door. After our paid reservation was not honored by Hyatt ( you can see the story in my evaluation of the Hyatt) it was getting late and we were tired so we look across the street and find this Hotel. And they did have rooms for us.
It was a pleasant surprise. I normally will choose a chain hotel but the Pier have is up to the highest standard.
The oceanfront restaurant is ideal for breakfast and for a sunset drink.
The "beach" and the pool are really small but the room was very comfortable.
The location is at the center of the life in Duval Street and the Hotel has a free parking, making it very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Don't recommend staying here....but is great place for water view lunch.
AC Window unit very loud & noisy. Pillows are hard & bed not great.
Poor construction & very tired hotel in general.
small old pool with no water view.
Very small sandy beach is extension of bar area.
Highly recommend lunch/snack on the water...delicious French onion soup,
Brusetta, and shrimp cocktail. Service is extremely slow.
Hyatt or Westin Marina much better facilities.

Room Tip: First floor garden room next to turtle pond, if you must. Suites are all different & majority a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampered33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierHouseManagement, eMarketing Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Beach Bar and Grille. We feel our resort emulates the true attitude and style that is Key West and we were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our pool, which is located next to the Beach and nestled within our tropical gardens, underwent a complete renovation in 2012. We will share your concerns regarding the pillows and AC with the Rooms Division Director so that he may investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a surprise birthday weekend for my partner who wanted a resort-like place. I went the Pier House because it has a beach (apparently not common on Key West) and the availability of a spa. I must admit that I was reading some of the negative comments on TripAdvisor and got a bit nervous about my selection. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised! We had a Lanai room right over the bar looking out over the gardens, and we could see the ocean out past the pool area. The bar didn't bother us any of the nights we were there, even with the balcony door open. The room is spacious and clean. The shower was very nice. I didn't see any but one or two ants (I was nervous to read about other experiences). Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Having said this, our last evening was interrupted by loud partying guests at the pool and whirlpool up until 3:30 in the morning. We called the front desk who sent out security. Within 2 days, we had communications with the manager who apologized and made things right by us. Even though this happened, we will return to the Pier House when we return to Key West.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked our reservation three months in advance. When we arrived at 3 pm on our check-in day (not a late arrival), I requested a "quiet room." After much conferring with the receptionist, we were given a room directly across from the ice maker, and located next door to the control room with some HUGE loud motor in it. The motor took up over half of our patio space, so you would never sit out there. In addition, when the mysterious motor came on, it sounded like a jet engine in our room. We returned to the front desk, and asked for ANY other room. Didn't care about the view, the location, anything. We just really need a quiet room. I was told that for an additional $140 per night, we could have a quiet room, but not at my standard rate of $339 per night. I was also told that I should have made a special request at the time of my reservation, if I wanted a quiet room. So keep that in mind. Apparently you need to request something as unique and crazy as a quiet room.
We were with 5 other couples. Three of our group got upgraded -- with no additional charge -- to ocean view rooms.

The rooms are attractive, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are fine, except there is no bathtub, and I did not enjoy the 2-inch long centipede crawling on our shower wall.

So what's good about this place? Location location location. Great for Duval street. Also, it has a lovely, if tiny, beach, which is hard to find on key west. They beach has a terrific restaurant and bar. The servers at the pool and beach are terrific.

I'd stay again because of the location and the beach. I would just make a "special" request for a quiet room, and for no centipedes in the shower. I'm not sure whether that part requires a special request.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGP6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierHouseManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you for the review we value your feedback as an opportunity to continually identify issues and improve our service. We are glad you enjoyed our beach and pool area and that you found our staff to be amiable We will share your compliments with the servers. However we are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology. Be assured that your comments have been addressed to ensure a future occurrence doesn't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

So this place is not bad or anything, I guess I just thought it would be nicer with a resort name & hefty price tag. I will share that we came at a busy time without a reservation & were just grateful to have a room...but it was quite over priced for what it was. It was clean, the interior of the rooms were unique, furnishings nice, and staff friendly. I just thought I was walking into a Travel Lodge style hotel when we first walked into the building to get to our room. A remodel in the common areas would really be a huge improvement here.
Our favorite part was the location to head out on Duval to party. It was really convenient to get to & from. We also really liked the balcony- it had nice furniture on it & was relaxing. There was no privacy from your neighbors though. Just a few updates would make this place even better & live up to its resort name. I remember commenting that my computer monitor was bigger than the TV in the room. With that said, we never turned it on...guess you don't go to Key West to watch TV. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a great resort. Located at the Mallory Square end of Duvall -- close to the action. This was our eighth or ninth trip to the Pier House and won't be our last. Small beach, nice pool, great location.

Room Tip: We had a water view -- more expensive, but, nice. Some of the other rooms had bad views. We have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bawgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing