We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location - will return”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here the 14th -18th and had a great trip, we will return. I travel a ton with work and stay mainly at Marriott properties but went outside of Marriott and am glad we did. Although Key West is a 4 x 2 mile island, the location of Pier House CANNOT be beat. Others, close to Duval, have their view blocked when cruise ships dock ... keep that in mind. No need to rent a car, although we did one day to drive up and down HWY 1. Literally a CVS across the street and great bars and restaurants within footsteps. You DO NOT want to have to "shuttle" to Duval like others offer (Marriott). We got 80 minute massages and found them to be spectacular. The rest of the spa was "OK" but services were great. The beach here is "so so" but we didn't come to KW to lay on the beach all day. We did relax here some, but beaches aren't the strong suit. The ability to "unplug" and do nothing is why you come. The rooms here were clean and nice (tile floors, comfy bed, nice bathroom) I would recommend the Harbor View room which we had ... can't imagine no view of the water at a location like this. Staff was friendly and helpful. We dined twice on property for lunch the day we arrived and breakfast one AM. It was pretty good, but there are so many other great places nearby as well. They have a small "dive bar" on site called the Chart Room which I loved ... immediately felt like one of the locals. Location cannot be beat, this isn't a "5-star" resort but is very nice and like I said we will return.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the water, Harbor View is what we had, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstanley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad you enjoyed the food and our bar, The Chat Room. As you mentioned, we do have one of the best locations in Key West and can walk to all of the hot spots in Key West. Book your next visit through our website as we always promote our best available rate.


Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    525
    157
    78
    76
See reviews for
415
1,267
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A few girlfriends met down there for one of our friend's 50th birthday party. We didn't realize it was Fantasy Fest. Our room wasn't ready til way after 4pm (designated check in time) and everyone at the front desk was foreign and couldn't speak English very well. We finally got into our room, 210, and the floors were filthy and our phone didn't work. We called the front desk and they fixed the phone right away, but the floors never were cleaned. The bedding was decent, but the coverlet wasn't clean. Our friend had a room in the 800's and it was much nicer, but there were naked men and women constantly on the balcony above her room. Overall the property was not very good, but if you want to see topless women and barely covered men, this is the place for you to be during Fantasy Fest. I hope they don't allow that during non Fantasy Fest week, but I can't be sure. I wouldn't go back here again and the property is not suited for children.

There is a small swimming pool that needed to be cleaned both days were were there - sand, bugs and floating debris everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that we didn't meet you expectations. In regards to your stay, you could have called down to the front desk if you had issues with other guest. During Fantasy Fest, Key West is not the place for children. This is one week of the year and we have many families that stay with us every week.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was my husband's and my fourth stay at the Pier House. As usual, we had a fantastic time. Todd was gracious enough to arrange our tranportation from the airport to the resort and we were greeted promptly and wisked away. When making our reservation, we had requested a specific Corner Dockside Suite (#808). Upon check -in we were delighted that our request had been granted and the room was ready. Service at the cafe, beach bar and poolside was always so professional. It's great to see many of the same faces from year to year. A special shout out to Linda - such a sweetheart. She always has a smile on her face!. All meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner), were well prepared and tasted great, Our suite was always promptly serviced by housekeeping. The Pier House is only steps away from busy Duval St. But once you enter its grounds, you feel as though you've been transported to a peaceful tropical oasis. To all the staff at the Pier House, thanks again for a wonderful stay. Our only regret, we had to leave!

Room Tip: Dockside suites have great views of the water. The corner suites have wrap around balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad that you took advantage of all of it's great amenities and benefits. I hope you get an opportunity on your next visit to try one of our great massages at our Spa. I look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Upscale resort with great service,spa, pool, beach, tiki bar and restaurant. Located at pier side of Duval Street, fishing shopping, dancing and music all within walking distance. Had a wonderful weekend trip, rooms were decorated in caribbean style with comfortable beds and great bath products. Would stay here again when visiting Key West, Fl.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad you enjoyed our new bath amenities, Gilchrist and Soames, and I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Positives: Great location with private beach.
Negatives: Very uncomfortable mattress. Caterpillars over ran the room. Literally had to kill 10-15 per day. No hdtv and the signal was grainy.
When we checked in(staying for 8 nights mind you), we were not given the room that we had booked and that took a while to get corrected.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I want to apologize for the T.V issues. We do make every attempt to accommodate all of our guest with room number request but there are times when business patterns get in the way. We will make sure that your room type is honored. Thank you for your business and I hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I booked a one bedroom suite which was very large and comfy. The view was one of a dumpster. We called to change to the view I had requested, but did not get one. The only available rooms were a "significant increase" in price. I could not afford it so we made the best of it. We will stay again, but the next time will be sure to get a better view

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your time and please call our reservaton department directly. They will make sure that you receive the proper room type.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had booked a habour view suite. The front desk was so helpful helping find a suite that my spouse ( who has a walking disability) could be comfortable. We got the Hemingway Suite and it was wonderful. Huge balcony, huge bathroom (2 powder rooms) and a well appointed interior. We loved it there and spent so much time on the balcony soaking in the great views.

We ate breakfast every morning at the Harbourview Cafe , enjoyed daily drinks at the beach bar and ate dinner twice at the Habourview Cafe. I enjoyed the little beach and the beachside drink service ( that girl was excellent- always checking to see if anyone needed something)

But the best part of this resort- the employees! From the check in/out desk, the bellhops, the great bartenders at the beach bar, the young guys at the beach keeping us in chaise lounges and towels and keeping the beach free of seaweed, well just everyone there. Everyone took such care and pride in seeing you had a good time and being professional. Thank you for such a great stay at your property.

Oh yeah- the location is superb. Away from the madness, but steps away to it all.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernGal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and I am glad that you were able to experience my great staff. We rank within the top 25% in customer service for Independent Hotels across the US. On your next visit, please book thorugh our website as you will always find the best available rate there. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#11 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing