We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility in the madness of Key West!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the madness of Key West!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Oct 2013 - the first week of Fantasy Fest. We arrived early and so were upgraded from our booked Ocean View Suite to a Dock Side Suite - really great and very kind of the front desk staff. Our suite was lovely and had a wrap around glass fronted balcony - we almost felt like we were in the sea!

Because of our specific location in the hotel, it was very quiet. Other rooms may be more noisy - especially the garden rooms, which from the outside walking past, may also be rather dark.

The amenities were good, the key feature is the beach and fenced off swimming area with sunning platform in the sea - great! Very cooling to stand up to your neck in the sea with a cocktail! The pool area was a bit dated and so we only used it once.

All the staff were very helpful, and although we had no problems I felt confident they would have dealt with them. The concierge arranged cycle hire for us and we had a great day cycling to the south of the island and then got caught up in a night time ride with 6,000 zombies!

The location in Key West is great for all the madness that is Duval Street - a few steps to Sloppy Joe's etc - and yet also only a few steps to the old town and lovely shaded streets. Parking is easy and good value and the hotel is easy to find.

Room Tip: The garden rooms looked dark due to the planting, dockside suites looked like the newest and faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad that you enjoyed your time. When booking your next visit, please visit our website to get a good understanding of all of our room types.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a great time when we there in October of 13,staff as far as I was concerned went over the top to make sure everyone called the desk when we had a little problem with cooling in the room (was my fault) by the time I hung up the phone someone was knocking on the door from the hotel.I was impressed, The beach was well kept with staff ready to take care of you, bar personal made any drink you wanted along with great info on the Island. I am planning my next trip back. Did I mention it is on Duval street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtoolbox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
THank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and please visit our website when you book your next visit. Our best available rates can be found there. I look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If your looking for a place in Key West, THIS IS THE PLACE. Great location, great staff from check in to checkout and perfect rooms.. What a great 25th wedding anniversary. The only complaint we have is that we didn't stay long enough, but we shall return...

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, great spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for the nice comments and for your business. My staff at the Pier House pride themselves on ensuring all of our guest have a great experience. On your next visit, please plan on visiting our Spa. We are the only full service spa in Key West with a great variety of treatments.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Key West is well known for small "boutique" hotels with personalized service. Pier House is one of those rare gems that is small enough for personalized service and big enough to offer all the amenities. We've stayed here several times in the past, and the hotel changed hands since our last visit. So, we were interested to see if there were any major changes. As it happened, any/all changes were positive, and everything that has made the hotel special over the years was still there in abundance. The staff is mostly long-timer and remember your name (and after a few days, your drink order!). The beach seemed cleaner than before (not that it was ever really a problem) and the pool (and pool service) are in wonderful shape. Of course, the historic "Chart Room" bar is still as eclectic as ever, and the music at the beach-side bar is excellent. The new General Manager seems to take a very "hands-on" approach to his job, which shows. We will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Harborview rooms are a bit pricy, but have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and for noticing many of the amenity changes. The team prides itself on customer service as it ranks within the top 25% for Independent Hotels in the United States. On your next visit, please try our restaurant as it has a great variety to choose from. The menu can be found on our website.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Oh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2013. From check in to check out enjoyed every minute of it. Staff was very accommodating and polite. My room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. Special thanks to Janine at the beach bar for making sure I was thoroughly hydrated with rum throughout my stay. She's a gem, and a great bartender.

Room Tip: There are many different rooms and styles at this hotel, some with amazing ocean views and balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverhome75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and for staying at the Pier House. As you mentioned, we do have many different room types with different views. Visit our website to select the best room type to fit your needs. We have one and two bedrooms with views of the ocean or our tropical gardens. I look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed at the Pier House for an extended labor day weekend. The service is the best from the concierge desk to the towel boy at the beach. The food was great at the bar and grill and the restaurant, we had almost private dining on the deck one evening. The bartenders were very good, remembered what we drank from day to day and kept it on ice for us. The beach is small, a little grassy but a great place to get wet. The gentlemen maning the beach chairs and towels was so gracious. The rooms are very nice, although we had a lousy view from the balcony and you couldn't sit there since the air conditioner vented onto the deck. The foilage around the resort is fabulous. Can't wait to go back and stay again.

Room Tip: Although the water front rooms cost more, that is that way to go to get a great view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3web88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Pier House and took advantage of all of it's great service and amenities. On your next visit, visit our bar the Chart Room. It is located off the lobby and is an icon in Key West. Jimmy Buffet, Bob Marley are some of the great artist that have played there. Mel Fisher planned his daily dives from the Chart Room in search of the Spanish Galleon ship, the Atocha.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is the place!!!! At the end of Duval Street on the west coast of Key West. The rooms are all up to dte with tile floor, spacious bathroom and a bed just like "HOME". The pool could be a little bigger but it is big enough unless a large crowd comes it then it get a little tight. No big deal thou, just go down to the beachfont and snag a lounge chair by the gulf. The waiter staff here is awesome. You ask for something and you have it within minutes. They keep the beachfront nice and clean all day long. (NO SEAEWEED) Yeah. Although we did not eat here except for pool snacks, the food was good. Never made it to the dinning hall because there are so many places to eat in Key West. Clean Resort with a great staff. If you can afford it you will not be disappointed. A++++

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and for staying at the Pier House. On your next visit, please try the restaurant. You will not be disappointed. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to the Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing