We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the price?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our second trip to the Pier House. We stayed the first week of December 2013.
Pier House is a very clean and comfortable facility, decorated in colorful old Florida style, with its own private beach and in a good location at the very end of Duval Street. Walking distance to many eateries, attractions and bars is easy. Our favorite is the docks area, at the north end of Front Street, nearly across from the hotel and away from the hustle and bustle of commercial Duval Street. We understand Pier House is recently under new ownership.
The downside is the cost and parking. Is it worth between$300 and $400 per night? We don't think so. And to have to pay $20 to park our own car is rediculous. Management will argue that most all hotels charge tor parking. Not so. We just a completed a stay at a beautiful oceanfront Marriott hotel on Florida's east in Hollywood Beach and the parking and a great breakfast buffet were both free.
The Chart Room bar is another downside at the Pier House. A nicely appointed, comfortable corner of the property for imbibing, and an alleged watering hole to some of the great early writers and characters, namely Tennessee Williams, Hemingway and Captain Tony is spoiled because smoking is allowed. This room is way too small, or any room for that matter, for smoking. It ruins the experience. We tried it, but had to leave.
Curiously, we found a classified advertisement for the Pier House in the local newspaper, the Citizen, during our stay, seeking help for every department of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House and for your comments. In regards to parking, the full service hotels in Key West do charge for parking and for our location on Duval Street parking is at a premium. I am glad that you enjoyed your staff and look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    521
    156
    76
    74
See reviews for
408
1,253
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Pier House last week and found it to be all we expected. We had booked a Lanai room which suited us well in that it was quiet and had a nice view of the lush gardens. The staff was very accommodating to our requests and the Concierge was helpful in booking activities. Loved the hotel and hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House and I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the Resort. I always appreciate the feedback so that I can share them with my team. i hope to see you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Pier House during Thanksgiving weekend with our 2 small children and had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The hotel is a short walking distance from Mallory Square and the most popular attractions, we never had to use our car during our 4 day stay. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful and the staff was always helpful and friendly. The rooms were decorated with tasteful West Indies style furniture and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our room was on the top floor so it had cathedral ceilings. We ate breakfast at Harbour View Café and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor, most have cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Pier House and were able to take advantage of all of its great amenities. As you mentioned, the food is great as the chef has created a menu that appeals to many different palates.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The main reason I am submitting another review of this property is because of the change of ownership that has taken place since our last stay the same time last year.

Change often evokes fear, and rumors have swirled about diminished service and the fate of the Chart Room.

Our stay last week was nothing short of wonderful.

When booking the room I had asked for the same room if possible, a request they were able to grant to our great pleasure. The room was immaculate and kept that was for the duration of our stay.

The rumors of waning service heard prior to our visit, were quickly dispelled. Each employee we encountered greeted us with a smile and was as eager to help as ever.

The service we received at the Beach Bar and Grille and the Chart Room was exceptional. The Chart Room is featured on your guest key card and the bartender there assured us that she felt new management was more interested in the history and promotion of the Chart Room than the previous owners.

The entire visit made us feel like we were spending Thanksgiving with family.

We look forward to our visit next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Also, thank you for your business and loyalty over the years. As you know the Pier House is a great property with a team that wants to take care of the guest. The service, location, food and rooms is one of the best in Key West. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Pier House.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel location and everything from check in to check out was absolutely perfect. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is wonderful and having a beach with music and bar service is an amazing feature. We ended each night in the Chart Room bar which hardly any other hotel guests knew about. A lot of locals and Merri the bartender on Monday nights was wonderful and I loved talking with her.
I would have given the resort four stars but I was disappointed that are little balcony was so close to the one behind us and looked over the parking lot. We asked to be moved but they could only accommodate one of our three night stays. They tried but not worth it. A lot of people when they get there - see the view from the ocean or harbor views and want to upgrade - next stay we are upgrading to a room overlooking the beach area.
The hotel has a beautiful viewing area for the sunset and quite a few guests gather there....a nice touch would be a few chairs or even set up a happy hour for everyone to gather. Nice way to start off the evening.
We didn't eat at the restaurant at all because just so many other places to go.
All in all - a wonderful place and we can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Spend the money and upgrade to beach or harbor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House and I am glad that you enjoyed your time. As you mentioned, the Chart Room bar is an iconic bar in Key West and is what we center our marketing initiatives around. When booking your next visit, please book through our website or call the hotel directly. They will make sure that you book the correct room. Thank you for your business and I look forward to seeing you soon at the Pier House.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

this is one of my favorite hotels in Key West. great location however the new owners have been making some unpopular changes . they have recently started to price gouge during certain seasons and charge for parking. all in all I would still stay if I cold get a good rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romeo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoy your time at the Pier House. I would like to discuss with you the pricing of the room and parking as we price our services on market conditions and the amenities and services that we provide. I look forward to discussing this further with you.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here in September for our 15th anniversary and had a wonderful stay. When we checked in we were taken to a first floor room overlooking the water. We asked if it was possible to have a room on a higher floor and without hesitation we were moved up to the 2nd floor still with a water view. The room accomodations were very nice. We used the concierge services and found them to be very helpful, they booked a sea plane trip for us and recommended restaurants and activities. We loved the view and the private beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the water to get a better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad we exceeded your expectations during your stay. On your next visit, please try our restaurant, Harbour View Cafe as it has a great selection of foods. You can visit our website to see the menu options. I hope to meet you on your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing