We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean but great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The good- The Pier House resort is in a great location, the amenities are fabulous, staff very helpful and the grounds are beautifully maintained.
The bad- the room we stayed in (a traditional)needed updating and was not as clean as it could be. Normal daily cleaning was done properly but other things seem to get overlooked. The floor corners and perimeter were dirty as well as the white trim and light switches which I cleaned myself because it was so gross.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mas4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that we fell short on servicing your guest room. This will be reviewed with the staff. My team takes great pride in its cleanliness but fell short on your visit. Please call me directly so that I can discuss your stay further.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Pier House is a welcome refuge from the craziness of Duval Street, convenient to all of Key West, particularly if you plan to enjoy boating, fishing or watersports. The resort has parking and is within easy walking distance of the main dock and marina area in town, with many seafood restaurants and waterfront bars. The Pier House also has a nice bar, as well as two restaurants, one by the pool for more informal eating and one more formal and expensive on the water.

While the price of the rooms is on the high end, you can stay here relatively inexpensively if you choose to eat breakfast in some of the smaller restaurants a few blocks away and the convenient, quiet location and great service is worth it. You can also avoid drunken loud partiers and you xan walk over to Mallory Square easily to watch the sunset or stroll along Duval or most of the Key West waterfront worth seeing. There is also a CVS right across the street for water, soft drinks, etc.

The restaurants on the waterfront like A&B Lobster, Alonzo's Oyster Bar and Turtle Kraal are not far away and all have good seafood, including local mahi mahi, grouper, stone crabs, etc.

The grounds of the resort are nice and the staff is very helpful and accommodating with directions, etc. the rooms are qell appointed with comfortable beds and linens, small refrigerator for drinks, and the oceanfront views are worth paying for if you have the budget. Don't fully understand how anyone can stay at the Pier House and not have a relaxing time in the heart of Key West.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are best if you can afford them, rooms in the back are more reasonably priced and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your nice comments and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you took advantage of its many benefits. Visit our website as we many room option pricing for our guest. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is pricey per night but it was a fantastic hotel. I submitted a survey with everything listed as excellent. I cannot think of anything that they should change or fix. We knew what the price was when we booked it and although it was expensive, we were willing to pay that amount and it was worth the money. Two blocks from all the action, Sloppy Joe's, Irish Kevin's, Pat Croce's Rum Barrel, Capt. Tony's, etc. Key west is a great town. If you have never been there, add it to your bucket list. We flew in to Key West airport. We chose not to take the long drive from Miami.

Room Tip: Spa Building Rooms are newer. We stayed in a room facing the pool. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scalwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad that we met your expectations. As you mentioned, we have one of the best locations in Key West. Steps away from busy Duval Street and tucked away on the tranquil Golf of Mexico. Visit our new website for fun things to do on your next visit.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

When we arrived for our 4 day visit, our room wasn't ready,my husband's luggage hadn't arrived, and no compensation was offered. However, the manager upgraded our room, gave us drink coupons and complimentary breakfast, and apologized profusely. The wait staff around the pool was impeccable, the grounds are pretty, and the one meal we ate (breakfast) was very good.

Located at the end of Duval Street, it's an ideal location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor Survey. I appreciate the feedback and sorry that your trip got off to a rough start. I am glad that the team recovered and met your needs during your visit. Thank you again for staying at the Pier House and hope to see you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Although we paid a pretty shiny penny you couldn't beat our view !! We were in the dockside suites on a cornerunit and could have stayed all three days on the balcony. Some downside: would have loved the bed to be where the living room is - the living room is kinda useless can't really sit, relax and watch tv and I felt the bathroom although efficient and nice were also small!! Births bed was the sooooo comfy!!! The beautiful view overrides everything!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja26yne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your time and that we met your expectations. As you mentioned, the view from the Dock Side suites are spectacular as you can sit and watch the sun set from your patio. I look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed her for 4 nights (Sat - Wed) in mid-Jan 2014 for our anniversary. We chose this primarily based on the location (central to Mallory Square, Duval, Marina), the quality (based on the reviews on TripAdvisor vs. other hotels), and the price (competitive with other nearby hotels).

Our Lanai King was nice and well appointed with a patio (no view), deluge waterfall shower, comfortable bed and linens, minifridge, flatscreen TV, and room safe. Tile floors throughout both the room and the hallway/foyer leading to the room. Our room was very quiet throughout our stay, with no noise heard from neighbors. Because there is tile in and outside the room, noise from the hallway and foyer can be heard and echoes from quite a distance. No big deal.

Multiple bike rental places within a block of the hotel. Just walk toward the Marina and you'll find a bike rental at the next door Hyatt and next to the A&B Lobster House. CVS is right next door for your bottled water, in-room snacking needs.

We did not use the pool, but it seemed nice. Lots of sun. The Chart Room is a treat so make sure you walk the 20 yards or so from your room to this gem. We did not eat at any of the restaurants only because there are so many excellent restaurants in the area.

We didn't spend too much time in the room, but were comfortable for our entire stay. Staff was always pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Late30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor survey. I am glad that you enjoyed your time and visited our famous Chart Room bar. On your next visit please try our restaurant, the Harbour View Cafe, as it has a great menu with a lot of options. Please visit our website to see our menu offering.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were recommended to the Pier House by local business contacts. The location is great and we rented a "beach" front room. For the price we paid I did expect to be able to access the "beach" from our room. Instead there is an iron fence between. The "beach" is a 3 foot strip of sand in front of our room. There is a slightly larger sand area with chairs and an area under cover for those avoiding direct sun.

The service here is responsive. The food outlets are good. We only ate snacks and key lime pie there. The pie was as good as any we had in town, and we tried it about everywhere. We did not use the spa.

Room Tip: Don't pay the upcharge for beach front unless a view of the water is very important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler_N0t_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am sorry that you had a different impression on what a ocean view room is. We do not advertise that you can access the beach from your balcony and I would like to know if this was communicated to you. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the service. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £227 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing