We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is nice but for the price not worth it and service is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location is nice but for the price not worth it and service is terrible”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We traveled here in April. The price was near $600 per night and the hotel has very little amenities and the service is sub par at best. The waiters and waitresses are rude and for $600 per night one would think you would not have to beg for a drink server or food server. The location is nice. The rooms are nice but the walls are super super thin and you can hear everything which is not always good in Key West. We spoke to the manager about it and he was very rude and argumentative. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LMA323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I was surprised by the lack of service you received during your stay and would like to discuss your visit. Please call me at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your stay further. I look forward to your call.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    536
    161
    80
    78
See reviews for
438
1,308
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back from "The Pier House Resort & spa" for our 20 year anniversary get away. What a Great place. Ocean room suite was great. Staff members all professional's. Thank you to Joe who made our trip really special. Definitely going Back !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjl168 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Congratulations on your 20 years of marriage. Thank you for letting the Pier House share in such and occasion and we look forwward to seeing you next year.


Regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

loved loved the Pier House!!! great location great pool and beach! staff was so friendly! this was my 6th time in key west , I plan to stay here again! everything was walking distance. our room was huge !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and for making it your hotel of choice when traveling to Key West. I am glad that we met your expectations and that you took advantage of all of its amenities and great lcoation. Always visit our website as you will always find the best available rate on our website. I look forward to your return.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A nice retreat at the end of Duvall St. Spent 3 nights in waterside room with balcony. All appointments top-notch, excellent staff and service. Great breakfast overlooking water. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincheck1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the resort and was able to experience some of our great food at the restaurant. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, PA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friends recommended Pier House, and I am so glad they did! We thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay. First, the staff is outstanding. All very friendly and accommodating - Merri and Janine at the Beach Bar are just wonderful, and the front desk staff, concierge, "beach boys" and bellhops are really personable, efficient and welcoming. The servers at the beach and pool manage to handle many orders quickly and with a smile. The property is VERY clean. We absolutely loved the beach. It is small, but many properties have no beach at all, and the size was sufficient for the guests. The food and drinks were very good, as well (I recommend the mahi sandwich!). We stayed in 614, junior spa suite. View isn't great (Jacuzzi in spa and parking lot), and you have to walk a bit to the beach/pool. When we visit again, we won't stay in the spa area. We had spa services - I would recommend not getting a couples massage because you pay $50 extra because of the need to set up the veranda for the massage, and it overlooks the parking lot, so it was noisy. The massage was very good, though, so if you and your partner are interested in a massage, simply book separately. Room was a nice size, and the cleaning staff was very efficient. We had a few problems the last night - the a/c broke at night and it was stifling in the room, and we had a visit from two of the largest cockroaches/palmetto bugs I have ever seen in the middle of the night. Apparently, that was caused by the rain. Those were the only glitches in an overall wonderful stay. We checked out a few other properties while in Key West, and we really felt that Pier House was the best one. When we return to the Keys, we'll be staying at the Pier House.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, not the spa suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaM313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations at the Pier House. As you mentioned, the Pier House has many amenities that other hotels can not offer. On your next visit please visit our restaurant to sample some of our great menu items. We have a great chef who will be cooking with celebrity chef Norman Van Aken on the weekend of June 14th at the Pier House. I look forward to seeing you soon.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location on the end of Duval. We were upgraded to a spa Jr. suite. Nice that there was no elevator, just a few stairs to get to the room. Large size room with a living room. Huge bathroom with separate/ private area for the toilet. Clean. Make-up mirror. Large balcony, but not much of a view. Some street noise off and on throughout the night. Suction sound in the room several times per hour all day/night. Don't know what it was. Shower didn't have much water flow. Cleaning staff was great. Food and service very good. Think I will pick a quieter room or hotel location next time around, but overall The Pier House was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I will have my engineering department look into the water pressure in your room. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Pier House Resort and Spa and enjoyed your dinning experience. On your next trip visit the Chart Room Bar that is located off the lobby. It is an iconic bar in Key West with a lot of history. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Rooms were very clean. Beds very comfortable. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. It has everything-beach bar, restaurant -indoors or outdoors, swim in the pool or Gulf. Right on Duval close to everything bars, restaurants, shopping, Mallory Square and most water activities

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kscorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about the Pier House and I hope to see you and your family soon. I am glad that you were able to relax and enjoy your time in Key West.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#14 of 51 in Key West
2,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing