We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, worn facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, worn facility”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Pier House for four days (two rooms), one garden room and one oceanfront suite. Staff is very friendly and efficient and the location is superb. The hotel has been made over and on the surface is nice but the place is time worn. Our OF suite (201) needs some plumbing work as the toilet barely flushes and paying 600+ dollars for a room you would expect something more than a noisy floor mounted AC. We still enjoyed our stay regardless but can only give it a average rating as you can get some quaint accommodations in KW for a lot less.

Dave

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Pier House. I do apologize for the service issue you encountered during your stay and my engineer team has corrected the problem. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and service and I hope to see you soon at the Pier House.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    523
    157
    78
    75
See reviews for
415
1,265
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Pier House, first time was in June 2012. We had such a great time in 2012 that we couldn't wait to return and finally made it back in May of 2014. Had a minor screw up with the room , but the front desk staff resolved it quickly and to our liking....everyone went out of their way to insure we had a great time, front desk, bell hops, waitresses, bar maids were all awesome. We have stayed in many different place in Key West. The Pier House is by far the best value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your business and I am glad that you have made the Pier House your hotel of choice in Key West. On your next trip, don't forget to visit our website for the best available rate or call our in house reservation team with any questions.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned home from one night at the Pier House. The location is perfect. It is convenient to all you want to walk to in Key West. The grounds are beautiful, peaceful and very nicely maintained. We enjoyed the pool, the beach, and the bar and have no complaints about the amenities.
Our disappointment was with our room. We were placed In a corner room on the ground floor. The only natural light in our room was from a single sliding door to a patio area that we shared we our neighboring room. We could see right into their room from our shared patio.
Because there was no other window of any kind the room was very dark. The patio he most was covered and shaded by a lot of trees so any natural light during the day was almost nonexistent. This gave the room a heavy, dark feel.
Other than that the room was well appointed. The bathroom was nice and the bed was comfortable. The ac was quite loud but I am used to waking up numerous times throughout the night so maybe I was just hyper aware of it. My husband and I were very disappointed with the room but decided to just spend as little time as possible in it and make the most of getting to know key west.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N8256TZandreaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and grounds. The room that you booked is a Traditional room and we do have a few rooms that share balconies... a lot of families prefer them. In the future, please visit our website as we have a variety of room types that will meet your needs and you will always find the best available daily rate there. I hope to see you soon and please call our in house reservation team if you have any questions.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed at The Pier House twice in the past couple of years and both times were very enjoyable. The location is perfect for walking to bars and the rooms are nice. The beach area is small but clean and the sand is soft. We spent most of our time at the pool which could have used some updates but there is wait staff taking orders. Overall I would recommend this hotel to any key west traveller.

Room Tip: Corner side dock side suite! Best view in Key West!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Kristi thank you for your loyalty and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you have enjoyed your visits and I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Key West.


Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned after five days at The Pier House. I was there with my 16 year-old niece and we loved our stay! You can be adventurous (the hotel is right on Duval and two blocks from Mallory Square) or lazy (the beach and pool staff are so awesome (WE LOVE YOU, DIMA!). Our beachfront room was lovely and clean. On the days that we were in and out, making it hard for housekeeping to service the room, they brought us clean towels and whatever else we needed later that night. The sunsets were gorgeous right from our balcony. My only regret of the entire week is that I freaked out and yelled at a manatee when it swam up to me in the shallow water of the beach. Lame to yell at a manatee. Thanks, Pier House staff for making our first trip to the Keys awesome!

Room Tip: Room 202 is lovely. You can pretend that the palm tree right outside the glass is just for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Amy thank you for your nice comments and I will share them with the team. At first,the manatees can be very intimidating but are so docile they would never hurt anyone. They have a tendency to swim into our beach area to visit with our guest. I am glad you enjoyed your time and took advantage of all of our amenities. I look forward to seeing you soon at the Pier House.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The location is one of the best on the island. On Duval, a block away from the start of the action (Hogs Breath, Sloppy Joe's...) and about two blocks from the bight, which is the harbor area with many restaurants and bars that are all a good time with GREAT sea food and a somewhat quiter but still fun atmosphere. Alonzos and Half Shell are great for happy hours, Alonzos being a bit more formal, but still casual and Half Shell defiantly being casual only.

stayed in a Spa Suite, room 608. It was extremely spacious and very well appointed. It had three sets of French doors, one facing an ocean/harbor view with boats of all sizes, peacefully and quietly passing by. If you looking straight down, the view is not as pleasant as it was a service shed of some sort, but it did not affect my relaxing view of the sea. The other two French Doors opened overlooking a....well Key West view of a quite side street and a resort next door, with plenty of tropical plantings to still give you that island feel. Some of the other spa suites could not have had the same views I was fortunate enough to have as room 608 is ocean facing end unit.

I did not have much interaction with the staff, but when I did they were very friendly. The beach and pool areas are well appointed and attended by very a attentative staff supplying lounge chairs and towels on the beach, and cold drinks with a smile at the pool. I do wish they had a musician playing/singing with an acoustic guitar instead of piano at the beach/pool bar, it just seemed odd for beach music in the day time, at sunset or night time Ok, just odd in morning and afternoon.

Check in was a breeze, with a courtesy phone call shortly after check-in in my room to ensure satisfaction.



Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guest do enjoy music on the beack. We do try and mix it up as we do have many musicians who play the guitar as well. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california,usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Awesome resort, worth every $! You will not find cleaner & better beach on the island that belongs to guests! Location is perfect, close to Mallory Square is a must be between 7-9pm! Close to Duval action and at the same time quiet -you could hear dolphins play in the ocean and crickets! Front desk amazing, Anet thank you for welcoming us! Dimitry on the beach is awesome! Live music is a big bonus!! The beach room with sunset balcony was the cherry on the top!!! Would highly recommend and will be back :)

Room Tip: Ask for balcony and beach view- it makes huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D, General Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Pier House Resort and Spa and I am glad we meet your expectations. On your next vist, please visit our spa as we have the only full service spa in Key West with some of the best therapist on the island. See you soon.

Regards,

Joe Dantoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing