We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Pier House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Pier House”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Just got back from a three night stay at the Pier House. The hotel was in a great location and our room was very clean and spacious. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only thing that bothered us was that the pool was not heated and was too cold to enjoy. If you get a room in the Caribbean Spa section and are located towards the end by the street it can be noisy at night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    527
    158
    80
    76
See reviews for
419
1,277
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Our stay at The Pier House in January was excellent. The location, room, amenities and service were great. No complaints. Expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4caseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Right downtown with a small beach, this hotel is comfortable, with great views from ocean view rooms but has a blandness about the dining areas and an odd cool impersonal efficiency about it. Having said that everything we asked for was done willingly. Rooms are comfortable enough but for the price I expected a bathtub as well as a shower. A tropical rain shower never drained off our balcony making it unusable after the rain, a pity as it was the perfect place to relax. You have to go out to get to the restaurant but no umbrellas are provided so bring your own. The beach is tiny but service there good.

The location gives it an edge over other resorts, near to the Harbour restaurants and the action downtown but insulated in lovely tropical gardens in the grounds. We would return here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House for a week in August. During my first visit to Key West, I had noticed the Pier House and thought it would be a great place to stay. It exceeded my expectations in every way imaginable. The location right at the end of Duval Street can't be beaten - not to mention the free on-site parking. The Pier House is easily located within stumbling distance from several of our favorite spots.

We stayed in a basic room, which didn't have much of a view, and we understood that going in. The room was certainly large enough for the two of us, the bedding was great, and the bathroom was nice and spacious as well. The on-site amenities, including the Chart Room bar, restaurant, and little private beach were all great to have. We also had time to enjoy the pool. The layout of the resort, although compact, is well thought out. We found staff to be very helpful and friendly.

We are going back to KW at the end of the year, and know exactly where we want to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Pier House was a great place to stay. The location is central to everything in Key West. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. It was very private and we hardly knew anyone else was there. The grounds are secluded and the property spotless. The restaurant had great food and a wonderful view. The spa services were great and the employees there very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamperedPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We wanted an American location for a December destination wedding and we couldn't have been happier with the way our event weekend turned out at the Pier House. When you pick a destination, you have to go on some amount of faith that it will work out well, because it has the potential to go badly if the place you pick isn't top notch. The whole Pier House staff was wonderful to work with, from the front desk folks to the concierge to the plumber who came out to fix the shower. Karen the wedding planner was lovely and accommodating, making the whole process easy. The small, private beach and covered patio presented a perfectly beautiful locale for the ceremony and reception. The food was absolutely excellent--better than at many restaurants. The servers were attentive and quick. The guitar player for the ceremony was wonderful; the DJ for the reception was talented and tuned in to the group. The photographer's pictures have turned out very well, too( though he left 10 minutes early.) We did get lucky with the weather, but the hotel has a conference room to be used as a back-up plan. It was a little unfortunate that the hotel is located next to a busy restaurant pier, so the guy singing Motown could be overheard for some of our event, but that was pretty minor. The location of the hotel couldn't be better for guests, though, with many activities and restaurants located within a few blocks. I haven't gotten the final bill a week later, but I think the cost of the whole event probably will have been less than if we had hosted a traditional wedding at home. All in all, our destination wedding at the Pier House was a fabulous success.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMOB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2010

This hotel was just what we needed after a long drive to Key West. At the end of Duval street this medium size hotel is designed to provide quite escape from the wild side of Key West. Many rooms open into the center area that has wonderful lush landscaping, a great pool and a private beach. The chair and towel boy is just about a pleasant and attentive as is humanly possible. Every other staff member we met was super pleasant. The finishes were great, modern fixtures, great bathrooms and wonderful beds make this place a great bargain in a city with few. We never ate here as there is so much good food just a short walk away. The only real let down was the coffee, it was a lame attempt at brewing espresso.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mchasej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West
Pier House Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing