We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Option”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Marquesa and were happy with the choice. We stayed after labor day and it was very quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel has a quaint relaxed atmosphere. It was very clean and the room was a sufficient size. The bathroom was also nicely sized for this type of hotel. While we didn't use the pool, it looked incredibly inviting and I wish we had the time. There is no elevator (that I saw) so if you have trouble doing stairs it could be an issue. It is in a great location and we were easily able to walk around town. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank NathansTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

A wonderful find, just blocks from the "fun", we wish we could have stayed longer. The place was beautiful, the rooms were great, the attention to detail was amazing. From the time we arrived Shawn made sure we had everything we needed. When we came back from doing the "Key West Crawl" our room had been cleaned, fresh towels, ice, turn down with chocolate, trash removed-very impressed. The best part is that you are just a few blocks from the fun/noise and you return to a quiet, blissful place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

After reading the stellar reviews of hotel Marquesa on Trip Advisor, my wife and I decided to book a room there for our trip over Labor Day weekend. We ended up having one of the best hotel experiences of our lives.

Check In: We arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon and were promptly greeted the beautiful lobby. The main building of the hotel is on the National Historic Registry and it has been meticulously restored. Our host at check in spent about 10 minutes orienting us using a map of Key West and then gave us a tour of the property. He then took us to our room (we were upgraded to a suite on the third floor) where we settled in and a few minutes later he arrived back with two glasses of complementary wine and a full ice bucket. There are no elevators allowed in the building because of the Historic status so if stairs are a problem, make sure you book a room on the first floor as they do not mention this when you make your reservation.

The Room: Our room was in the Main House of the property. The property is comprised of three or four buildings surrounding a beautiful pool and garden area. The room was immaculate and extremely clean. The bed and bedding were what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Many rooms on the property have balconies or porches. Ours did not but we were happy to sit outside by the pool and drink the complementary coffee and iced tea that is available throughout the day. There was a full mini bar with prices that were very reasonable considering the caliber of the hotel ($2.50 for bottled/sparkling water, $6 for cocktails). They also offer a continental breakfast for $10/person that they will either deliver to your room or set up for you at a table by the pool.

Food in Key West:
Café Marquesa: The first night we ate at the Café Marquesa which is on the first floor of the hotel. I would book this reservation though the hotel as it appeared we were given a better table because we were staying at the hotel. The food , and service were all excellent. With cocktails and a bottle of wine, we ended up spending around $130. This is the highest rated Zagat restaurant in Key West so if you are staying at the hotel, you will not want to miss it.

Island Joes Coffee: Excellent coffee shop one block away from the hotel. Coffee is fantastic and they also serve a variety of breakfast options at very reasonable prices.
Sarabeth’s: We had breakfast here one day and it was very good. They are known for their marmalade and I now understand why. It is only a block away from the hotel. It is a little pricy for breakfast but the quality of the breads and omelet we had was very high.

Azur: We ended up going here for lunch one day. It is about 5 blocks east of the hotel. They have lunch specials for only $6. My wife and I couldn’t decide what to get so we ordered 4 lunches The seafood risotto and the gnocchi were some of the best that I have ever had. They also have 2 for 1 mimosas for lunch which were delicious.

Half Shell Raw Bar: The hotel recommended this place to us. We ended up going here every afternoon for their $0.50 happy hour oysters. I am not usually a fan of gulf oysters but these were small to medium sized and absolutely delectable. I believe that happy hour runs from 4PM to 7PM. A wide selection of draft beer is available for less than $2 during happy hour and I believe other drinks are half off as well. Don’t miss this place.

Latitudes: Definitely the highlight of our trip. You have to take a ferry from the Westin near Mallory over to Sunset Key. Latitudes is in the main building of the Westin Guest Cottages resort and it spill outside onto a sandy beach. We had dinner at a very private table set up on wood decking on the beach. Food and service were excellent and the setting was truly remarkable. Not a cheap option by any means but we thought it was definitely worth it. This is probably the most difficult reservation in Key West so make sure you book in advance if you want a table outside.

Activities:
The only real activity we did (other than eating, drinking, and laying by the pool) was visit the Butterfly conservatory. Only $10 and definitely worth it. Thousands of butterflies of all shapes and sizes flying around you, landing on you, etc. Wow!!

Summary:
We had an amazing time. Can’t wait to go back in a few months.

Room Tip: You might want to book over the phone in order to get a good description of the room. All of the 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Marquesa is always my first choice for Key West. It's exactly what you need- beauty and quiet by the pools and beautiful landscaping. Or a few minutes away from the shops and restaurants and activity of Duval Street. Everything you want is walking distance.
Each time I've stayed there, everyone has been so helpful and accommodating. They are wonderful and extremely knowledgeable about restaurants and things to do in Key West.
Rooms are always spotless and comfortable.
I have stayed here several times and will continue to choose the Marquesa (unless it's a trip with kids).

Room Tip: If possible, request a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Love this hotel. It's perfect. Key West charm with very good style. Perfect location. In a quiet, beautiful neighborhood, but only 2 blocks from Duval. Beautiful pool area. Excellent service and very nice staff. Have stayed in all types of rooms, and they are all good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have stayed in several places in Key West finding this bed & breakfast the best so far we plan to be back there this year. Some of the other locations were either a mile walk to Mallory Square or partying until the roosters crow @ 4 :30 am. This location is class enough yet allows sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scopiosrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all as soon as we stepped in the door we were greeted with smiles and wonderful people that were there to make sure we had the best time in Key West! Our room was just perfect.. We had a poolside standard. Very quiet, clean and awesome! We spent alot of time in the pool! We loved the free iced tea and water, and I have to say that the coffe in the morning was some of the best I have had at a hotel!!! The location was also perfect. Close to everything, yet very private...... I miss it :(

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £210 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing