We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful respite in a crazy town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful respite in a crazy town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have spent two short vacations in Key West this year. For both visits we stayed at the Marquesa. Conveniently located a couple of blocks from Duvall Street, it is a beautiful, comfortable and somewhat unique place to stay after walking all over Key West. They have free on property parking and the staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable, be it providing a nice glass of wine before leaving for dinner or making reservations around town. They seem to know where to go and their recommendations proved to be as expected.
They are also connected to the Marquesa Cafe which is a very nice place to have a fine meal.

Room Tip: Rooms are suites. Some are upstairs and you have to walk up the stairs. If you like ground level y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    102
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
682
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Marquesa Hotel was such a great place to stay. I can't say enough nice things about the staff and property. It was centrally located, a couple blocks off of Duvall St, without all the noise. It was very clean. I was greeted with a complimentary glass of wine. Room service was prompt and delicious. The daily local newspaper was great to read by one of the 2 pools.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked this trip a few months before for 2 nights. We decided to drive down a day early. The hotel was full but Jannette helped us find a room at another hotel. We checked in the next day to room 22. Great room on second flooor. Very clean and very quiet. Had a porch where you could sit out and have breakfast or coffee. Pool area was clean, always had towels out and water and ice tea. Could use some new pool chairs.
Beds were comfortable and good pillows.
Staff was great. Helped us book a trip. Lots of suggestions for where to eat and things to do.
Property was very comfortable. Location great.
Would defiantly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Marquesa hotel. The only room available at the time of the reservation was a junior suite. For the amount of money we paid, we found it a bit overrated. It is a cutsie hotel and within walk-in distance to town. However, the room was dark and small considering it was a junior suite. The king size bed barely fit into the bedroom area. It was very awkward to walk around it. It took me 30 minutes to find the safe box which was built-in behind the bathroom door!! A disappointment for $400/ night during off-season. Lastly, I am not sure if turndown was included but we had to call the front desk to make sure we got the turndown service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

No comparison, the best place to stay in Key West is The Marquesa Hotel. I've been traveling to KW almost annually for the last 15 years and can honestly say, this is my favorite place..and my 5th time. The rooms, staff, pool area, are all excellent. I stayed in the Junior Suite (#1), and it was a fabulous-with separate living room; located on the 2nd level with it's own outdoor sitting area. The hotel is very up to date and exceptionally clean. The staff(Richard, thank you :) !) is very friendly and accessible for all your needs. It's also located close to restaurants/Duval/Mallory Square.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RJJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Marquesa hotel was worth every penny. The staff pays attention to every detail and service was above and beyond what I have received anywhere else. It was quiet and clean and centrally located without the noise. We had a twin double room and there was more than enough room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

When I first rang to discuss booking I immediately felt this was going to be something special, and I wasn't disappointed. Everything about the Marquesa is relaxing, finding a hotel like this makes a holiday special We had a Junior Suite (No 20) which is situated just above the pool area and was very private with a beautiful terrace. The staff add to the magic, very accommodating but never intrusive and with their wonderful restaurant it would be easy to just put down roots (they are happy to deliver food from their menu to your room) but don't forget Duval Street is on your doorstep and there is plenty to see and experience.

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The junior suites are fabulous and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JackiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing