We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, peaceful oasis”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Marquesa hotel for 4 nights in a junior suite. Our stay was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They rented us bicycles for the entirety of our trip, and that's the best way to get around. The hotel is quiet, peaceful, the guests seemed to be mostly older couples. The hotel is clean, both pools are nice, our room was cleaned several times a day.
If you ask the hotel to book you trips and activities, check prices first, they booked us a jet skiing trip for twice as much as it is available at the marinas if you booking it on yourself own. Some we cancels it and reboook the less expensive one, it was perfect.
Have them make you reservations for lunch or dinner at the restaurant in the sunset key, it's a tiny island, a water shuttle will take you over only if you have a reservation and the place is gorgeous, the food was delicious!
Also, don't miss out on a dining experience at their restaurant cafe Marquesa, it was amazing, the best restaurant in key west for sure!
Overall we had a great stay, and when we come back to the Keys, we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa-toly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Greeted at registration and made to feel like we were returning guests. Staff guided my wife and I to our room and provided a wonderful orientation. The wine upon arrival in the room was a very nice touch. The accomedations was wonderful and the courtyard was absolute fabulous! The room staff were extremely attentive. Would not think of staying anywhere else! The quality of service matches or exceeds that of many 5 star hotels we stayed at in NYC, Boston, Chicago, and Denver. Well done my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Close to key spots of Key West, but separate from most of the tourist activity. Two blocks from Duval St, three to Whitehead, four blocks to marina. The property is quite large and encloses the pools and court yard area. Parking is on the grounds and underneath some of the suites at the far end, we parked and left the rental there our entire stay. The suites have balconies which overlook and lead down to this court yard. Looks a perfect oasis from the second floor. Inside the main building is reception and stairs leading up to rooms where we stayed. The staff was extraordinarily consciencious and helpful the entire time. Rooms are spacious, high ceilings, temperature controlled and a relaxing respite from the day's heat. Beds were broad and comfortable and inviting. Room service was quick and exceptional. Pools were a great place to lounge, relax, strike up a conversation with some very engaging and interesting people, price obviously attracted a select class of successful professionals. Very good, strong coffee was always ready in the morning with iced tea for the afternoon. We did not try the Marquesas Cafe, run by the hotel, since there were so many great places to eat in Key West that were so close by. The peace of the evening/nights were only interrupted once during our stay by revelers coming back from a bar, but quickly subsided; not bad for a notorious party location. Only flaw: The last morning of our stay, the ceiling above our sink in the bathroom started to drip water and we notified the desk...hope they took care of it. We will be back, maybe with our older children, to try out the suites.

Room Tip: Main house is on the corner. Rooms within the main house overlook the streets. Suites are of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It's nice to stay at a nice privately owned hotel. It was very clean and it certainly had that personal touch that is so important. The blending of old and new was refreshing.The room was very nice and the pool courtyard was pleasant. It is with in walking distance of everything. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvaWestPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a relaxing 3 night stay we had! Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Location was fantastic - quiet street but a block to Duval! The pools were a great way to cool off from the Florida heat and humidity. Will definetly be back and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Marquesa is a very nice small hotel centrally located just a short distance off Duval Street. We were welcomed with friendly and informative service at check in. We were impressed with lavish gardens surroounding the two pools. The rooms were updated and spotless. The attached restaurant has top notched service and cuisine.

Each morning the hotel staff puts out complementary tea and coffee, then changes that to iced tea and water. The hotel offers a light $10 breakfast which is very nice. The fruitbowl was a nice surprise as it contained an ample amount of fresh fruit.

There was an issue with the air conditioner in our room and the hotel staff could not have been more accomodating. Bob, Jenette, Carol and especially Henry all worked very hard to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay. My wife and I have stayed at many 5 star hotels before and have never experienced a hotel staff that is as committed to customer service and satisfaction as the staff at the Marquesa. We will definately be back.

We stayed June 28th to July 2nd 2012

Room Tip: If you are travelling with another couple, contact the Marquesa and request a pair of rooms which sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjp186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Marquesa Hotel was fabulous. We loved our room and its location bordering one of the pools. The pool area was very relaxed and the complimentary ice tea was lovely. The adjoining restaurant had wonderful food and atmosphere. The staff at both the hotel and restaurant were excellent. The location was perfect -- we will definitely come back to the Marquesa.

Room Tip: recommend the rooms around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,200 reviews
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £209 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing