We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marquesa hotel with my daughter in January.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marquesa hotel with my daughter in January.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a deluxe room for two nights in early January. The Marquesa hotel is beautiful. Our room was on the 3rd for in the main building. Stairs were steep. Would be difficult for an older person to climb up there. The pool and grounds are lovely. It was very chilly while we were in Key West. Hotel has a great location. I would stay there again if I ever go back to Key West. Next time I will stay im a Junior Suite and go later in the season. It was overall a very nice experience. I am very picky and I would highly reccomend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    102
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
682
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here in September for a couple of days during our annual visit to Florida. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room straightaway. We had one with a balcony that overlooked the pool. It was ideal to sit out in the evening with a glass of wine.

We booked bikes at reception and they promptly arrived at 9am the next day. It is the best way to see everything and there are plenty of places to park them. The hotel is ideally situated, and if bikes are not your thing, most things could be reached by walking. Duval Street is just around the courner.

The hotel is lovely and clean and very quiet. Our room was a junior suite which was very spacious and the bathroom was a lovely size. We were offered a very generous glass of wine on arrival and we kept this in the fridge for later.

I would recommend a visit to Ernest Hemmingway's house. Try and catch a tour, our tour guide was excellent and had many stories about Ernest and his wives.

The most southerly point was very busy, but we went early in the morning (about 9am) and there was no one there. Once the cruise ships have docked the whole place can get very busy.

I would definately recommend staying at the Marquesa.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleKatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel in a great location. You are about 2 blocks off the center of Duval. The rooms are comfortable and so are the beds. The first night we stayed just off the pool. Our room was actually behind one of the rooms facing the pool so we didn't have one of the nice porches to sit on. The only issue we had was that we had ordered a king/queen and got 2 doubles. The hotel was full so they couldn't move us. The staff apologized and was very professional. They offered us a credit which I thought was great. The next couple nights we moved to the upper floor of the main building which was fine but we have to climb 3 flights of stairs. The pool area is excellent. There are 2 of them and ample sun and plenty of shade. Plenty of towels and complementary water and Ice Tea. My only problem here is that there is no bar so if you like to enjoy a cocktail while sunning and swimming you need to supply your own. Parking is also tight if you drive. There were no spots the night we arrove dso they let me park in the check in spot which I thought was very nice. If you are looking for a covenient hotel and a nice quiet, relaxing pool to hang by then this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rpalazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were pleasantly greeted upon arrival. After arriving to Port in Miami after an 8 day cruise and driving to Key West, we were very ready to enjoy the sounds smells and sights!
Our room was in the main building 2nd floor which we found to be surprisingly quiet and nicely detailed with the essence of a lovely Victorian Manor.
The grounds are private and set back off the road with 2 lovely pools and a private off street garage for our car.
The hotel is lovely and quiet with access just minutes away on foot.
We highly recommend the Marquesa for anyone who likes the idea of Olde Key West and close distances to all areas on foot. Thank you for making our stay memorable!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just stayed at the Marquesa for the 3rd time in November, and still find it to be a wonderful place. The service is top notch, and the rooms very nice. But I feel that it is important to stay in one of the nicer, newer rooms not in the main building. These "junior suites" offer more room, nicer bathrooms and a more up to date feeling. I would still like to see the baths have 2 sinks, and the toilet be behind a separate door in the bath as many other nicer properties are doing now.

At check in they poured my wife and I a nice glass of the wine of our choice (red or white), and were very accommodating when we decided the room in the main building was not to our liking and moved us to the junior suite. They helped arrange bike rental for the week, and gave a great recommendation for a sail/snorkel/kayak trip. The rooms that have a window or wall to toward a street can be noisy from traffic, so ask to not have one of those. But being just two blocks off of Duval afforded the ability to be away from that noise, but just a short walk there when needed.

Room Tip: Pick the junior suites not facing a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drvalgemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Maquesa recently and were very pleased. It's right near everything yet it's quiet and serene. Friendly/helpful staff, Beautiful inside as well as out. Best of all it's very clean. Can't say enough about this gem! Should we visit this area again we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Run to this hotel! Descriptives: Charming, classy, great central location, quiet tropical setting surrounded by flowers and the sound of water, private deck, daily coffee service at the pool, 24 hour concierge service, full-service small grocery store around the corner, free parking on-site, can walk everywhere, double marble sinks in bathroom, live Christmas tree in lobby, rooms have a relaxing scent. I could go on and on...Pauline and Richard were very friendly and wonderful. Wanted to book a return trip before we left to room #2. Side trip: take a ferry to Sunset Key and enjoy great food in a tropical setting on the beach.

Susie

Room Tip: Room #2, only non-shared deck and it faces the pool with a waterfall. Street level and next to am co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerwithpanache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing