We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First visit but not the last. We drove the keys and my husband says never again, so next visit we will be flying in. Since everything we enjoyed was within walking distance of the hotel a car was not necessary. We did taxi back after dinner two of the nights because it was dark and we had had a few glasses of wine. We are so glad that we were not in the Mallory Square vicinity - so commercial. If you like spending quite time in luxurious, tropical surroundings this hotel is for you. My only complaint is that morning coffee did not include decaf, but I suspect that next trip the staff will accomodate me if i ask.

Room Tip: Our room was #17 and was located such that it provided no view of the pool area and was very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradise_dweller541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our first time in Key West and we reserved a Junior Suite. It had a very large patio which we loved and stayed out on all the time. The rooms were very nice, had some character and the bathroom was large. We had an issue with hot water in the shower and the staff took care of it immediately.

Also, I had a case of motion sickness after taking a sea plane trip that day. My husband called the front desk to ask for some bread from the restaurant (bread is the only thing that helps my nausea) and it was literally delivered in 2 minutes!

Highly recommend. If you love sitting out on a balcony or patio, then definitely upgrade to the junior suite, it's worth it. The pools are very nice as well. So private.

Room Tip: Junior suites, ask for one with larger balcony. We were in room 6. I think it had the largest patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We really enjoyed this intimate hotel, which was wonderfully located just a couple of blocks from all the action, but quiet and tranquil. As soon as we checked in, Hubert at the front desk sat with us to recommend places to dine and visit, and offered us a welcome glass of wine. Our deluxe poolside room was spacious and bright. We had all of the desired amenities--even a large umbrella that proved very handy during a pop-up tropical shower!

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room, and request Room 2--even though it is right next to the hotel office, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We got one of the last rooms in the place, a standard room. There are about 16 rooms in the hotel, roughly half have a patio. It would have been very nice to have one of those.
The one complaint I have about our room is the air conditioner. The AC for the room had its output right over the bed, consequently the temperature would swing from slightly warm to freezing everytime the AC woud cycle on.

Quick summary:
Excellent staff and location.
Rooms: vary - if I had choose a standard room again, I might look elsewhere - depends on the cost
Fellow Travelers: In general older, during our stay I'd guess the average age was mid 60's
Parking: tight but you dont need a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for one night (February 17, 2014) and loved it. Beautiful room with wonderful linens and bed. Two gorgeous pools surrounded by lush plantings. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet retreat just a block off Duvall. Will definitely stay here the next time in Key West and I hope that is soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a jr suite that was beautiful and spacious. Had continental breakfast at the pool, great blueberry banana bread!
Joe very friendly at front desk. Two pools one heated. A little expensive but the nicest place in key west
Rooms seemed brand new they were so clean

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank traveler3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was a perfect stay. The rooms were well appointed, the grounds a tranquil oasis and the staff always helpful. We were right in the middle of town so we parked the car and walked everywhere. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Make sure you are aware, however, that they do not have parking spaces for all of the rooms. We were lucking enough to get a spot, but otherwise you may be hunting for an alternative.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akimbo103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,709 reviews
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £253 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing