We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools, service and location!”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pools, service and location!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great service, pools and location!! I have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels and this place is great! Wonderful service, aesthetically beautiful, perfect location, 2 pools (one heated), welcome wine, bedtime chocolates, and I believe every room has at least a chair or patio outside there door. Highly recommend for chic city folk visiting Key West!!! It's a diverse crowd, which makes this hotel for everyone. I was with a single girlfriend and male friend and we were very comfortable.

Have fun!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShannonReilly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    106
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
83
713
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I have nothing but compliments for this hotel. The location was amazing, staff was amazing, accommodation was amazing, just a great stay. Sadly, we did not try the restaurant but we will next time. 4 days in paradise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In the heart of Key West. Rented and rode bikes all over the Island. The hotel arranged for our bike rentals and anything else we needed help with. Will come back again soon. Just loved the place. This hotel is also a relatively easy walk to most attractions in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMC1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful grounds, pool, staff, five star restaurant, right in the middle of town. Rented a car and bikes but needed only bikes. Driving only needed to and from the airport. Top notch stay, met so many lovely people. Will return. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in #3 and shared a patio. Might try for room on other side of pool next time, for a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroCeleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was my 3rd stay in Key West but my husband's first and our 18th anniversary. I wanted it to be special. Our room-13 was great. Quiet, well appointed and house keeping is wonderful. The two pools are lovely. We preferred the non- heated one as it was very warm when we were there. But then the last night we were there, the 4 th night things fell apart. It was a Thursday night and the only time I saw this older gentle man on duty. I called at about 5 to say our air conditioning wasn't working. Right away someone came up and looked at the unit and thought they had it working. We went for a swim and upon returning it was even hotter almost 84 in the room. I called again to indicate the air was still not working.they said they would get someone on it. We went to dinner and when we returned the older gentleman somewhat sharply reported the air conditioning was working after I asked. We went to the room and it was not working. I called again and said we would be on the front porch having a bottle of wine while my husband had a cigar. We went back up later and while it was still warm, with the ceiling fan on high we could sleep. Upon leaving this morning the same person indicated he couldn't get a maintenance person last night, after 3 calls from us! He said he tried to find us to place us in a " much nicer room" but didn't know where we were. His manner was so dis missive and uncaring. After 4 lovely days and 3 nights he ruined our experience there. For the money I do think breakfast should be provided. All other staff members were wonderful. This person is not well suited for the hospitality business.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on Simonton. It would be really loud. Facing the pools our on Fleming would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If your happy to spend on quality, this home from home delivers on all fronts. Great rooms, great external space and a team who care. That's it! Shortest review I have ever done but trust me it is excellent.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice. From what I saw they are all of a very very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked the Marquesa for an anniversary trip to Key West based on TripAdvisor reviews and generally enjoyed our stay. The best thing about the place is its location as we left our car in the garage and walked everywhere.

That said, there were two events that clouded our stay. When we arrived, we were shown to room #109, a bright corner room on the front of the building. It would be noisy, I guessed, but we use white noise and that generally makes anything bearable. What was not was the overpowering smell of mold in the room, likely living in the carpeting or the sofa, that smacked me in the face when we entered the room. I have asthma and simply could not breathe (breathing is a good thing) after even a few minutes, so I asked C. J., the very personable and helpful young man who helped us move in, if we could move to another room. He checked and returned to tell us that the only thing left was a junior suite at a considerably higher price. This was late in the day in an unfamiliar place, so we looked at the second room, #15, and agreed to move, which we did. Management made no effort to amend the price or be more accommodating although it wasn’t our fault that they had booked us into an uninhabitable, unhealthful space. We paid a considerable additional price because they did not provide us decent lodging booked at the advertised and agreed upon sum.

The second event was even more unsettling. I placed a small bag containing several pieces of “vacation” jewelry, not the good stuff, but a few favorite things that are fun to wear, in the safe behind the bathroom door when we left one morning. There were two safes in the room, one in the closet floor and one in the bathroom. Apparently, only the bathroom one is actually usable, so I don’t know why the old one remains in place. Anyhow, when we returned to the room and started getting dressed for dinner that evening, I found the safe open and my jewelry vanished. We spend the next hour frantically looking through our suitcases and everywhere in the room for the case. When we walked through the reception area on our way out, I mentioned the missing jewelry to the person on duty, who told me that missing jewelry simply does not happen at the Marquesa. I replied that actually it did. Fortunately, my husband had met C. J. at the front door and told him about this situation. C. J. immediately told us that someone on the staff had cleaned out the safe earlier that day and might have my belongings. He would check. When we returned from dinner, the manager had my bag in hand. If C. J. had not been present and able to tell us what was going on, we would have contacted the police and had quite a bit of uproar, all because management did not tell us about clearing the safe. As it was I had some very rough hours, and it never would have occurred to me that the safe had been cleared out by staff.

So, the Marquesa is a pleasant, convenient place to stay, with a small but attractive garden, enhanced by hanging baskets of orchids, and two small swimming pools, one heated, one not. We stayed busy being travelers, but we enjoyed what time we had to relax in the garden and in our room. We also liked being so close to its sister restaurant, right around the corner. I hope management will take care of the horrible mold situation as it really is a significant health issue, and I hope they will try to communicate better when their actions impact guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lakegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing