We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

6/1/14: The Marquesa Hotel demonstrates the impeccable attention to detail required for fine innkeeping. David took our very late request for accommodations and was able to help us out by putting us into the lovely Junior Suite (#5). The room was handsomely outfit with tasteful furniture and every amenity seemed perfectly chosen and placed in the room.

David went on to help us with our dinner reservation at the Café Marquesa (which was equally as great) and help us narrow down a couple of evening entertainment ideas – even going so far as pop in to get us show times after we’d wandered over for our dinner reservation.

These folks really “get it” and it shows. From the big stuff to the little niceties, they nailed every one of them.

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 - a junior suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    104
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
694
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I first came across the Marquesa Hotel in 2001 while staying at another nearby hotel and right away admired the tasteful restoration and adaptation of this 19th-century structure, something that I always appreciate when visiting a preservation district like Key West's Old Town.

Four years ago we stayed there for the first time in one of the standard rooms overlooking the pool area. The gardens and two pools are a tropical delight, and the experience of stepping out onto the deck at first light to be bathed in the soft warmth of Key West before the heat of the day is a marvelous experience. I know waking up early can be a challenge on vacations, but it's worth it wherever you stay in Key West.

We just returned a few days ago from our second stay at Marquesa Hotel. This is worth noting because I almost alway say to my wife "Let's come back here someday" whenever we stay at a place we enjoy -- and we never do. Marquesa is now the exception.

Part of the reason we returned, after considering some other hotels and inns, was the location: just two blocks north (or is it east?) of Duval Street, Key West's main drag, and in easy walking distance to landmarks such as Sloppy Joe's bar, Hemingway's house, Mallory Square (the gathering point for watching the sun set), dozens of restaurants, or even Southernmost Point if you're feeling ambitious.

This time we stayed in a standard room in the main building -- the only one available when we made the reservation. It was comfortable and well-appointed. However, my wife had the presence of mind to ask for an upgrade, to which the person who checked us in said we could if we didn't mind changing rooms midweek. We made the switch and were glad we did, since we ended up with a junior suite, a king-size bed, two-sink bathroom, and a pool-side entrance and outside lounge area, where we ate breakfast one morning.

My only complaint -- our room was on the ground floor and apparently a brontosaurus was in the room above -- an insomniac one at that. Although I usually tumbled into bed at night exhausted after a day of running around all day in the sun, I was disturbed once or twice by the heavy footsteps of the beast above us. (Then again, the same happens at home sometimes, not that I'm happy about that either). I'm not sure there's anything to be done about this, since this is an older property and there are obviously some limitations to what can be done to isolate one room from another. So, in the grand scheme of things, I see this as a forgivable glitch, but not everyone might be so tolerant.

When we left this time, rather that saying we needed to come back, I asked my wife if she would like to stay at Marquesa again. She gave an unequivocal, yes.

Room Tip: As noted in my review, ask for an upgrade if available…and ask for a second floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful, friendly staff always making sure you have everything you need 24/7. Rooms are wonderful and large. They have fresh coffee in am poolside and fresh ice water or tea all afternoon. They even will keep your bags after check out and allow you to shower if your transportation was later in the day- Loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janetkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked my room on the advise of other reviewers, and it leaves a bit to be desired. The building is really beautiful, well appointed. Rooms are a bit small. I was in a room at the front of the building, so a lot of traffic noise, all day and night. Location was great, just two blocks off of Duval Street. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. There is guest parking, a big plus in a area with limited on street parking. Has restaurant on site, but a bit pricey. Had a problem with the toilet running all the time, told desk but they never sent anyone to repair it. Also the air conditioner was making a strange noise. Room had a balcony, but it was just too hot to use it. Location is a big plus, but was a overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for court side room, not on road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paule E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is pure class. Beautiful decor and old island charm. Close to Duval street. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Beautiful secluded poor area, with two pools. Sort of a hidden oasis in the heart of old town. Great restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms in rear out building overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For starters, the Marquesa Hotel has a great location, a block from Duval Street close enough to walk to the Southernmost ocean point of Key West and back to all the great boutiques and restaurants. The old world charm of this 19th century conch house has been maintained with their beautiful room renovations. We were fortunate (and surprised) that our deluxe accommodations were upgraded to the 3rd floor suite by CJ and David because of last minute availability. It was wonderful, bright, spacey and filled with many quality amenities. It was just as surprising to see the inside court yards with 2 splendid pools surrounded by comfortable lounging chairs and gardens...just loved their collection of orchids. This is a place we would not hesitate to go back to should the call of Key West hit us again.

Room Tip: Loved the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSuzanneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in Key West where we stayed at the Marquesa. You would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay if you are looking for personalized service, impeccable accommodations and a relaxing environment near the heart of downtown activities. The courtyard offers you a quiet respite from the street life of key West. And, only two blocks from Duval Street means you are in the "action" a few steps from your door. A great place to stay. The staff was very attentive to ensure our stay was pleasant. Truly a place to keep in mind for return trips.

Room Tip: Didn't see a fitness center or spa, but they had two pools. One was heated. The only limitation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodJunkieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing