We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oasis in Key West”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis in Key West”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a poolside room with an upper balcony , fantastic room in the beautiful period hotel a stones throw away from Duval St. Within minutes walk to most sites of interest .
Two pools and only 27 rooms means that you virtually have a pool to yourself . Free wifi means you can stay in touch with home at no cost !
Staff were first class and knowledgeable even suggesting restaurants to suit prefererances even though the Marquessa has its own restaurant.
Complimentary poolside coffee each morning and iced tea/water all day . Plentiful supply of free towels and enough sun beds .
Thought it may be noisy but with having a pool side room as long as the bathroom door was closed never heard the traffic to the front on Simmington. Rooms were spacious , clean , well furnished and beds turned down each evening at your required time .
Staff even recommend moving over the mini bar contents so you can use the room refrigerator for your own drinks from the supermarket 2 mins away .
Free on site car parking , and in Key West parking is a distinct advantage !
Not the cheap by any means but you only get what you pay for in life !

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for room opening on to the poolside . Upper ones get more sun on veranda ! $2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    104
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
694
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is our 4th trip to this WONDERFUL hotel.. Being in Key West and having a place to get off the beaten path was fantastic. The staff could not have been nicer and the Carriage Suites were delightful. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who want to relax and be pampered. A piece of heaven can be found at the Marquesa... Jodi and Bob

Room Tip: All are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely looking hotel in Key West. We had a great stay for 2 nights in May. Very good service, very clean and good activity and restaurant recommendation. The pools were great too. We were in a poolside room in the main house with a shared patio and loved the fact we could just almost step out and into the pool. And an added bonus was that water and juice is provided by the pool. The only downside was the air con was quite noisy. The Cafe Marquesa was a great restaurant too with amazing service and food.

Room Tip: The only thing about being poolside is that you couldn't lie in that well with people talking by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After TONS of research, we settled on this hidden gem due to the location, ratings, and history. This place is pure magic and the pictures don't do it justice. We had a Junior Suite, and it was more than enough room for my husband and I. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool for our morning coffee and afternoon brews. The courtyard complete with two pools and gardens were immaculate! Perfect location - just off Duval street without the noise and a short walk to Pepe's (where we ate twice!) Honestly, when we checked out I had to hold back tears. Such a beautiful place and I was so sad to leave. Thank you Marquesa! I hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was lovely, but not necessary. You hardly spend anytime in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

6/1/14: The Marquesa Hotel demonstrates the impeccable attention to detail required for fine innkeeping. David took our very late request for accommodations and was able to help us out by putting us into the lovely Junior Suite (#5). The room was handsomely outfit with tasteful furniture and every amenity seemed perfectly chosen and placed in the room.

David went on to help us with our dinner reservation at the Café Marquesa (which was equally as great) and help us narrow down a couple of evening entertainment ideas – even going so far as pop in to get us show times after we’d wandered over for our dinner reservation.

These folks really “get it” and it shows. From the big stuff to the little niceties, they nailed every one of them.

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 - a junior suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I first came across the Marquesa Hotel in 2001 while staying at another nearby hotel and right away admired the tasteful restoration and adaptation of this 19th-century structure, something that I always appreciate when visiting a preservation district like Key West's Old Town.

Four years ago we stayed there for the first time in one of the standard rooms overlooking the pool area. The gardens and two pools are a tropical delight, and the experience of stepping out onto the deck at first light to be bathed in the soft warmth of Key West before the heat of the day is a marvelous experience. I know waking up early can be a challenge on vacations, but it's worth it wherever you stay in Key West.

We just returned a few days ago from our second stay at Marquesa Hotel. This is worth noting because I almost alway say to my wife "Let's come back here someday" whenever we stay at a place we enjoy -- and we never do. Marquesa is now the exception.

Part of the reason we returned, after considering some other hotels and inns, was the location: just two blocks north (or is it east?) of Duval Street, Key West's main drag, and in easy walking distance to landmarks such as Sloppy Joe's bar, Hemingway's house, Mallory Square (the gathering point for watching the sun set), dozens of restaurants, or even Southernmost Point if you're feeling ambitious.

This time we stayed in a standard room in the main building -- the only one available when we made the reservation. It was comfortable and well-appointed. However, my wife had the presence of mind to ask for an upgrade, to which the person who checked us in said we could if we didn't mind changing rooms midweek. We made the switch and were glad we did, since we ended up with a junior suite, a king-size bed, two-sink bathroom, and a pool-side entrance and outside lounge area, where we ate breakfast one morning.

My only complaint -- our room was on the ground floor and apparently a brontosaurus was in the room above -- an insomniac one at that. Although I usually tumbled into bed at night exhausted after a day of running around all day in the sun, I was disturbed once or twice by the heavy footsteps of the beast above us. (Then again, the same happens at home sometimes, not that I'm happy about that either). I'm not sure there's anything to be done about this, since this is an older property and there are obviously some limitations to what can be done to isolate one room from another. So, in the grand scheme of things, I see this as a forgivable glitch, but not everyone might be so tolerant.

When we left this time, rather that saying we needed to come back, I asked my wife if she would like to stay at Marquesa again. She gave an unequivocal, yes.

Room Tip: As noted in my review, ask for an upgrade if available…and ask for a second floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful, friendly staff always making sure you have everything you need 24/7. Rooms are wonderful and large. They have fresh coffee in am poolside and fresh ice water or tea all afternoon. They even will keep your bags after check out and allow you to shower if your transportation was later in the day- Loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janetkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#6 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing