We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Marquesa Hotel, a boutique hotel, is the perfect romantic getaway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
manchester,vt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Marquesa Hotel, a boutique hotel, is the perfect romantic getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Management is very helpful with suggestions of things to do, where to dine, and directing their guests around Key West. The Marquesa Cafe offers great evening diining. Continental breakfast, an additional fee, is served in the guests rooms - or weather permitting - on the guests patios. The central courtyard is very private, sheltered, and quiet. Water, iced tea, and towels are set out daily for guests to enjoy while in the courtyard enjoying sun, shade, or swimming in one of two pools. One pool is heated and one not. The hotel sits back from Duval St by a couple of blocks in a quiet, historic, residential area. A true gem.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    102
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
682
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Marquesa Hotel is perfection. It is the standard. Which is not to say you don’t pay top dollar for the privilege of being a guest - you do, but it is not a regrettable expense. And while you are spending, do spring for one of the Jr. Suites. Go on - you've earned it.

This visit was our second stay and certainly won't be our last. If I need to drive the point home, there is this: I am not even a particular fan of Key West, but I am a fan of the Marquesa. I'd like to say the biggest fan, but it seems that almost everyone who stays there is a repeat customer which is a positive review in itself.

The Marquesa is private and quiet and clean - no spotless - and sumptuous and adult. And the staff really gives the impression taht they really love working there. And a hotel policy even gently recommends that guests avoid poolside cell phone conversations - my heroes!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheinput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

This is a well done bed and breakfast large enough to provide some hotel-like services. Physically beautify, a luxuriant courtyard with two pools, one heated, rooms with great key west decor.
The problem is that at least the new construction wing has no noise insulation. These are the largest and most expensive rooms. A simple conversation in the room next door is clearly audible. At all hours. This is really a big issue. Of the four couples there when we checked in, three complained and one moved.
I'd avoid these rooms for this reason.
The Marquesa Cafe is one of the really good restaurants there - book well ahead (like a week or more) - same with Louie's.
"Room service" is a continental breakfast. That's it. Well stocked and ridiculously overpriced mini-bar but a good grocery is a half block away, and great little restaurants all around.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSSinCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

As many of you know, there many choices of accomodations in Key West. Living in South Florida, Key West is our "mandatory" vacation place, but we do not take anything for granted when it comes to the accommodations. We have stayed at the Marquesa 7 times in the last 5 years and we NEVER been dissapointed by the staff or the property in general. This hotel is absolutely beautiful with well appointed rooms, it is truly an oassis. Most of the comments here are very positive but then again you can never please everyone. Fantasy Fest is by far the most popular "holiday" on the island and if you are going you must make reservations several months ahead and sometimes a year in advance depending as to where you want to stay. If you are going to cancel your reservation it needs to be done 60 days prior to your arrival, please read the hotel policy on their web site. The 60 day policy for cancellation is the concensus on the island, period. At The Marquesa children over 14 are welcome, younger children are not. Not often, but guest disregard this policy and arrive with small children what is the manangement to do if there is not a possiblity of finding other arrangements? It is a quandary and I would not want to be in that possition. I personally never had to worry about that one. Like I said before, one can never please everyone but at The Marquesa they try in more ways than one and I for one would not stay anywhere else and by the way the restaurant stands up to any fine dinnig establishment in Miami or Palm Beach but less pretentious. The hotel and restaurant is the best of the best in Key West. Something that all potential guest should be aware off: This hotel IS not for the frat crowd and/or singles doing the Duval Crawl, so if this what you want or need to do The Marquesa is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We LOVE this place! We found the Marquesa on our fourth trip to Key West and now it's the only place we stay when we go back. We eloped and married on the beach there several years ago, so KW has a very special place in our hearts. To us the Marquesa is quintessential Key West. The location is perfectly situated to all the bars, restaurants and activities you could want or need. Park the car once you arrive (for free) and never move it again until you leave. You're half a block from a great little grocery store and 2 short blocks from Duval. The restaurant on site is fantastic and the bar is very cozy. The service at the hotel is perfect - catering yet unobtrusive. Free wine at check in certainly helps you settle in too. Newspaper of choice is available every morning. The Chinese takeout across the street is among the best I've ever had. The pools at the hotel are incredible - private in a gorgeous setting with all the ice cold tea and water you can hold. The rooms are very finely appointed and the bathrooms fairly spacious with high end touches. Consistently awesome!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank careerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I made reservations online but needed to cancel, which I also did online, 6 weeks before my scheduled stay. My cancellation was confirmed, I even received a cancellation confirmation number! Several weeks later I noticed that the Marquesa had not refunded by deposit, over $2200. I called the hotel and was informed that they were aware of my cancellation but would not refund my deposit. During that specific week (Fantasy Fest), they had a 60 day cancellation policy, rather than the usual 30 days. End of story: The Marquessa kept my entire deposit. Well, I never saw the 60 day cancellation fine print. More importantly, Marquesa Hotel did not contact me to verify my cancellation and make sure I knew that they intended to keep the deposit. Seems to me this would be standard business practice given the large deposit and amended cancellation policy. This may be a high-end boutique hotel but their business dealings are on the shady side. Sorry Marquesa, your greedy behavior may legal but it is most certainly dishonest. Buyer beware.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
47 Thank travrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Marquesa is a quiet, clean hotel with two pools and is within walking distance of major KW attractions. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff was more than accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenaciousA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing