We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We spend three wonderful days at the Marquesa Hotel, nicely located to walk around the town, large confortable room decorated with taste, two swimming pools, nice garden, free parking and good service. They have also a restaurant good but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Marquesa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

Just returned from three nights in paradise at the Marquesa. This was our third visit and the place is just like going to heaven but you do not have to die for the honor. Beautiful room, great garden and two wonderful pools, attentive and friendly staff who take care of all your needs with a smile. One of the best places you could ever stay. The term "first rate" is an understatement when applied here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gideon749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The Marquesa is as relaxing and inviting as we imagined. Although you pay top dollar, the money is well spent if you want relaxation, top quality accomodations, and outstanding personal service.
The location is close to the action, yet tucked away on a quiet street. We stayed 4 nights and could have closed up our real lives and stayed forever.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpscaleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Just got back from staying four days at the marquesa hotel in key west. Everything was top notch from the beautiful rooms,incredible attentive staff,wonderful location and the food at the cafe was truly delicious...even my husband,who is a finiky eater,loved the food. The entire stay was relaxing and totally stress free..would love to go back every year!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseysueOrlando_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 6 day stay, along with friends, at the best hotel we've ever visited. This was our fourth winter getaway to the Marquesa and it is a consistent delight! We were welcomed with an offer of a glass of wine and our room had a beautiful fresh orchid to give us a sense of the tropics after our harsh snowy winter. Our second floor poolside room shared a deck with a similar room which was occupied by our friends. Each morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast brought to the deck in minutes from the time it was ordered.

The hotel has two pools in a courtyard garden which is serene and quiet. Iced tea and ice water is always available as are plenty of towels and lounges. We always have dinner at the Cafe Marquesa on our final night in Key West, calling it the Grande Finale, and grand it was. The four of us had a fabulous meal from start to finish, and a thoughtful server.

The best part of the Marquesa experience is the incredible staff. They make a point of getting to know their guests and their interests. No request is too big. The staff make our dinner reservations in advance every year, then provide us with a summary of our places and dates (and are happy to make last minute changes and provide recommendations). Carol, the managing partner, is always available for a chat, as are Bob, the manager, and staff Mary, Sean, and Dennis.

This year it took us over two days of cancelled flights and rental cars to arrive in Key West, yet the moment we disembarked at the Marquesa, all of the stress just vanished. We felt as if we were home, but in a home that pampers its occupants with luxury and the best of the human spirit. We already have our booking made for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalamitySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We stayed many times before at this high-reputation hotel, but returning this Feb with friends we found that the mid-range price was now extended to the cheaper rooms. This means that although you book requesting the quiet rooms over-looking the pool, you can be swapped into either the smallest rooms on the pool or the noisy rooms in the old building.

We had rooms 7 and 9 in the old house. Beautiful rooms, but 9 is right over the restaurant and was extremely noisy until 3am with the machinery, and 7 is at the stop-light of Fleming/Simonton and so has roaring engines all through the night. At over 400 dollars a night, having to take sleeping pills to get any chance of sleep is appalling.

Our complaint was handled with shrugs of 'well, it's a noisy town' but we have stayed 4 times before and never had a noisy room. We were booked for March also, asked which rooms we had been given and found it was the same two, so we asked to be swapped out. They could only swap one room with an additional charge of 120USD+ per night. No attempt was made to retain our business until after I canceled the future booking. It hurt to know that now I was taking back the deposit they COULD make amends, but otherwise no effort would be made. I have a feeling that if you complain the most loudly of all the guests staying then you might get what you want, whilst some other poor soul is put into the punishment rooms.

Know if you book here that you do not want rooms 7, 8 or 9, for noise (I don't know if the other rooms in the house have the same problem, but it IS likely) and that rooms 2,3,4,12 & 13 are very small.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SunnieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Management is very helpful with suggestions of things to do, where to dine, and directing their guests around Key West. The Marquesa Cafe offers great evening diining. Continental breakfast, an additional fee, is served in the guests rooms - or weather permitting - on the guests patios. The central courtyard is very private, sheltered, and quiet. Water, iced tea, and towels are set out daily for guests to enjoy while in the courtyard enjoying sun, shade, or swimming in one of two pools. One pool is heated and one not. The hotel sits back from Duval St by a couple of blocks in a quiet, historic, residential area. A true gem.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £204 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing