We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Suites Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The value for money is low considering the room amenities.

Free wifi is present but the router is not able to sustain the amount of devices connected.

The room and furniture have very old designs.

Upon entering the room smells terrible.

The room is spacious, my family of 5 easily fit in the room.

The swimming pool is great as well as the lake with the fish and turtles, which provided entertainment.

There were insufficient towels for us during our swim which was quite inconvenient.

The gym is good enough but is missing a treadmill, the layout of machines is aweful.

The elevator is very slow... veryy... slow...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Omar C:

Thank your for choosing Sunrise Suites for your Key West accommodations. We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool during your visit. We only wish that you had stopped by or called the Front Desk during your visit as it would have been our pleasure to supply you with some more towels for the pool. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of installing a new system for the WiFi in effort to help enhance our guest experience at Sunrise Suites. We all know how important a reliable internet connection can be. We hope you enjoyed your time on the island and hope you return again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    159
    62
    18
    27
See reviews for
192
74
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although accommodations were adequate rooms were in need of updating. Furniture showed definite signs of age. Mattresses need to be changed. Sofa mattress was horrible. No support at all. Mattresses all sagged in the middle and you felt every spring.
Place was clean but could use painting inside the apartment and on the outside as well.
Grounds were well maintained and clean.
Service was excellent.
Wifi was non existent 90% of the time. Tried to log on constantly but was successful only for a few minutes most of the time.
Wish that dogs weren't allowed on the premises. Owners should be held responsible for cleaning up after their dogs. I personally saw dogs being walked and owners not scooping their poop. One day smell by the pool was so nauseating we had to report it to the front desk to have it cleaned up. It was done immediately. Thank god.
Our stay for the most part was adequate.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have as much noise from ground floor parking and traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac13Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ac13Toronto:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that your expectations with your stay were not met. However, you will be pleased to know that we have a brand new internet system being put in at Sunrise Suites and we have a new company installing the WiFi. We know reliable internet is a very valuable amenity for our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you had a wonderful time in Key West overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal City, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent 5 days at Sunrise Suites. Great property, great pool. Room was so nice and clean with plenty of room for 5 people. Kitchen had everything we needed. Loved the grill for burgers and dogs. The ladies at the front desk were so helpful and kind. Will definitely stay again, will not even look anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, General Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Laureen D:

Thank you for choosing Sunrise Suites Resort for your accommodations for your Key West vacation. We truly appreciate the excellent review! Kasia and Iana were more than happy to be of your assistance. They always appreciate their hard work being recognized. We are ecstatic to have gained you as a loyal guest and we look forward to your future visits. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a nice time at Keywest this July 4 weekend, The place is awesome and just a stone throw away from Keywest Int'l airport.

Great Rooms, Fully equipped kitchen and nice swimming pool as well. Enjoyed staying here for 3 days.

Cons: Carpets, sofa in living room was not perfectly cleaned, less parking space so if you reach late you will have hard time in finding a parking space,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Vivek P:

Thank you for the excellent review! We are ecstatic that you had a wonderful time celebrating the 4th of July weekend here in Key West. Many of our guests, such as yourselves, appreciate the fully equipped rooms and the amenities that we have to offer. It always makes for a more comfortable stay. We hope that the next time you visit Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Sunrise. Both were great stays for the Nominal difference in cost vs a hotel and the convenience of having room to stretch. Vila was clean. Property was well maintained and clean. Only problem we had was arriving late in the night and having the wrong villa number on the booking confirmation which led to a half hour search at midnight tyring to find the villa number given. But part was my fault because I didn't see the enclosed map until after that. Will definitely recommend the property to others and would book there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jammink92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jammink92014:

We are delighted that you decided to come stay with us again at Sunrise Suites! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We truly appreciate your future recommendations to your friends and family. We'll be looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family of 6 stayed here for 2 nights. I had looked around for a while and seen mixed reviews, but in the end I decided to book here anyways. Check in process was quick and easy. When we got to our room, though, we discovered just how outdated the unit was. The TV’s were the old huge tube televisions. The décor in the rooms was outdated as well. The bathrooms looked like dingy and like we had just stepped back into the early 90’s. The website also stated that there was free wi-fi, but I think the wi-fi worked for maybe 30 minutes of our time there. So don’t depend on it. All was not bad, though.
The good thing about the hotel was that the cost wasn’t backbreaking. It was a good value for Key West (from what I seen) and the location wasn’t TOO bad. It definitely wasn’t close to where the action is (Duval Street) so if you want to visit / hang out in this area and don’t have a car, then definitely choose another hotel. It also had two bedrooms. My boyfriend and I shared one bedroom and then our two older daughters shared the other….the two younger kids got stuck with the sleeper sofa, which they complained was really uncomfortable. So it was roomy and would have been good for about 4 people, but I think with 6 it was a little cramped. I also liked that they had a fridge, microwave, and stove in the room because it allowed us to grab a few snacks for the kids in case they got hungry.

If you’re going to be in Key West and are looking for a cheap hotel and aren’t really going to be in the hotel room for very long (and I mean long at all) then I would say you can do this hotel….otherwise, I would recommend staying elsewhere. I, personally, wouldn’t stay here again. It was just too old. I’m not very picky with hotels because we usually don’t stay in there too much anyways, but I would definitely choose a different hotel if I ever went back to Key West.

Oh, and the rooms did smell weird (old / musty) as other reviewers had mentioned.

Room Tip: The wi-fi is basically non-existent....well at least it was in the room we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear sylvia2381:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid response about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that you were unhappy. While we know we aren't exactly close to downtown, we hope you were able to take advantage of Smather's Beach that is within walking distance from Sunrise Suites. Although your stay with us did not meet your expectations, we hope your trip to Key West was wonderful overall. Make sure to visit our lovely island again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We hunted around for a while trying to find a place to stay in Key West that didn't charge extra because we had 5 people. This place fit the bill and also had enough space for all of us in one Condo. The space was nicely decorated and everything you could want was there for the kitchen. The bathrooms were a little dated but very functional.

There was a lack of lighting, no ceiling lights, all lamps. One of the three TVs in our condo didn't work, but we weren't there enough to really have it bother us. One thing that is really bringing down the rating is the wifi. It is free, however we had a ton of issues getting our phones and laptop to connect and stay connected. I'm not sure if they were having comcast come fix the wifi during our visit as there were trucks there every day but this was the only big issue we had with our four night stay (June 30-July 2)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriseSuites, Manager at Sunrise Suites Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Emily I:

Thank you for choosing Sunrise Suites for your accommodations during your visit to Tropical Key West! We are thrilled that our condo was large enough to accommodate your party of five. Thank you for notifying us of the issue with the TV. We'll be sure to take care of it immediately. We apologize for the issues you had with the WiFi. As you had suspected, Comcast was there troubleshooting the issue. We hope the next time you plan on visiting Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites Resort

Property: Sunrise Suites Resort
Address: 3685 Seaside Dr, Key West, FL 33040-5225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Suites Resort is a "condo-tel" which features 48 separate 2-Bed, 2-Bath suites. The resort is located in "New Town" Key West near world famous "Smathers Beach" as well as the Key West International Airport. The resort features free parking, free daily housekeeping, free WiFi, and a complimentary shuttle service. Guests love the huge heated pool and hot tub as well as the intriguing wild life that lives on the property, including turtles, fish, iguanas, and ducks! Business hours are from 9 AM to 8 PM from Monday to Friday and 9 AM to 6 PM on Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Key West
Sunrise Suites Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing