We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is great”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lovely rooms. Ours seemed recently renovated and looked over the ocean, great location, you are on Duval Street and Sunset Pier. The pool and hot tub are beautiful, you can watch the sunset from the pool. The restaurant is a great place for all your meals or even and afternoon iced tea (of course it overlooks the water). Call the hotel directly when making reservations they may be able to give you better rates. The spa and gym looked nice even though we didn't use them. It feels like a boutique hotel and we didn't see many kids. Easy to get taxi to and from airport.

Room Tip: I always check out the hotel web page first and then call n talk with the staff. They know what room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Darcey1971,

We're happy to learn you enjoyed your time at Ocean Key Resort! We strive to create an ideal vacationing atmosphere, and it's clear you experienced that and the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on. Thank you for reviewing our resort, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,784
    516
    174
    71
    45
See reviews for
444
1,517
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here the second week of August as the capper to our honeymoon. We absolutely LOVED Ocean Key. I would say one of it's strongest points, is it's location. It is right at the end of Duval, right next to Mallory Square, where everyone gathers at night to watch the famous Key West sunsets. You're a stone's throw to many of Key West's main attractions and if you're too far, the front desk is more than ready to help you with a taxi, bike or car rentals.

The room we had was lovely, with a view of Mallory Square, the ocean and the pool. The rooms are cute and decorated very "Key West" in my opinion. The bed was quite comfortable and the room stayed relatively dark with the curtains closed.

The restaurants at Ocean are excellent, especially Hot Tin Roof. We found it recommended in many Key West guides and it didn't disappoint. Incredible views, creative and delicious dishes, romantic ambiance and good service.

The pool here is quite small, and I imagine that it is packed during the winter months. Other than that, the seating is comfortable, the Liquid Lounge is great and they even walked around offering pool guest frozen towels occasionally!

The one downside I do have to mention is the noise. It certainly isn't overly noisy, but the since the halls are tiled, when anyone rolls their luggage or housekeeping rolls their cart through the halls, you hear it. You can also hear talking from the halls and music from the square until about 11pm. The noise at night didn't bother my husband and I but I did find I woke up every morning to the sound of housekeeping's carts.

Overall we loved Ocean Key and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear KayFri,

We're pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Key and our accommodations and amenities met your standards! However, we're sorry to learn the noise was bothersome, and we'll pass along your thoughts to management. Thank you for reviewing Ocean Key, and we look forward to hosting you and your husband again for another fun-filled, Key West vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Ocean Key. We could not have chosen a better location on Key West. We had booked a single ocean view room, however at check-in, we were upgraded to the fifth floor Presidential Suite. The suite was beautiful with fabulous views of the ocean overlooking Sunset Pier and Malory Square. We ate breakfast on the patio while watching the ships glide by. The service was also excellent as the entire staff is friendly, knowledgeable, courteous, polite and eager to please. Thank you for such a wonderful and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We upgraded our room and had a view to die for! We watched the sunset from our balcony,this must be the best location for a hotel on Key West.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for your review of Ocean Key Resort! We're thrilled to learn you enjoyed your vacation and your accommodations! We hope to see you again soon for another "to die for" vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skellytown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a room overlooking Mallory Square. Loved the balcony! The bathroom alone was the size some other hotel rooms in KW( large open shower and jacuzzi tub ). Really comfortable beds with fluffy pillows. You really feel safe in the entire complex area. A little on the pricey side for most people even with discounts but it was worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roper97414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and post a photo. We hope to see you at our resort again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here in July with our 14yr old son. We had booked a double roomthrough our tour operator but when we arrived we found ourselves in a two bedroom suite with jacuzzi bath, our son had his own bedroom and TV. The room overlooked Mallory Square and had a balcony. The rooms here were quieter than those ovelooking Duval Street. Room was very spacious and had excellent maid service.
The location of the hotel and pool afforded great views over the harbour at Key West and was very convenient for Duval Street and other sights. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Only downsides were that the pool was rather crowded at the Weekends and $20 compulsory Valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cropwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Cropwell,

Thank you for writing this excellent review! We’re glad to hear that you and your son had a great time staying with us in July. We’re happy you enjoyed your complimentary room upgrade and the wonderful views of Key West. We hope to have you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have family in the Keys and frequently visit, but don't usually stay in hotels. We had a destination wedding in Key West and planned it at the Ocean Key. The rooms were large. The location is great. The service and staff was excellent. Hot Tin Roof restaurant service was excellent. The Pier Bar restaurant had spotty service and just ok food for the price. I would have rated the hotel higher, but it is expensive. The Pier House Hotel next door was $100 per night cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear robinett77,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Congratulations on your marriage! We are honored that you chose Ocean Key Resort as your wedding venue. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the location and staff. We hope to have you back for your anniversary next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing