We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

2nd trip to Key West but 1st to this hotel. Booked a 1 bed sea view suite, well worth the money. Staff are lovely and genuinely can't do enough for you. Loved our 3 night stay can't wait to go back but just me and my husband next time. Anyone thinking of getting married abroad should seriously consider this hotel. Best time of the year to come is end of January to end of February.

Room Tip: The 1 bed suites have the biggest beds ever, we had to step on the wooden bed frame to climb in, I f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay! We take pride in our staff and are very happy that they gave you the best treatment. We strive to give every guest the best experience possible. We look forward to seeing you and your husband back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    502
    170
    70
    44
See reviews for
431
1,500
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weirton, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I just got back. 7/27/12.. Had an oceanfront suite and it was beautiful. Really spectacular view and atmosphere. It is not cheap. Expensive actually. I don't vacation a whole lot so I splurged. My room overlooked the ocean and had the pier below with a small band usually playing until 9. Then nothing - quiet. The best part is the location. If you like being close to the action, Duval st., this is perfect.
I enjoyed my stay in Key West and this room only made it better......

Room Tip: I honestly don't know about any other rooms...but the one I had, an oceanfront suite 511, was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Considering you are selective with where you vacation, we are especially grateful that you decided to spend your vacation with us. We take pride in our convenient location, and we are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of that. We're also happy to hear you were able to enjoy the ocean view! It sounds as if these positives were able to contribute to an overall wonderful stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

From the moment we walked in the front door until the time we left I felt like every person and staff member of Ocean Key was working exclusively for me. The moment we walked in and said our names the keys were right there and Charlie was already putting the few bags we had on a cart. I said I could easily carry them, but Charlie would have none of it, not letting me touch the bags until they were in our room. And the room! I just can't imagine a better hotel room being available in Key West. Our balcony(!) looked over the pool, Mallory Square, and the Sunset - all at the same time. The living room was huge and well-appointed, the bed was beyond comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was heaven. We ate two meals at Hot Tin Roof, and both times were blown away. If you like breakfast, do yourself the biggest favor and go there for the benedict. And the coconut toast. And the fresh fruit bowl. Aaaaand the cappucino, all served up by the consummate professional Oleg. The small plates at dinner were wonderful and I couldn't believe the prices were as reasonable as they were, given the sky-high quality of the property itself. We had several plates, and Oleg (again!) was right there timing it all out perfectly so that we had a glorious dinner experience. There is not a single thing I can say about this place that is negative. Every aspect, every staff member, every moment we spent here we'll be talking about with our friends for some time to come. Loved it, and that is probably the biggest understatement I've ever made. Seriously, if you can swing it, this is the place. The Place.

Room Tip: Corner suites are amazing! Ours overlooked the pool, Mallory Square, and the ocean all at once! Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiSoxChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Wow! We are blown away by your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts. We are so appreciative when our guests choose us, and you definitely deserve the exclusive attention. We are so grateful you stayed with us! And thank you for sharing your thoughts on our dining as well! We happen to think that Hot Tin Roof is delicious, and you have us hungry again with those menu suggestions. :) Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Ocean Key has it all! Perfect Location, Amazing Sunset Views, Spectacular Service, Convenience & Comfort...not to mention the unique, lovely decor! This will be my first choice for all Key West trips!

The room was very nice, bed very comfy, staff very friendly & accommodating and breakfast was delicious.

The hotel location is perfect! It's right on Duval St, adjacent to Mallory Square and within walking distance to a variety of excellent restaurants, bars & shops. Of course, if you don't want to leave the resort, the bar & dining options on-site are top notch!

The service provided was excellent. We encountered nothing but helpfulness, smiles & courtesy from the front desk, valet attendant, bellhop and room service.

Room Tip: If you want to see a famous Key West sunset, choose the Deluxe Oceanfront Guestroom. This room also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with others. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. It definitely allows for a fulfilling Key West experience. We're also happy to hear that you found the service and decor to be wonderful! Thank you for sharing your vacation and the sunsets with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Over the years we have always stayed at Ocean Key Resort. Great location, friendly staff, good food and drink, awesome pool, and the best location in Key West. We love staying here just to unwind, relax and rejuvenate. Looking forward to two more trips planned for 2012.

Room Tip: We prefer a room overlooking the pool with view of ocean, but all rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itscrazymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay! We take pride in our staff and are very happy that they gave you the best treatment. We strive to give every guest the best experience possible. We look forward to seeing you and your husband back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

If Papa hadn't bought the house everyone tours up the street, he would've stayed here at the Ocean Key. Right at the foot of Duval Street, you can light out and take in the sights and especially the sounds of Key West. There is literally live music coming from every other establishment. Room Service with Kenneth was terrific, Bellman Charlie Swift -- who, incidentally, should get a promotion -- could not have been more friendly, personable and knowledgeable about all things Key West, and the Front Desk's Hugo made it all happen with a wonderful room. If possible, get one with a balcony overlooking Mallory Square. Every evening just before sunset, the entire town gathers there for a group celebration. You can join in or take it all in from your own private balcony. What a fun town!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
It sounds as if you were able to savor a true Key West experience! Our location in the heart of Key West allows for a fun, exciting stay, and we're so glad you were able to take advantage of it. We are so pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and extremely helpful. We definitely love it here in Key West, and we are so happy that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Having read glorious reviews on trip advisor about Ocean Key, I was really excited about our trip. However when we arrived I couldn't have been more disappointed. My husband & I were holidaying with another couple & arrived on Wednesday afternoon & were shown to our rooms. Given that we both booked the holiday through the same agent on the same booking & paid the exact same price, we were expecting to get the exact same type /standard of room. However on entering both rooms there was a clear distinction between the 2. Our friends had a split level room with separate living & bedroom, a huge hot tub, a dresser, 2 wardrobes in their walkways, a separate bathroom with a shower & a large window & terrace area. In comparison we had a miniature bath with a shower hanging inside, no dresser or separate living area, no hot tub & our wardrobe was in the bathroom next to our toilet. I spoke to reception & the receptionist said she was busy but would look into it. Apparently we had booked a 'standard Queen' & the room that they had provided us with was an upgrade & was a junior suite. For starters our paperwork stated we had a 'superior double room' not a 'Standard Queen' & how you could class both rooms in the same category as a junior suite is beyond me as there was defintely a huge distinction between the 2 rooms. I was then advised that we could 'downgrade' to a queen sized room for an additional $75 per night - I was appalled. Having refused to pay an additional fee for a room of a lower grade, I was then told we could move to this other room FOC & the bellman would be up to see us. The bellman took me & my friend to visit the room & we were shocked by how rude, aggressive & unhelpful he was. He told us that he didn't understand what we were making a fuss about & was clealy irritated by having to show us around & asked us "so are you taking this room or not". His attitude was disgraceful, he clearly had no customer service training...his behaviour reduced me to tears & it wasn't until my husband went by & told him it was unacceptable to speak to women in such a way that he came to apologise. We were then told that there was no other option available to us until the Friday when they could then upgrade us to a room like our friends. We spent the following 2 nights living out of a suitcase because we refused to hang our clothes up in a toilet. We returned on the Friday having re-packed our cases & were then told "sorry we didn't make a note on the system....there's actually no room available now, there's nothing we can do". I was infuriated but the receptionist/s didn't seem to be bothered. At no point in time were we given reassurances or provided with any sort of gesture or compensation, I am utterly disgusted.

The shame of it all is that the hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the harbour & sunset pier in a busy buzzy environment. At sunset people meet at the Pier & there is live music & happy hour. The staff both at the pool area (liquid lounge) & the hot tin roof restaurant couldn't have been more friendly helpful & attentive, they are a real credit to the hotel. 

In my opinion if they genuinely class both rooms as junior suites, then they need to review their standards. We were told that the resort used to be timeshares that were divided up into (not so equal rooms). My warning to any travellers looking to stay would be check in advance what type of room you have & what the room includes. I would also suggest you keep a log of your food & drink as when we went to check-out of the hotel we spotted at $80 mini bar charge to our room which we didn't use. They did remove the charge immediately when we queried it, but we had to ask for a breakdown of costs (which wasn't provided in the initial invoice).
 
The hotel is of a good standard & towels are replenished throughout the day. The pool area is nicely laid out, the design is modern & classy & the sun beds comfy, although the area is a little on the small side & can get busy -  so it can sometimes be difficult to get beds.
 

Room Tip: Check what type of room you have in advance & where te room is located. We were woken each morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are so grateful that you took the time to write such a thorough and informative review. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient, were impressed by our design, and enjoyed our outdoor pool.

However, we are very troubled to hear about your experience with the room misunderstanding and your unfortunate customer service experience. We value our guests very much and never want them to feel as if they are a burden or a trouble. We strive to give our guests the most amazing stay from the second they drive up to the resort. It sounds as if your experience did not meet our expectations. We are deeply apologetic and sorry that this was your experience. We are going to look further into this issue.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Your thoughts are extremely valuable to us and we appreciate that you shared them with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#20 of 51 in Key West
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing