We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 516 is a Dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Room 516 is a Dream!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We didn't do a lot of research about it but as the reviews were good, we went ahead. We were given room 516 in the Mallory building which is Amazing!!! It overlooks both Mallory Square and the ocean to the north. You can watch the sunset from your balcony,and enjoy the music from three different locations. I note that the music ends by 8 or so, so it isn't a problem and if you close your balcony door you won't hear it inside. The room also had a jacuzzi tub that was actually comfortable for two people. The breakfast served on your balcony is absolutely worthwhile (although we ordered one breakfast for two of us as it's quite generous). I was also impressed with the grounds. They don't have a lot of space so the car park is in the middle of the buildings. They have created this garden canopy above it so that you can't see it at all. We had an issue with the internet and they were very diligent about getting it fixed. The staff are lovely. This was a completely wonderful surprise and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 516 has both a west and north ocean view so you can see the sunset. The same room on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdnfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for this review! We are so happy to hear how much you loved your stay with us here at Ocean Key! We love to hear how much enjoyed your room, view, Jacuzzi tub and room service! We thank you again for writing this review. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    499
    168
    69
    43
See reviews for
421
1,484
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

There really isn't anything else to say about the Ocean Key Resort that hasn't already been said, except that the reviews are honest! This resort is truly perfection!

We had a one bedroom suite over Duval that we loved so much! People watching is fantastic and the views of Duval and the water were wonderful! Room service is a MUST as it is an experience and the food is fabulous!

This was our first trip to Key West. Perfect destination and perfect hotel! We won't ever try another hotel, as perfection is hard to beat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so glad that you loved our views and your room over looking Duval Street. We love to hear how much you enjoyed room service and our menu selections! We are pleased that your first trip to Key West was such a positive and memorable one. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This resort blew us away! In every aspect.

It started off when I called them prior to arrival to ask if i could use an image of the $100 resort credit coupon since I don't have a printer. The front desk employee was so kind and actually offered to print one for me and have it wait for me on arrival. And it was there indeed!

We arrived by car and at first considered trying to park ourselves. Absolutely impossible, so we opted for the $22 valet. Very easy and convenient. The location of the resort is amazing..exactly on the Sunset Pier and the top of the fun area, yet not in a super loud place. The lobby was the best one we saw among all the Waldorfs and whatever else in Key West. It had a spa feel and was nicely decorated. Check in was a breeze and wow..we got a free ocean front suite upgrade! We were vacationing for anniversary and for my husband's birthday, so that was just perfect. When we got to the suite we were stunned. It was also a corner one (room 311) and in the bedroom (yep, separate bedroom) the bed was surrounded by ocean view windows. There was a huge balcony over the water with two sets of comfy tables and chairs. The room decor was stunning!

The bathroom was giant. Like a room on its own. Double sinks, jacuzzi with shutters opening to the bedroom, separate toilet and glass shower. Everything was beautiful! The bed was super soft and comfortable. I just can't express how awesome it was.

We were at first a little worried if that awesome location wouldn't mean too much noise from the restaurant and bar downstairs but it did not. And we are really sensitive to noise. The doors and windows are extra noise insulating. It's almost unreal. The bedroom door to the balcony wasn't closing tight so we called downstairs and the repairman came and fixed it in matter of minutes. I just can't say enough about that room and how awesome it was to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the boats and sunset.

Service was excellent all around. We had to ask for razors and extra coffee and both came right away. Cleaning was very diligently done. The gym is small, but nice, clean and efficient. I ran outdoors so used it very little for weights only. It has nice cold water and fresh towels. The pool is beautiful and very convenient. Pool service is very good...you can have your umbrella adjusted any way you like it, get drinks, excellent. Sunset view from the pool is also stunning.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but got drinks and they were fantastic.

If you want to run outdoors, please message me directly for running paths :-))

Exceptional hotel..loved it !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GizelleAnaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for this magnificent and detailed review! We are so happy that our hotel was able to blow you away! We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We hope on your next visit you will be able to enjoy a meal at our restaurant! Thanks again for this review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Absolute Paradise! We went here for our honeymoon, I'd just had a huge drive down to the Keys and was pretty tired, but when we got to our room it was all worth it! Perfect location too, right at the end of Duval Street.

The concierge was great, suggesting some fantastic excursions including a sunset sail around the keys.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We love to hear how much you liked our location on Duval Street! Thanks again for this review. Stop by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I'm not really sure where to start, but this was a perfect hotel experience.
We felt relaxed as soon as we got out of the car, I knew this was going to be a great 25th Anniversary.
The Ocean Key staff exude excellent customer service! The people I need to mention are Charlie, Alex, Patrick, Adam, Paul and Lisa and the entire staff at the pool. I was almost jealous at the fact that I didnt work there, everyone looks very happy to be there and it shows in how they treat their guests. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, beds are so comfortable and my husband is picky about the mattress he sleeps on and he loved it. I enjoyed lunch by the pool, served quickly and hot, the first day I got the jerk Chicken strips they were excellent. the next day I ordered half dozen oysters they were on ice and really good and really cold! The view from the pool was really great, the view from my room on the 3rd floor over looking Mallory square was really, really great but the view from room 514 was outstanding! What a nice surprise for our 25th. The room or whatever you call that unbelievable spot that we got to enjoy for a couple of days was just perfect.. so was the Moet! We can't thank you enough, I believe Lisa and Patrick had there part in the Moet. Another nice surprise.

I can tell you in one word what I like about Ocean Key Resort..... "EVERYTHING"

We will return to Key West, and Ocean Key Resort is my first choice.
Thanks from Pat and Denis (Tuxman)

Room Tip: View of Ocean or Mallory square are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmoquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review! We are so happy you chose to spend such a special occasion with us here at Ocean Key! We will make sure we let all of our staff members know how much you loved their help during your stay! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our amenities such as food, rooms, view and beds! We look forward to your return visit! Thanks again for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We were back in Key West for another vacation and our usual spot was fully booked so we took a chance on The Ocean Key. What a great surprise it was. It began with fantastic pre-trip assistance from Patrick on the concierge desk who made reserving tours, mopeds restaurants etc a breeze and continued upon check in with a warm welcome from everyone we met. Our partial ocean view suite was very spacious with a separate living room from the bedroom and balcony. The spa tub was HUGE and enjoyed almost every night. The property was spacious and the pool area was fantastic. Thanks to Jessica and Chris who made our stay very enjoyable. They are excellent! I have already reviewed Hot Tin Roof (the hotels restaurant) separately so make sure to check that out as it is also fantastic. The Hotel is right at the bottom of Duval so you are in the heart of it all in Key West. Mallory square is next door and you can literally walk out to the fun on the street. The rooms are spacious and the beds are VERY comfortable. Parts of the room could use a little updating and maybe some paint but overall they are just as the pictures show them. One suggestion I have is to replace the sliding "blind" door with a proper solid one on the toilets as it is not very private. The real charm of this hotel is all the staff we met as they really made our stay ! Great job Ocean Key we will be back !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLBDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for this review! We are so happy you picked to stay with us on your trip down to Key West! We are glad you were able to enjoy our location, your view and our spacious rooms! We will make sure Patrick, Jessica and Chris know how much you loved their help during your stay! We want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope you stop by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It is hard to envision a relaxing property right on Duval Street, but by being down by the water it manages to be sufficiently tucked away from the craziness while close enough to never need your car. It really is relaxing and a lovely property with a very accommodating staff (late check-out at no charge was VERY much appreciated). Our suite (404) was charming in décor and spacious. We enjoyed the balcony from which we could see the water and lower Duval Street. Dinner at hot Tin Roof was good with wonderful ambience in both dining room and porch. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool and the friendly staff there. You can stay in the pool and watch the sunset or you can go participate in the fun of Mallory Square at sunset (immediately next door to the hotel). I appreciated the fact that this was a first class full service resort without being huge or corporate. A few minor things could make the rooms more comfortable....better room lighting, provide hooks in the bathroom for wet towels or bathing suits, add a bathroom counter/vanity for keeping toiletries (there is only a wicker double-tiered table), and a thermostat which is not limited to 2 degree increments (I know this sounds picky but we were often too cold or too hot and it was hard to get just right). The concierge (it is not clear if he is a hotel employee and I suspect he may not be) was happy to make arrangements for us but you may want to do your own research on Yelp, Open Table, etc. rather than relying on Concierge for restaurant or attraction recommendations. We would definitely stay at Ocean Key again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for this great review! We love to hear how much you loved your stay with us here at Ocean Key. We will make sure our staff members know how much you appreciate them! We know your kind words will make their day. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our location and amenities we offer here at Ocean Key. Thanks again for this review! Please stop by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing