We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This really is one of my favorite Key West Hotels. The rooms are large and the caribbean decor creates a cozy environment.
As usual, every single staff member had the perfect combination of professionalism and casual friendliness. The food is over-the-top delicious at every venue.
We are locals, but wanted to treat ourselves by staying downtown for New Year's Eve. The fresh smell of pine from the beautifully decorated tree was intoxicating as soon as you entered the lobby. What a joy!!! Pricey during season, but worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SunshineStateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for giving such a wonderful review of Ocean Key! We are so glad you loved your room and the tropical décor, we love it too. Our staff is truly one of a kind and we are so glad you thought so highly of them. There is nothing like a delicious meal to top off a wonderful day with us and, of course, we love holidays and celebrations and are so glad you chose to be with us! We hope to have you back again. ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    492
    166
    66
    41
See reviews for
414
1,441
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room is huge! Jacuzzi right next to your bed! Double sinks outside of the bathroom. Get a room with a view of the water... huge balcony! Every person in that hotel was crazy nice!!! They were very helpful with calling cabs and directing you around the island! Oh, and you can control your temp in the room which was awesome because it got hot! Right at the end of Duval St so it was close to everything but far enough away from the bars to be quiet!

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are so thankful for your spectacular review of Ocean Key! You’re right, we do love spoiling our guests by giving them everything they need and more in their rooms. We also pride ourselves on having a top-notch staff, so we are so ecstatic to hear they were so friendly. We are so pleased to hear you took advantage of our amazing location and we can’t wait for you to return! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel has a very nice location. Our room overlooked the sea and the Pier Bar. We had a good view of the sunset. The room was a good size but in need of a little updating. We valet parked which was easy. We were not so keen on having to walk through the car park to reach our room. The mini bar snacks were laid out on a large tray taking up space in the room and some of them did not appear to be in date (they were very pricey). The toiletries were very nice. The hotel restaurant was also good. The stay was ok, but I am not sure we would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for this review! We are with you on the location, ours is pretty hard to beat. Not to mention, the views are always breathtaking and we are so happy you enjoyed yours. We are all about quality and improving every guest’s stay. We are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied, but we hope you try us out again so we can fix that! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is fabulous. Sure, it's an older hotel, but the place has all the modern amenities blended in with that Key West charm. We had two rooms, because we decided to stay a 3rd night and someone had requested the first room we were in. Both rooms were great! The view includes Mallory Square, sailboats, fishing boats, jet-skiers, cruise ships and more. And the sunsets are spectacular and right in front of you. The rooms were clean and very, very comfortable! Internet service is an easy connection and fast. We only ate breakfast and the food was excellent. Service, top to bottom, in every direction, was tremendous. The entertainment on Sunset Pier was top notch. The location is perfect. Step outside the lobby door and you are on Duval Street. Take a right and you are in Mallory Square. We almost always stay in 5-Star hotels and resorts. Ocean Key ranks right up there with the best.

Room Tip: Ask for room 315 or 316 … 415 or 416 …. 515 or 516. But don't worry, if you must stay in anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for leaving your feedback! We couldn’t agree more, staying with us is definitely the “key” to a great vacation in Key West. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rooms and the views of Mallory Square and the sunset. We are all about comfort and making you feel at home, so we are happy that we accomplished that. We are also so glad you were satisfied with your meals and entertainment. We are looking forward to your next stay with us, we hope we can top it! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is lovely and great location. The only problem I had was I booked a package off the website. When we arrived I was told I didn't and would have to speak with a manager. I called the guest service desk for 3 days trying to get ahold of the guest service manager with no response. I was very disappointed that a the things I thought I booked we didn't get to do.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanabowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for this review! We are so happy to hear that you found our home lovely and our location convenient. However, we do sincerely apologize for the miscommunication you encountered when booking your stay. We take quality very seriously and want to assure that something like this does not happen again in the future. We hope you come see us again and hopefully get to fulfill some of those activities you didn’t get to before! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Ocean Key has a great location. We valet park our car when we arrive and the next time we see the car is when we leave. The hotel rooms are decorated in a style which is in-keeping with Key West - bright tropical colors. I love them. On our previous visits we have asked for a room with a view of Mallory Square. These rooms have a direct view of the beautiful sunset. On most days enormous cruise ships dock on the quay on Mallory Square - and they block the view from the rooms. We were told that Wednesday is the only day cruise ships do not dock. This time we stayed in a suite overlooking sunset key. Our view was not interrupted by cruise ships, but we did not have a direct view of the sunset. This wasn't a problem as we sat at the bar on Sunset Key, drank cocktails and watched the sunset from there. Overall I preferred this room. We ate breakfast every day on our big balcony - admiring the view. There is so much to do in Key West - even on our 3rd visit we were finding new restaurants, bars and day trips.

During our stay we experienced one day of torrential rain - and the pay-to-view film channel could not meet the demand and was unavailable. I would recommend that the hotel invest in increasing the capacity of this system.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for the great review! You are definitely right in that our location allows for so much convenience and relaxation. Being in Key West, we have to have a tropical theme, so we are happy you enjoyed that. Thank you for giving your honest opinion on the rooms, it is always so nice to get feedback from our guests. We hope you make another trip to our beautiful view and us again soon! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I imagine that in it's day, this hotel was stunning. But, let's be honest...that day has passed. It's obvious that there have been some attempts at surface updates ( fresh paint, nice lobby ) but the truth is that it needs a complete renovation.

On the plus side, this place is right in the heart of Key West and is very clean. Their spa was nice, and I had a fabulous massage! The pool was beautiful and the drinks were strong!

The staff was very nice, except we found that the concierge, Patrick, was not as helpful as he should have been. It was obvious to us that he was getting certain kick backs from specific tour companies. He also needs to brush up on his knowledge of the city when asked to recommend restaurants that cater to specific dietary restrictions.

Our room was just okay, but spotless. It is not clear on the website, but our room was part of a time share, and the kitchen area was blocked off to us, which was very unattractive. The T.V. was not that great, but we didn't spend much time watching it.

We had a great time in Key West, but if we returned we would likely look to stay somewhere else...unless the Ocean Key got a full renovation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us some feedback. We appreciate your honesty and are always looking to improve our resort. We are so happy to hear that our location was a perfect fit for you and that you enjoyed a relaxing massage with us. We are also glad that you enjoyed the pool and drinks, that’s what every vacation needs! Again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope you reconsider to come back and stay with us another time. ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing