We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This little gem sits right on the edge of the water at the end of Duval Street. We were greeted by the nicest valet, Ron, when checking in. Front desk staff cheerful and pleasant. We booked last minute due to a flight change so the only room we could get was a suite overlooking the garden...well, the garden was really overlooking Mallory Square and a partial view of the ocean...not bad at all.

Our suite had plenty of room to spread out with a sitting room with TV and another TV in an armoire directly in front of the king size bed. Motif is tropical. Lime green, sea blue and a natural tongue and groove ceiling. Tile floors. Mini bar with fridge under the TV in the sitting area. Bathroom has double sinks (a plus), tub/shower combination and large closet. I must say the bathroom needs a little maintenance on the mold behind the caulking.

There is no insulation between you and your neighbors. Toilet flushes, tromping feet and slamming doors are the norm. When it's quiet, thought, it's very nice.

Comfortable pillow and bed...nice enough linens. We would have loved to have a little cooler room at night. The AC was working as hard as it could to adjust. Don't open the door in the bathroom that conceals the AC unit...unsightly.

The pool area is small and butts up against the walkway along the water. The staff at the pool is extremely helpful...Greson? I believe, provided us with ample towels. The Liquid Lounge staff is great too. Never wanted for a cocktail or food.

The exterior of the building nearest the water is in need of a little TLC. Mold and cracked facade show the age of the hotel which used to be condos I was told.

A fun 4pm show was the Regent Seven Seas Navigator leave the docking area right next to the hotel. US Coastguard gun boats escorted her to open waters for safety reasons....what a sight!

Ate at Hot Tin Roof which is the restaurant on premises. Went to the bar before our dinner reservations first. Matias was a fabulous waiter! Rain was moving in that obscured our sunset view that evening, but just listening to the music at Sunset Pier and enjoying our cocktails was enough. The hostess escorted us to our table outside for dinner. Perfect spot to dine and watch the storm roll in. Lightning show was spectacular!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SkysMomLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Ocean Key Resort & Spa. It is truly remarkable that one of our staff members was able to leave such an impression on you that you remembered to shout him out on this review! We will definitely be passing on your kind words to him as well as the rest of the staff that were cheerful and pleasant for you. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the view as well as the accommodations in the room. Once again, thank you for sharing and we can’t wait to see you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a nice room that overlooked the ocean facing west. Got great sunset views from my balcony. Had comfortable chairs around the pool with great service for food and drinks. Located very close to the many bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a balcony with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We love to hear all of the feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was a convenience for you. The team members that you have mentioned in the above review will definitely hear about your kind words regarding them. It sounds like you had a blast watching the Regent Seven Seas Navigator leaving the dock! We will definitely be addressing your concerns regarding the exterior of the building. Once again, thank you so much for sharing this review with us. We can’t wait to see you again during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Perfect location for sunset viewing at it's finest. The hotel was exquisite, the staff was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend paying the extra for an ocean view room, it's worth the price. If you can, have breakfast in your room on the balcony.... awesome.

Room Tip: Room 232 overlooks Sunset Pier which is lots of fun. They end the music at an early hour so don'...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bkelley905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Key, and we appreciate your compliments of our staff. We pride ourselves in our customer service, and it is always great to hear that our guests’ expectations are met or exceeded. We hope you will return to Key West and look forward to seeing you at our resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were looking for a place that had great views and a good location. This place met those expectations with all of the unique charm that is Key West. We were offered a 2 bedroom suite ocean view overlooking sunset pier (originally booked a one room ocean King suite) and gladly accepted. We didn't use the second bedroom at all during our 3 night stay but it was definitely nice to have a second bathroom right off the entry in addition to the en suite bathroom in the main bedroom. 1200 sqft was plenty to sprawl out for two people.

Made use of the large balcony with two separate sets of tables and chairs, accessible from the living room and main bedroom. Great view of sunset pier and the ocean, no direct view of the actual sunset, but it was more private than the balconies facing Mallory square with still plenty of people to watch. At night there is live music on the pier and the music from a distance added to the atmosphere, we were thankful that it shuts down at a reasonable time.

Duval street and all that it has to offer is right within walking distance and there are many good and reasonable dining options close by. BlueFishRedFish is one. I can't overstate how much we enjoyed being able to walk from the resort and explore all of the lively bars, shops, and restaurants nearby.

We also made use of and enjoyed the pool and unusually deep spa. The pool staff and bartenders were very friendly and attentive to the middle aged crowd when we stayed.

Parking valet is at about $22/nt (we also tipped separately since we didn't know if that went to the actual valet) but if we didn't have a need to haul snorkeling gear along with wanting to explore more remote parts of town we would have been content without a car.

We are definitely looking forward to our return visit to Ocean Key. Rates can be near the higher end so it could be an indulgence but isn't that why you came to Key West?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradnbentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ocean Key. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all our resort has to offer. We look forward to your return to our resort and cannot wait to host more great vacations for you in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a lovely room, with perfect view of the sunset from our balcony. Was expensive but worth the top quality of the location, lovely staff and quality of the room. The restaurant breakfast was wonderful- very relaxing, with great water view and quality meal. The pool area and fitness room were very nice as well. If you are into fishing, ask the concierge to set you up with a shared charter fishing trip; the half day trip they arranged for us was so much fun. If in Key West, this is a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for giving your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Key, and we appreciate your recommendation of our resort. We hope you will return to Key West soon and look forward to hosting another great vacation at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent location and amenities. Enjoyed the large spacious room with a balcony view of the sunsets. Room service was precise. Hot Tin Roof restaraunt was excellent! The location is nice since you are right on Duval Street and very close to the main marina. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnfeczko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review! We’re pleased to hear that you had a great time during your stay at Ocean Key, and we’re even happier to hear that you will return. We hope you will return to Key West soon and look forward to seeing you again for another great vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this was an incredibly fun couples trip and Key West was a great time. We chose this hotel because it was at the center of everything and it truly was. Location gets 5 stars. Everything else(except the spa which was nice!) was mediocre at best. Our room wasn't ready upon arrival and we were the last in our group to get in. I asked at the front desk about upgrading (and we were willing to pay for it!!) and they said nothing else was available. While waiting a family came in and was given an upgrade in front of my face. The rooms were worn. We had lightbulbs out, a rip in the carpet, windows were filthy, and a dirty glass was outside our room (under a table) for the entire 4 days we were there. Add to that that the tv didn't work at all. We tried not to be in the room much so we never even took the time to complain about that. Service at the hot tin roof was nice, but very slow. I ordered a bagel that took nearly 25 minutes to toast. It was our last day so we wanted some pool time before heading out and missed it since breakfast took so long. My final complaint would have to be about the concierge. We inquired about the jet ski tour of the island and felt very pressured by him. Just walking by he would practically stalk us asking if we made a decision yet. The guys ended up booking it directly through the company outside the hotel and it was great. I wouldn't say service was great overall with the exception of the gift shop and the staff in there went out of their way to dig me out a dress from a box in my size. Overall key west was great but we would stay elsewhere next time. Southernmost on the beach, the Waldorf or the sunset key guest cottages would be my pics.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2b4twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that your stay at our resort did not meet your expectations or our standards. Customer service is very important to us, and we apologize that our service was not up to par. We do hope you will return to our resort so we give you a much better experience at Ocean Key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £215 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing