We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Rated and Over-Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
burlington, vermont
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over-Rated and Over-Priced”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

For the price (amongst the highest in town) we expected more. The room was comfortable (though we nearly needed a stepladder to climb into the bed) however the bathroom and entry floor (tile) was filthy. There were also empty beer bottles left behind the dresser, in plain view as you entered the room.

The staff are pleasant and the location is great (on the quieter end of Duval St with many of the rooms overlooking the water). Sunset Pier is a good place for a drink overlooking the water but advise eating elsewhere unless you want simple, greasy spoon-like food. Did not try their more formal restaurant imagining that the food came from the same kitchen...

Get to the pool area early because the pool deck is quite small for the size of the property and we were never able to claim a chair or chaise there. It is the most attractive aspect of the property which is a bit dated.

Would advise considering some high-end B&Bs (there are many in town) if you're spending this kind of money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor or one facing the water (more $$)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokinword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy that you found our location and our staff to be pleasant. Also, we are deeply apologetic that you experienced issues with our housekeeping staff as well as our dining options during your stay. Please note that this is not the norm for our resort, and we will be addressing these concerns immediately. Thank you again, and we hope to prove ourselves to you during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    504
    170
    70
    44
See reviews for
432
1,501
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria. VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time at Ocean Key & we would definitely stay there again. Upon arrival they said they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. Once we got to the room we were not very happy where the room was located. We were over looking a rooftop and next to a kitchen exhaust fan. We called the front desk & explained this was not the room we requested & paid for & asked to be moved. They immediately changed our room & moved us to a one bedroom over looking Duval St & the ocean. The room was very nice, clean, & the food was very good, especially the Lobster Eggs Benedict. The hotel was a little pricy but everything in a Key West is expensive in the winter months. If I was running this hotel I would have the entire hotel non smoking and having designated smoking areas only. There is nonsmoking in the rooms but you can smoke on your balcony. The cushions on the chairs on the balcony smell of cigarettes & I saw a few cigarette burns.

Room Tip: Be cautious if they tell you that they upgraded you to a 2 bedroom suite, it's probably not loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs. We will be addressing your concerns regarding smoking on the balcony with our management team immediately. Thank you again, and we hope that you stay with us again at Ocean Key Resort& Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The two outstanding attributes of the Ocean Key is location and the friendliness of the staff. If you book with an ocean view, you get a panoramic view of Mallory Square, cruise ships, and the exquisit sunset; it is this friendliness and location that you are paying for. We had a Boutique room with a totally fantastic view from the balcony and was the perfect place to watch the nightly Sunset Festival. The room number, 418.

That being said, the room was small and just big enough for three people. The bathroom was large and had an awesome setup, excellent for a honeymoon, but the shower leaked, causing a hazardous wet marble floor.. Room service was exceedinly bad an expensive. They did not read the morning breakfast ticket and when I called down to ask the kitchen to correct the mistake, they charged us again. Morning coffee service with orange juice for 3 cost over thirty dollars! So, I suggest you forgo room service.

I would definately stay here again, but onlt because the location makes up for the cons.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was friendly during the duration of your stay. We greatly apologize for the issues you encountered with room service, as well as the shower leaking. Please know that we will be bringing these issues to the attention of our management staff immediately. Thank you again, and we hope to prove ourselves to you during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Ocean Key for a long Valentine's weekend. Our room overlooked Mallory Square so we enjoyed a birds eye view of the Sunset Celebration every night from our balcony. The hotel is at the end of Duvall Street so is just a short walk away from all the attractions; however, the hotel itself is very quiet. Excellent heated pool with lots of umbrellas & great food & drink service. Our room was very nicely appointed with a lovely jetted tub. While the cruise ships were in port daily, they did not obstruct our view. Ocean Key is pricey but a great treat. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Loved the restaurant and the spa.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have nice views but may be a bit obstructed by cruise ships. Roosters on Mallory S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this thorough review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic views, our location, and our staff. We will be passing on all of the kind words to them. Once again, thank you for sharing and we hope you stay with us again at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stay here because we can visit the attractions and nighttime fun but are just steps away to peace and quiet. It's not the cheapest option but it's comfortable. Pool area is secluded and pleasant. Staff are very efficient. Suites perfect for couples who want some space to kick around after.

Room Tip: The City View looks over Mallory Square. Ask for floors 3 and above because it's better to sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool area and that our staff was efficient. Once again, thank you for sharing and we hope to see you soon during your next booking at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Ocean Key is beautiful. We come every year and have a fantastic time. The hotel staff is patient and accommodating. April and Chris at the pool are so nice and ready to make your day even more relaxing.
Hugo at the front desk is welcoming and will assist with you with anything you need. The food at the Hot Tin is delicious. Thank you Ocean Key for another great vacation. ~410

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for this great review. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our hotel staff was accommodating. We will be passing on your kind words to the staff members you have mentioned above. Once again thank you, and please book with us soon at Ocean Key Resort $ Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Expensive for the view. We were promised a partial view but we didn't know that by partial they meant waking up to a cruise boat in our face each morning. Enjoying my morning coffee on our balcony looking at a boat instead of the water was a huge disappointment. Also below our balcony was the town square that was noisy along with the roosters that didn't shut up even at night. Not to mention the fire alarm that went off in the middle of the night because someone decided to pull it. We were given a free breakfast but only when we asked. The food was very good! The pool and service were great as well. Would like to visit Key West again but plan to stay at the Hyatt or clearly away from Duval Street. If peace and quiet is what you are looking for this is not the place to be. On the positive side is that the front desk, pool staff, waiters, restaurant manager and bell staff were outstanding just wish the accommodations were better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this with us. We are so happy to hear that our staff was outstanding during your stay. We greatly apologize that your view was obstructed as well as the fire alarm going off. Please note that we will be looking into these concerns immediately. We hope that we can prove ourselves to you during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing