We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay-perfect location!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our room overlooked the gulf and was spacious and clean. Everyone was warm, welcoming and helpful. Food was awesome - gym is a bit small. Best location in all of key west! I highly reccomend this hotel - worth the money!

Room Tip: We were in 313- great room but overlooked bar area so it wasnt quiet. We didnt mind and enjoyed watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scolona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for this fabulous review of your stay with us at the Ocean Key Resort and Spa! We are delighted to hear that our staff was warm and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and clean, and that the food was delicious. We also appreciate you recommending our resort to others. Thanks again and we can’t wait to welcome you back during your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    504
    170
    70
    44
See reviews for
432
1,501
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a junior suite overlooking Mallory Square with partial ocean view - room was clean and very comfortable - staff very friendly - we ate at breakfast daily at Hot Tin Roof - food was very good and nice portions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of our resort, as well as the view. Also, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the hotel staff. We will let them know of your wonderful words. Once again, thank you and we hope you visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affton, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Beginning the minute you check in, you are greeted by an extraordinary staff at the front desk and valet service. From there, it just got better and better. We checked into our room, which I found tastefully/appropriately decorated. Our king-size bed was really comfy. The bathroom was nice and big and the balcony overlooking the ocean and Mallory Square provided a great view. We ordered room service one night, and the wait staff came up and put a cloth tablecloth/flowers and everything needed for an awesome romantic dinner for two, We were served fish that we had caught that day (prepared by the hotel chef). We dined in the privacy of our balcony, and watched the sun set. What could be more romantic? Aside from our balcony dining, we also ate at the Hot Tin Roof (amazing steak and lobster that night) and the Pier (amazing rum runners). We had a variety of lunch items, all very good, but add the view from the pier, entertainment, it's just ALL good. All of everything one wants for the precious time vacation should be. Top that off with the perfect location. You are right there, anywhere you turn, your paradise awaits.

Room Tip: We were in room 426, which advertised a "partial" ocean view room. We had a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lah2os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you dearly for taking the time to review your stay with us. We greatly appreciate all of the feedback. We are ecstatic that you found the location of our hotel, the view from your balcony, and our dining options to suit your vacation well. We also appreciate your comments regarding the staff here at Ocean Key, and we will let them know of the great job they did. Once again, thank you for sharing and we hope you book with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, vermont
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

For the price (amongst the highest in town) we expected more. The room was comfortable (though we nearly needed a stepladder to climb into the bed) however the bathroom and entry floor (tile) was filthy. There were also empty beer bottles left behind the dresser, in plain view as you entered the room.

The staff are pleasant and the location is great (on the quieter end of Duval St with many of the rooms overlooking the water). Sunset Pier is a good place for a drink overlooking the water but advise eating elsewhere unless you want simple, greasy spoon-like food. Did not try their more formal restaurant imagining that the food came from the same kitchen...

Get to the pool area early because the pool deck is quite small for the size of the property and we were never able to claim a chair or chaise there. It is the most attractive aspect of the property which is a bit dated.

Would advise considering some high-end B&Bs (there are many in town) if you're spending this kind of money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor or one facing the water (more $$)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokinword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy that you found our location and our staff to be pleasant. Also, we are deeply apologetic that you experienced issues with our housekeeping staff as well as our dining options during your stay. Please note that this is not the norm for our resort, and we will be addressing these concerns immediately. Thank you again, and we hope to prove ourselves to you during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria. VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our first time at Ocean Key & we would definitely stay there again. Upon arrival they said they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite. Once we got to the room we were not very happy where the room was located. We were over looking a rooftop and next to a kitchen exhaust fan. We called the front desk & explained this was not the room we requested & paid for & asked to be moved. They immediately changed our room & moved us to a one bedroom over looking Duval St & the ocean. The room was very nice, clean, & the food was very good, especially the Lobster Eggs Benedict. The hotel was a little pricy but everything in a Key West is expensive in the winter months. If I was running this hotel I would have the entire hotel non smoking and having designated smoking areas only. There is nonsmoking in the rooms but you can smoke on your balcony. The cushions on the chairs on the balcony smell of cigarettes & I saw a few cigarette burns.

Room Tip: Be cautious if they tell you that they upgraded you to a 2 bedroom suite, it's probably not loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs. We will be addressing your concerns regarding smoking on the balcony with our management team immediately. Thank you again, and we hope that you stay with us again at Ocean Key Resort& Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The two outstanding attributes of the Ocean Key is location and the friendliness of the staff. If you book with an ocean view, you get a panoramic view of Mallory Square, cruise ships, and the exquisit sunset; it is this friendliness and location that you are paying for. We had a Boutique room with a totally fantastic view from the balcony and was the perfect place to watch the nightly Sunset Festival. The room number, 418.

That being said, the room was small and just big enough for three people. The bathroom was large and had an awesome setup, excellent for a honeymoon, but the shower leaked, causing a hazardous wet marble floor.. Room service was exceedinly bad an expensive. They did not read the morning breakfast ticket and when I called down to ask the kitchen to correct the mistake, they charged us again. Morning coffee service with orange juice for 3 cost over thirty dollars! So, I suggest you forgo room service.

I would definately stay here again, but onlt because the location makes up for the cons.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff was friendly during the duration of your stay. We greatly apologize for the issues you encountered with room service, as well as the shower leaking. Please know that we will be bringing these issues to the attention of our management staff immediately. Thank you again, and we hope to prove ourselves to you during your next stay at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Ocean Key for a long Valentine's weekend. Our room overlooked Mallory Square so we enjoyed a birds eye view of the Sunset Celebration every night from our balcony. The hotel is at the end of Duvall Street so is just a short walk away from all the attractions; however, the hotel itself is very quiet. Excellent heated pool with lots of umbrellas & great food & drink service. Our room was very nicely appointed with a lovely jetted tub. While the cruise ships were in port daily, they did not obstruct our view. Ocean Key is pricey but a great treat. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Loved the restaurant and the spa.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have nice views but may be a bit obstructed by cruise ships. Roosters on Mallory S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceankeyresortandspa, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Key Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this thorough review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic views, our location, and our staff. We will be passing on all of the kind words to them. Once again, thank you for sharing and we hope you stay with us again at Ocean Key Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#17 of 51 in Key West
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing