We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise from the hotel staff at 6:30am in the morning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2009

After a night out bar hopping the last thing you need is the hotel staff making a ton of noise outside your hotel room at 6:30am in the morning. After trying to get back to sleep, they were at it again at 7:30am moving equipment around the floor (a little grease on the wheels of their carts would have helped). A great location but a little consideration from the hotel staff would have been nice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,178 - 2,184 of 2,673 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2009

Convenient location. Quiet rooms, never heard anyone else. The heated pool is great and the hot tub is the size of some pools. The restaurant is five star. My room has an amazing view jacuzzi tub, double sinks large shower, and oh yeah, a second bedroom full living room another bath and a kitchenette and washing machine. Must have been almost 1000 square feet. There's a pharmacy right next door that has beer and wine and some food stuffs. I'm not one to stay in the hotel room past 9 but it was so wonderful, I didn't leave the hotel till 3pm. Just stat on the balcony with water view sipping beer. It was like one of those beach ads for imported beer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daffyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We have been to Key West several times, and I have always wanted to stay here. This time I went for it. From the time we arrived to the time we left, the staff we interacted with were nothing but smiles and helpful. I consider myself a low maintenance traveler, but I do like nice things, and would have certainly spoken up if not happy, but the whole trip was smooth. When we arrived, we were attended to right away, and given a tour of the hotel on the way to our room. There was a mild fish smell in the lower hallways that stayed throughout our trip, but not near our room, and it really did not bother us. We booked the Junior Suite, partial oceanfront and have no complaints about the room at all, it was not on the sunset side, but we got a good deal on the price, and I knew that going in. I can see where the people that pay the extra, and go for the sunset rooms can be upset, because when the cruise ships are in, you are not seeing anything. Mallory Square is right there, and on that side, some people can be bothered by the noise, but not us, we were good the whole trip. The pool was awesome, the pool bar, and Lauren the barmaid there even better... she was great, and I know we were a little drunk and rowdy at times when we were together with some friends. Overall a great hotel and I think a good value. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advancedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This hotel is a great choice in Key West. We booked a junior suite partial ocean view. Our room was on the 4th floor, overlooking Mallory Square and the water. We had a lovely balcony where we could see the sunset and all the action on the square. The room was spacious and comfortable, with lovely “Key West” furnishings, very tropical and colorful. The bathroom was large, with double sinks, a spa tub/shower, and soft bathrobes. A nice feature was the glass shower wall, you could see the ocean while taking a shower! The location of our room was nice because even though it did not face the ocean head-on, you could still see the ocean and not be blocked by cruise ships. You can walk to many bars and restaurants, and a CVS is right next door for necessities. The only downside was the noise level – light sleepers beware. We could hear noise from the room above us, and in the parking lot on Mallory Square. Overall it was a great place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

It has been two months since my husband and I stayed eight days at the Ocean Key Resort and we can't stop talking about it. We have stayed at other upscale hotels in Key West before and this one blew us away. Every staff member was courteous and went above and beyond on every request. The Hot Tin Roof is a must for breakfast and the view of the Gulf while sipping your morning coffee is heavenly. The pool area was perfect and a wonderful place to view the sunsets after spending the day lounging under the sun. You can see the sunset right from your loungechair if you so choose. Agnes at the Liquid Lounge at poolside was unforgetable and the sweetest ever at making us specialty drinks all afternoon. The poolside salads from the Sunset Pier were the perfect light lunch on gorgeous Key West days. The front desk staff upgraded us to a two bedroom suite and handled us as if we were the only ones there throughout our week-long stay. They made us feel like it was a pleasure to take care of whatever we needed. The resort itself is impeccably clean and there was always someone keeping up on everything. The coco-mango bath amenities were wonderful and full sizes are available in the giftshop to bring home. The location at Zero Duval can't be beat. An easy place to stoll back to after a wonderful dinner and many drinks out on the town. I cannot think of a single downside to staying at the Ocean Key. I would give ten stars if I could. Thanks to everyone who made it our best vacation ever. See you next year.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here for the last two nights of a cross-America road-trip honeymoon, and while it was pricey, we couldn't have chosen a better place to end it. You're in the heart of the Duval Street action, yet the size of the hotel gives it a seclusion and peace rare in Key West.

Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Ocean Key is upscale without being stuffy, and is in the perfect location in KW. You can walk everywhere and be in the middle of the mayhem in a matter of minutes, yet it's quiet on the property. The pool area is gorgeous, and the little touches like serving guests watermelon and pineapple while you're in the pool is great. The rooms were very comfortable and attractive. We had an ocean view room that was absolutely fantastic, except for one day when a giant cruise ship obliterated everything. I would highly recommend Ocean Key for a special getaway. It's pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soozeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.5 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort & Spa

Address: 0 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-6611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Key West
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £254 - £558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Key Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Waterfront Resort located in the heart of Old Town Key West at Mallory Square, where the Atlantic & the Gulf meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Resort And Spa
Ocean Key Hotel Key West
Ocean Key House Key West
Ocean Key Resort & Spa Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing