We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey comfortable resort”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #36 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great place to stay, close to Old Key West, where all the true KW action is. All rooms are actually small apartments. Although not overly modern the accomadations are more than adequate. Great pools and grounds with a little bar and grill open everyday from 8 to 4. Great place for breakfast or a hamburger.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Louisana_Bar_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Suite for 3 nights in May 2009. Let me start off by saying the location is perfect! You're one block away from the hot spots of Duval street (Sloppy Joes & Capt. Tony's & the Key Lime store on Greene street that sells Key Lime Pie on a stick) and very close to Mallory Square, where the sunset is an event every evening. You will not need transportation (unless you want to go to the beach on the far end of the island) if you stay here. You can walk or bike to everything. The grounds of the Banyan are charming and very Floridian. It's a perfect choice!

ROOMS: Our room had a small kitchenette, a table and chairs for 4, and a pull out couch, and a couple chairs. The refrig is full sized and the kitchen is well appointed with dishes, wine corkscrew, papertowels etc. You won't need to bring anything from home... except some beverages or snacks. The room is decorated in Key West style furnishings and yes, some of the furniture looks dated but everything was spotless and comfortable. The bedrooms had plenty of space for suitcases and clothes. Besides the walk in closets, each room had a tall dresser. The bedding was very comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows. The bathroom had a shower and no tub. I must add that the air conditioning worked beautifully and kept the room ice cold. Finally, we LOVED our balcony. Our room was located on a floor by itself so the balcony was all ours. It had a full sized table and 6 chairs. It was shaded and faced the front of the hotel and street so it was perfect for people (or rooster) watching.

POOLS: The hotel has 2 small pools and 1 hot tub. There's a tiki style bar located between the two pools where you can order drinks or food (between the hours of 8 and 4.). The pool area is mostly shaded and there's a limited number of loungers but we never found the pool area crowded. One is for children and one is adults only. I never saw any children at this hotel.

SECURITY: Even though you are located near the bars, this hotel is located one block away from the main drag. It's quiet at night. After nightfall, most the hotel is locked down. To access the gates, you need to have your key with you. In addition, there's a night watchman that walks around the property very regularly. We watched him one night as we sat on our balcony in the wee hours. This hotel is very safe.

OVERALL: I would stay here again in a heartbeat. And I hope to return again soon. I love Key West! This hotel is an affordable place to stay right in the heart of the action! And be sure to walk down to Blue Heaven to have a memorable breakfast... they have amazing fresh mimosas and bloody marys!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank stl_locavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This was our 7th time staying at the Banyan and wouldn't stay any where else. We really enjoy it there. The location is the best as well as the staff. We brought our friends down to stay there for the 1st time and they also loved it there. They were very pleased with the Banyan. We have stayed at a few other places in Key West until we found the Banyan, and now that is the only place we stay. The location is perfect..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at the Banyan for four nites in April... everything exceeded our expectations!! The rooms are great and the pictures on the website do not do them justice... Tiki bar is great for a sandwich or breakfast... cheap too!!! Location could not be better!! The Banyan is now our spot, would not stay anywhere else in Key West!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Stayed here with husband and 2 teenage children.We were very happy with the resort.In Key West location is important and the Banyan is close to Duval St.,Mallory Square and Ft Zach Beach.There are 2 pools and a jacuzzi which we used very little because there just wasn't enough time for everything.Next time I will stay longer so I can enjoy resort more.We had a 2nd floor 1 bedroom unit with a sleeper sofa in living room.It had a large porch that overlooked Eaton St.The kitchen was stocked with plenty of dishes,pots etc.The only negative thing I can say is that it was a little noisy in the morning because Whitehead St is quite busy and of course the roosters but that would not stop me from staying again and I'm sure the rooms in the back are very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Location...Location...Cozy,Quiet, Intimate and Friendly ....yet only 1 Block from the center of Duval Street Activities and 2 Blocks from CAPT TONYS and SLOPPY JOES and about 4 Blocks from Mallory Square! Beautiful Native Surrounding Gardens...Quaint converted Homes & Cottages. 2 Pools plus separated HOT TUB. TIKI BAR with low,reasonable Food & Beverage Prices! Bike Rentals on-site.
Just an Excellent All-Round value for your money!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmtbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at the Banyan Resort in Unit 803 - a perfect location for the Fantasy Fest with a veranda overlooking Whitehead Street - right down on the start of the parade and festivities Saturday Night!! The two bedroom unit was spacious (enough for 6 of us - with two on a sleeper sofa - adequate as sleeper sofas go). The grounds were wonderful with two swimming pools, a jacuzzi, bar/grill and all of the accomodations that you would expect. It is right in the heart of old town. We really did not need the rental car we had, as everything is within walking distance, but the car was nice for trips up the island chain to visit other keys and go diving at Looe Key - a definite must for all divers/snorklers - probably the most interesting reef in the keys. Staff were helpful and informative but not intrusive. I would definitely go back again, and if going for Fantasy Fest woudl try to get unit 803 - the veranda was just too cool.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justanothergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#47 of 77 in Key West
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#28 of 77 in Key West
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £152 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West
The Banyan Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing