We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lust tropical accommodations right near the action.”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #38 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lust tropical accommodations right near the action.”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Had a great stay at The Banyan Resort in Key West. The tropical vegitation is just beautiful, and has regrown since the Hurricane 2 years ago. When you lay by the pool. you hear the water fountaining into the koi pond, and see tall fan palms among the variety of plants. A large fragipani tree is near the Tiki hut/ bar area. The namesake Banyan trees are spectacular. The Tiki hut had breakfast and lunch suggestions and a basic bar service that included frozen drinks. Prices were reasonable. The cook/server and the other guests were friendly and included newcomers in the discussion.

Our one bedroom apt was very roomy. The bedroom was nice with enough hanging and drawer space. The large mirror over the bed helped the room look expansive, and there was a TV for late night viewing. With the ceiling fan, we were kept cool without having to turn the temperature down too much (green savings there).

The living area was also spacious. The sofa bed was new, very comfortable, with a tropical print fabric. New pots and pans were nice to have, all the appliances worked. I particularly like having a large refrigerator to store drinks and fresh snacks. Coffee was available in the mornings by the Tiki hut, and we had a coffee maker available in the room if we wanted coffee at other times.

We had our own porch with chairs and a table. It was covered by the 2nd story so we had a cozy place to rest and relax when it did rain.

The front desk was very helpful. They worked with us to book a special sailing not found in the usual tourist brochures. They helped us with other suggestions and general knowledge. The staff was friendly. I used the washer/dryer availble, very reasonably priced.

Duval Street, with all its bars, restuarants, and shops was just one block away - a great location, out of the crowds and close to the action. A short walk took you to the sunset pier for those festivities.

All in all, a great spot, its own vacation destination within Key West.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLynFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    95
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
184
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

A beautiful location close to Duval street, stunning banyan tree in the front of the resort. Facilities were excellent and family orientated with a seperate adult pool and hot tub.
The accomodation was clean and had everything you would need. The staff were able to cater for every request and provided a fabulous service. Would recommend this in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Parking is the main issue. Parking is located 2 1/2 blocks away in a crappy lot filled with large puddles/mud everywhere AND you have to pay for this parking. Check-in/ unloading area room for 1 car only with 15 minutes parking allowed. No carts to bring luggage to room so many trips required. No offer to assist either. Hot tub was very dirty with unidentifiable things swirling around on the the bottom 1/3. The room was clean but smell of bug spray was noted. The air conditioner cooled half the room only. Also you have to remove your sheets before you leave. The cancelation policy is 30 days which is outrageous! If you have an emergency and can't make it you pay alot!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanyanResort, Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
It’s true; parking is an issue in Key West, not just at the Banyan. We have eighteen spaces onsite, which are first come first serve and have a ten space overflow lot. The lot to which this guest is referring is our overflow lot. We do not require guests to use our parking. Guests are more than welcome to search out their own parking but beware, many lots are $20/night and require you to pay every time you leave and return, while other lots will allow night parking only and require the vehicle to be moved before 8am. One of the many wonderful things about the Banyan is its central location. You don’t need your car once you are here to enjoy most everything the island has to offer... and if you drive somewhere, you again run into the issue of where to park.

Luggage carts would not work well in our terrain as our garden pathways are gravel and the resort is situated on several ground levels separated by a step or two. Unfortunately, we do not have bellmen but we do our best to assist guests upon request if we can as most times there is only one person on duty at the front desk after 4pm. That is common place for most guest houses in Key West. So if that is important to you, be sure to ask when making a reservation at any lodging facility on the island.

Our pools are maintained daily but falling foliage is a constant.

We have a certified pest specialist who uses odorless green chemicals. I can assure you the smell was not bug spray upon check-in but rather a mixture of air freshener and cleaning products.

Our air conditioning is adequate for each room. I am not saying this guest’s room may not have only been half cooled; an a/c unit may not have been functioning properly but one quick phone call to report this issue would have resulted in Maintenance attending to the problem immediately.

Our cancellation policy is 30 days. However we do offer and recommend travel insurance to protect your deposit monies and entire vacation investment should a last minute, covered situation arise that would prevent you from traveling. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The Banyan has gorgeous and well-maintained gardens, two small swimming pools for relaxing and sunbathing, and a tiki bar that serves excellent sandwiches and drinks. The complex includes multiple buildings, some of which are historic. Our room was clean and well-equipped with amenities, including a full kitchen, two porches, and two TVs. Front desk and other service staff were very friendly, helpful, and efficient. The resort is close to the sundown spot at Mallory Square, the shops and bars/restaurants of Duval Street, the Truman White House, and other attractions. All in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmett4640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great place to stay, close to Old Key West, where all the true KW action is. All rooms are actually small apartments. Although not overly modern the accomadations are more than adequate. Great pools and grounds with a little bar and grill open everyday from 8 to 4. Great place for breakfast or a hamburger.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louisana_Bar_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Suite for 3 nights in May 2009. Let me start off by saying the location is perfect! You're one block away from the hot spots of Duval street (Sloppy Joes & Capt. Tony's & the Key Lime store on Greene street that sells Key Lime Pie on a stick) and very close to Mallory Square, where the sunset is an event every evening. You will not need transportation (unless you want to go to the beach on the far end of the island) if you stay here. You can walk or bike to everything. The grounds of the Banyan are charming and very Floridian. It's a perfect choice!

ROOMS: Our room had a small kitchenette, a table and chairs for 4, and a pull out couch, and a couple chairs. The refrig is full sized and the kitchen is well appointed with dishes, wine corkscrew, papertowels etc. You won't need to bring anything from home... except some beverages or snacks. The room is decorated in Key West style furnishings and yes, some of the furniture looks dated but everything was spotless and comfortable. The bedrooms had plenty of space for suitcases and clothes. Besides the walk in closets, each room had a tall dresser. The bedding was very comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows. The bathroom had a shower and no tub. I must add that the air conditioning worked beautifully and kept the room ice cold. Finally, we LOVED our balcony. Our room was located on a floor by itself so the balcony was all ours. It had a full sized table and 6 chairs. It was shaded and faced the front of the hotel and street so it was perfect for people (or rooster) watching.

POOLS: The hotel has 2 small pools and 1 hot tub. There's a tiki style bar located between the two pools where you can order drinks or food (between the hours of 8 and 4.). The pool area is mostly shaded and there's a limited number of loungers but we never found the pool area crowded. One is for children and one is adults only. I never saw any children at this hotel.

SECURITY: Even though you are located near the bars, this hotel is located one block away from the main drag. It's quiet at night. After nightfall, most the hotel is locked down. To access the gates, you need to have your key with you. In addition, there's a night watchman that walks around the property very regularly. We watched him one night as we sat on our balcony in the wee hours. This hotel is very safe.

OVERALL: I would stay here again in a heartbeat. And I hope to return again soon. I love Key West! This hotel is an affordable place to stay right in the heart of the action! And be sure to walk down to Blue Heaven to have a memorable breakfast... they have amazing fresh mimosas and bloody marys!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank stl_locavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This was our 7th time staying at the Banyan and wouldn't stay any where else. We really enjoy it there. The location is the best as well as the staff. We brought our friends down to stay there for the 1st time and they also loved it there. They were very pleased with the Banyan. We have stayed at a few other places in Key West until we found the Banyan, and now that is the only place we stay. The location is perfect..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West
The Banyan Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing