We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Banyan Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
US$1,147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$468
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$414
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
293
97
25
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
97
25
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharehot tubwhitehead stold townone bedroom unitduval streettiki hutfull kitchenadult poolspiral staircasewithin walking distancegrounds are beautifulsmall kitchenliving roomthe location is perfecttwo blockscan't beat the location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The resort is a collection of historic mansions, reburbished and equipped with all the modern conveniences. The two pools and hot tub nestled in gorgeous tropical gardens in and around the complex were refreshing and delightful. The location is perfect for walking to Duval St attractions and shopping, The Truman White House, two nearby theatres, etc. The only somewhat negative comment is the $20 per day parking fee, pretty steep but very convenient. We used the gas grills to cook several evenings and the food at the Tiki Bar between the pools was very good and surprisingly reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay. We highly recommend.

We had a car so we ventured out to the Butterfly Convservatory, (wonderful!), Martello Fort ruins both East and West. West is a (free) delightful garden run by the Key West Garden Club right on Higgs Beach, also a nice place to visit. We had a picnic there one night and caught the sunset. East Martello was interesting. We killed some time there. Inside tells the story of Key West and how it became what it is today. Plus, there are a few great stories of what happen. There is a tower in this old Fort, that you walk up and from the top, can get a great view of the island. We also discovered a larger garden just over the bridge on Stock Island next to the golf course which is an amazing collection of endangered and other native tropical plants in Key West, including a great butterfly garden.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowerladyOrlandoFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here over the July 4th holiday. It was fun and I am glad we stayed here, but the staff was very unresponsive to the cleaning issues we had for the room. One day they even took our tip and didnt clean! After bringing this to the attentin of the staff, they said we could get clean towels if we came to get them. Totally rude.
However, the location is perfect, the grounds and pools are awesome and the breakfast is the best ever......I would stay here again actually.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skankyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Had a great stay at The Banyan Resort in Key West. The tropical vegitation is just beautiful, and has regrown since the Hurricane 2 years ago. When you lay by the pool. you hear the water fountaining into the koi pond, and see tall fan palms among the variety of plants. A large fragipani tree is near the Tiki hut/ bar area. The namesake Banyan trees are spectacular. The Tiki hut had breakfast and lunch suggestions and a basic bar service that included frozen drinks. Prices were reasonable. The cook/server and the other guests were friendly and included newcomers in the discussion.

Our one bedroom apt was very roomy. The bedroom was nice with enough hanging and drawer space. The large mirror over the bed helped the room look expansive, and there was a TV for late night viewing. With the ceiling fan, we were kept cool without having to turn the temperature down too much (green savings there).

The living area was also spacious. The sofa bed was new, very comfortable, with a tropical print fabric. New pots and pans were nice to have, all the appliances worked. I particularly like having a large refrigerator to store drinks and fresh snacks. Coffee was available in the mornings by the Tiki hut, and we had a coffee maker available in the room if we wanted coffee at other times.

We had our own porch with chairs and a table. It was covered by the 2nd story so we had a cozy place to rest and relax when it did rain.

The front desk was very helpful. They worked with us to book a special sailing not found in the usual tourist brochures. They helped us with other suggestions and general knowledge. The staff was friendly. I used the washer/dryer availble, very reasonably priced.

Duval Street, with all its bars, restuarants, and shops was just one block away - a great location, out of the crowds and close to the action. A short walk took you to the sunset pier for those festivities.

All in all, a great spot, its own vacation destination within Key West.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLynFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

A beautiful location close to Duval street, stunning banyan tree in the front of the resort. Facilities were excellent and family orientated with a seperate adult pool and hot tub.
The accomodation was clean and had everything you would need. The staff were able to cater for every request and provided a fabulous service. Would recommend this in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Parking is the main issue. Parking is located 2 1/2 blocks away in a crappy lot filled with large puddles/mud everywhere AND you have to pay for this parking. Check-in/ unloading area room for 1 car only with 15 minutes parking allowed. No carts to bring luggage to room so many trips required. No offer to assist either. Hot tub was very dirty with unidentifiable things swirling around on the the bottom 1/3. The room was clean but smell of bug spray was noted. The air conditioner cooled half the room only. Also you have to remove your sheets before you leave. The cancelation policy is 30 days which is outrageous! If you have an emergency and can't make it you pay alot!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanyanResort, Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2009

It’s true; parking is an issue in Key West, not just at the Banyan. We have eighteen spaces onsite, which are first come first serve and have a ten space overflow lot. The lot to which this guest is referring is our overflow lot. We do not require guests to use our parking. Guests are more than welcome to search out their own parking but beware, many lots are $20/night and require you to pay every time you leave and return, while other lots will allow night parking only and require the vehicle to be moved before 8am. One of the many wonderful things about the Banyan is its central location. You don’t need your car once you are here to enjoy most everything the island has to offer... and if you drive somewhere, you again run into the issue of where to park.

Luggage carts would not work well in our terrain as our garden pathways are gravel and the resort is situated on several ground levels separated by a step or two. Unfortunately, we do not have bellmen but we do our best to assist guests upon request if we can as most times there is only one person on duty at the front desk after 4pm. That is common place for most guest houses in Key West. So if that is important to you, be sure to ask when making a reservation at any lodging facility on the island.

Our pools are maintained daily but falling foliage is a constant.

We have a certified pest specialist who uses odorless green chemicals. I can assure you the smell was not bug spray upon check-in but rather a mixture of air freshener and cleaning products.

Our air conditioning is adequate for each room. I am not saying this guest’s room may not have only been half cooled; an a/c unit may not have been functioning properly but one quick phone call to report this issue would have resulted in Maintenance attending to the problem immediately.

Our cancellation policy is 30 days. However we do offer and recommend travel insurance to protect your deposit monies and entire vacation investment should a last minute, covered situation arise that would prevent you from traveling. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews