We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Key Lime Inn Key West
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

very nice cottage accomodation.. but the room and bathroom had some ant infestation so we had to be careful about food and drinks in the room
we were in the superior queen n found the bed/mattress very comfortable, except the bed was a bit creaky, but we got used to it after the first night
great location.. we just walked to duval and old town, but you can rent bikes from nearby places too
the person at the reception was nice, but they were trying to sell a snorkelling trip which we would hv gone for anyway, but when they repeated this, we were put off
when we booked though their website, they asked if it was for a special occasion, n we mentioned it was our anniversary, so we expected some special treatment, but there was none. that's probably the only real disappointment
otherwise, we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    485
    138
    44
    19
See reviews for
83
935
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Key Lime Inn January 7-10, 2010. Despite the record breaking cold temps we had a great time.

The location is great. It is a short walk to Duval Street and lots of restaurants, shops and bars. A 24 hour Denny's is right down the street, as is a 24 hour CVS (along with a Papa Johns and Subway in the same complex). We rented bikes just around the corner and the inn had a bike rack where you could park them.

We didn't have a car so we didn't have to worry about parking. We walked or biked everywhere and enjoyed it.

Our room was #18, a stand alone cottage that had its own little deck and private bathroom. I personally found the bed uncomfortable (a bit too hard for me) and the linens are very cheap and scratchy. There was a sofa, chair and coffee table, along with a flat screen TV, king size bed and two nightstands. The bathroom was pretty basic and had a shower. One big thing I didn't like was that there wasn't much hot water. Even when I was trying to be very conservative and save hot water for my husband the hot water ran out, and I was in there for less than 10 minutes. I could see in the summer how this wouldn't be a big deal but it was pretty chilly so this was one downside to the room.

The fridge and coffee pot are in the bathroom to the left of the shower. We had little bugs running around by ours (again it's Florida so no big deal really) but after I got rid of them once they seemed to stay away.

Overall, this inn isn't anything fancy but is in a nice location and has comfortable accomodations. Don't expect five stars or anything but the staff are friendly and the pool looked nice (too cold to swim). They also offered a complimentary breakfast but we never made it to that. There are roosters around, we kept seeing one during the day who would crow at random times. He will also wake you up early in the morning, but he stops after a few minutes so it's not really a big deal.

If anyone has any questions please message me!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed at Key Lime Inn during some of the record breaking cold weather. The room was comfortably warm; although the continental breakfast by the pool was a little nippy. During warm weather it would be lovely. The inn staff was helpful and pleasant. It is about a 25 minute walk from the Inn to Mallory Square, with many restaurants along the way. And yes, free parking at the inn, a great amenity. The is not a fancy place, it is comfortable, convenient and good value.

Carolyn Salmon

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Wife wanted to stay in "town" at some Historic B&B, at least that was her romantic ideal. Since the trip was a last minute thing, ie. drive to Florida Keys for Christmas from Canada, who am I to question her request to do this.

However, after arriving and finding parking difficult (in fact had to park in the street couple of times) found we where given a room with no outside patio, deck or access to anything but the parking lot! We asked several times for a change over the 4-5 days we where there but apparently nothing could be done. Too bad. That coupled with no bath tub, mediocre continental breakfast, TV remotes not functioning and getting the loose door lock finally repaired was enough for us. Oh and the so-called pool and deck leave much to be desired, its general condition is poor and we didn't see anybody in it, perhaps there were, in 4 days we just didn't see anybody in it.

All the above, plus the high cost and the damn roosters crowing and making all sorts of noise at night, we cut our stay short and went back up to Florida interior. Much better hotels with all the amentites and better rates.

Overall we didn't find it worth the expense to stay in the Keys for that long. Most people we talked to said the same, an overnight was more than enough. We agree.

Unless you "really need" to stay downtown would suggest you go with one of the major chains outside of the downtown area you will likely not be as disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtc46jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The delux room was ok,but stark, towels were very ruff and harsh. The room could use some decorating in any style.. The walls were plain paint.....
Te Rooster got up at 5am every monrning!!!! They have to do something!!! Parking not available for all cars

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stopor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This was our first trip to Key West, and we loved the city as well as The Key Lime Inn and will stay here again when we return. The cottage is clean and comfortable and more than roomy enough. The location is perfect; walkable to anywhere but not in the midst of the Duval Street hustle-bustle. I can't say enough about how great the front desk staff are! From directions to recommendations to repairs, everyone was so helpful and friendly. I got sick and needed medical attention and the receptionist phoned a doctor who made a house call to our room within 15 minutes; couldn't have been more convenient! The free parking was another bonus in addition to an excellent room rate!
The only negative is the continental breakfast. If you love carbs, you're in business; otherwise, a bit lacking. Even some peanut butter would have been welcome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, fl
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I found the hotel to be charming and welcoming. The location couldn't be beat. It was central and withing walking distance to popular spots. It was however far enough away to escape noise. The rooms were small but accomodating. There was a continental breakfast in the morning and coffee/tea available throughout the day and that was good enough for me!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lime Inn Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn Key West

Property: Key Lime Inn Key West
Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Key Lime Inn Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Key Lime Inn located in the center of the Old Town area of Key West. Key Lime Inn is a stylish, boutique hotel with 37 guest rooms located just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West's historic neighborhoods. Rooms are situated in several buildings spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. Continental breakfast is served poolside each morning and guest parking is available. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free in-room internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street, the harbor & beaches. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Key Lime Inn. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Key Lime Inn Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing