We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nice relaxing place with a large bathroom. We stayed on the second floor of this beautiful place. My only grip was the floor in our room was very dirty. Needs a good mopping. Other than that, enjoyed the stay. Also a perfect location, close to everything. Would definitely stay here again. Make sure you give the friendly cat that lives in the complex a pet, he's a cutie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadsManC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for one night and loved this quaint B&B.

The room was spacious, well decorated and very clean. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

The pool is on the small side, however as we were in Key West for a day and were not interested in the pool this was irrelevant.

The staff were friendly enough, however did not know what the deal was with the parking lot up the road. On the basis that parking is an issue in Key West, staff should be able to clearly advise guests where they should park and which parking lots are 24 hours and which are not. We spent alot of time faffing around with parking which would not have been necessary if the staff were able to help us. Don't let this put you off though.

All in all a good stay, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights and it blew my mind away. This place was beautiful from the moment you walk in. It so private and tucked away that you would never think that is just 2 min from Duval Street. I stayed in apt 20 King Suite and i highly recomend asking for that room. Its on the 2nd floor no rooms connecting to it. The best part about it was the HUGGGEE BATHROOM and private balcony. Also the Entire room was renovated. The Flat Screen Tv was Mounted on the wall and i have never seen that done at any hotel let alone a Bed and Breakfast.
The front desk staff was really nice and helpfull and the Breakfast in the morning was more then enough.. MERLINN INN has sold me and will always have my business when im in KEY WEST. 5 STAR HOTEL .

Room Tip: Room # 20 King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We loved Merlin's from the second we walked in! Kenneth warmly greeted us and was nothing but awesome our whole stay. He arranged bikes and a Dolphin watch for us and helped us with whatever we needed. Our room was fantastic! Big king bed and an adjoining sitting room. Great continental breakfast daily. It was out of the way but so close to everything. I would definatley stay here next time we go to Key West!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at the Merlin 8 years ago, room 16. It was just ok. This time, April 2012, we stayed in room 22 which was a renovated room.....fantastic! (I think it's the one pictured on their website and on the photo above here) This room is a King Suite and is tucked at the back of the property so it was nice and quiet.
The bed was just super, as were the linens. Yes, the pool is small but it did the job of cooling us off after a busy hot day. Yes, the place is expensive about $250 a night. BUT, this room was worth it! As you probably know, Key West is famous for over-priced lodging.
I would give this place 5 stars were it not for the mediocre breakfast: ordinary bagels and muffins,etc, the usual, watered-down oj, no other juice. There were some apples for fruit, nothing else. In KW, one would expect some fresh cut-up fruit or something a little more special/tropical for the price. Frankly, I think the Merlin could do a MUCH better job with the breakfast, with a little thought and effort.
The service was super, Kenneth at the desk bent over backwards to please us. He was very helpful. Kudos to him and the other office staff.
Ask for a renovated room since only a few have been renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and stay away from the cramped Economy Queen rooms which face noisy Simonto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Three of us stayed in the two bedroom cottage for one night.

Although some of the noise from Simonton Street was audible this place more that met our expectations. The cottage had two bedrooms, a full bathroom, living room with TV and a kitchen that had dishes, cups, stove and sink. It even had a pair of oven mitts. It even had two outdoor sitting areas. It felt like home. There was also enough cupboards and closets space that a longer stay would not be a problem.

Our cottage was spotless!

It was a bit pricey, but as they say, you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This 20 room guesthouse and inn has very clean and comfortable rooms. We stayed in unit 21 which is a 2 bedroom original house. Nicely decorated and recent paint.

You couldn't be closer to the action and shops of Duval Street.

Lovely gardens and soaking pool.

Room Tip: Unit 21 with two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.6 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £126 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Merlin Guest House located in the Old Town area of Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 20 guest rooms which are located just one block from Duval Street; you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Merlin Guest House Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing