We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Hard to Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location of Merlin Guesthouse is fantastic if staying near Duval is a priority. However I look for other things in a property and amenities is high on my priority list. I stayed in room 17 which was very quiet and away from Simonton, thankfully. However the room is not your typical cozy room in a bed and breakfast. I had a very comfortable King bed in a too large and sparsely furnished room. Upon entry into the first half of the suite there are two white leather club-style chairs, and a small side table with a smallish flat-screen television on a tile floor. The room seems too bare like this and not cozy. The bathroom is long and narrow with a counter and metal modern bowl-type sink off to the side to make room for toiletries of their guests. Again, the bathroom provides bare essentials, towels, a bar of soap, conditioner, shampoo and lotion but there is no soap holder, tissues, or small little things that guests appreciate such as make-up mirror, cotton balls, Q-tips etc. Even an extra bar of soap and lotion would be helpful. A previous poster mentioned the shower as something one might find at a KOA and I agree - the bare minimum. I don't know what the other rooms are like so I can't condemn the entire property based on one room, but I think with a little extra effort, this room could be a lot more appealing and cozy. Wifi only works in the garden area which is annoying as I would prefer access in my room while I work at night but others might not find this to be a problem. The breakfast was very basic but good and I did notice the staff was not quick to tear it down at 10AM. They also checked with guests before doing so. Lastly, staff tried to block off parking spots for their guests with cars, thus I ended up with a spot for both nights that was conveniently on the street right next to the property. I very much appreciated this. Overall I think Merlin Guesthouse is fine but it could be so much better. The property has charm and character and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Room 17 was very quiet and off of Simonton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Merlin Guesthouse is a lovely property - one of several maintained by Historic Key West Inns. If you are expecting a fancy property, this might not be the place for you, but for us it was perfect. We just wanted a comfortable place to stay right in downtown. The courtyard is lovely, and we really enjoyed the breakfast served out there every morning. (Muffins, bagels, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee). There is a pool on the property but it is more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool (and though it has jets like a hot tub, they don't keep it hot). It was quite nice after a morning run around Key West. Location-wise, this place is great. It is just a block off Duval and about halfway between the waterfront area and the southernmost area - making it easy to go to attractions in either direction. As for accommodations, we stayed in a "deluxe king room" - which was quite spacious! It was clean and comfortable but nothing fancy if that's what you were expecting - the bathroom was pretty simple, with an older toilet and a shower that looked like one you'd find a KOA bathroom (again, not bad! but nothing fancy). Overall we were quite pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at The Merlin Guesthouse. Still love this place. Clean, comfortable and feels homey. I would definitely stay here again. The only drawback if you have room #1-4(ish) on the front porch... if you are a light sleeper you will hear traffic on Simonton Street. On a previous stay our room was away from the street and we didn't hear a thing.
Since I Am a cat lover, I look forward to seeing Jordan del Gato. :-) looking forward to returning to key west and will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillfuhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We did really like our stay at the Merlin Guesthouse. Just had a couple of issues. Firstly, we were given room 22 and asked to change rooms immediately. The room had such a terrible musty/mildew smell. When we told them about it and asked to change rooms they said " oh yeah,we can't seem to rid of that smell". Really! If that is the case don't rent it out anymore. They then put us in room 14 which was really nice. The breakfast was fine, in a nice area by the pool. Employes were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, 2 blocks from Duval street. A little extra room amenities would go a long way. Even a soap dish would be nice so you don't have to get the tiny sink area dirty with soap scum. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnk910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the Merlin Guesthouse's great location and friendly staff! If you scroll down just two postings prior to this one to a review written on November 14th, the guest loved and recommends Room #22, so it just goes to show that different people like different things. We have something for everyone here! Thank you for being our guests. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Is kind of hard to chose a hotel that you've never been before. The reviews and pics helped. Great location. The room was clean and good space for a couple. We had room #8.. The staff was very friendly and ready to help when we needed anything. Free parking on the side of the hotel. We walked everywhere.. We will stay at this hotel again when in key west. 11/20/2013

Room Tip: 1 block away from Duval, Walk to everything and sleep on a quite street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Grounds and room are well maintained and staff is very friendly. We had room 22 which is a king suite and it was awesome! Clean, spacious, and private. Even has it's own little private patio. I spent weeks trying to decide on where to stay and I couldn't be more pleased with our decision!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It's exactly what I expected. Clean. Well kept grounds. Maid service that is respectful and doesn't try to wake you at 7a on vacation. Continental (aka high-carb) breakfast that's the same every day. The gates could use a key or security code. And they really could turn down or dim the exterior lighting - the light outside our room lit the place up, even with the new shutters they installed during our stay. Linda the site mgr is very nice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank STLSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.6 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £131 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Merlin Guest House located in the Old Town area of Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 20 guest rooms which are located just one block from Duval Street; you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Merlin Guest House Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing