We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #36 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hernando Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to town”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First room AC was broken but we were promptly moved to another room. It is very quiet and laid back. You can sleep in, breakfast is available in a small garden area. Location is very close to the main streets of town. We walked everywhere. On the last day we were allowed to leave our luggage in the office while waiting for the ferry boarding time. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    188
    53
    22
    15
See reviews for
44
375
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A block off duval..with some parking in and around the hotel for those that drive in..
We have stayed in two different suites and one of the small captains rooms. All were comfortable and clean. Service was very pleasant and attentive..the pool is nestled in a garden central to all the rooms..the price is line with the quality and the location at the 800 block makes this a quieter location while still being in the heart of all the fun

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefkbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our room was not large but it was spotless, crisp white sheets and comfortable bed and pillows. Outdoor breakfast was relaxing - plenty of good coffee and numerous breakfast choices. The pool is small but it has jets and is soooo relaxing after a day of bike riding/sight seeing in Key West. The poinciana tree overhung the patio and it was in full glorious bloom. The staff could not have been more helpful, charming and easy-going. And there's a hammock in the backyard area! Location is an easy walk to Duvall Street and all in all, Merlin met our expectations for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Less expensive, smaller rooms are on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigreader826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This place is transporting! Lush gardens keep it quiet and make it feel special. It is parallel to Duvall by 2 blocks so it is quiet. You can walk everywhere. We stayed in room 11 which is in the middle of the complex. There are some rooms that face the street, these might not have been as quiet. That being said, this street is not a main drag so it's not too busy compared to other places we saw. We would go here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at the Merlin with some friends in January. We booked one of the roomy guesthouses, which had a full kitchen, dining area, two bedrooms and a living room. We very much enjoyed the outdoor spaces with their lush foliage, pool area, hammock and porch swing. The hotel is operated by very helpful, friendly staffers and the breakfast had lots of tasty options. It was the perfect low-key spot for us just a few blocks from the clamor of Duval Street.

Room Tip: If you are part of a group of three or more, opt for one of the large guesthouses. The kitchen is sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EARosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs, ca
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the Merlin Guesthouse for three nights. The room was large and quite nice. The bed and the bedding were great. The bathroom was adequate with a smallish fiberglass shower. The room was very clean. We did have to request that the room be made up one afternoon when we returned at 2:45PM.

The pool is small and was heated which was definitely not appreciated in June with the temperature hovering close to 90 degrees. This hotel is one of six in a chain of Key West historic hotels. I like the company and probably would go to another of the six on my next trip. I booked the Merlin at the last minute and wanted a room with a king size bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dag144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We're glad you liked your large room, bed, bedding, and cleanliness at the Merlin Guesthouse. Our housekeeping staff typically service the rooms which have someone checking in that day first to make sure they're ready for new arrivals, and then they do housekeeping service on the rooms for in-house guests, with all rooms being completed by around 3:30pm. We would love to see you here or at one of our other six unique Historic Key West Inns in the future. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We needed to relax and the Merlin Guesthouse was just what we needed. Our king size room had a comfy sectional sofa. The room was full of character with exposed beams and a lovely wooden wall behind the bed. Spacious, charming, relaxing, clean. The inn was a quiet balance to our time outside in keyed up Key West. Bicycles, the conch tour train, and lots of walking filled our days and nights. Merlin is in a great location just a block away from Duval and several blocks from the harbor. The staff was excellent. If we are ever back to Key West, the Merlin is absolutely where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 is where we stayed. I understand that all king rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
1,325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtney's Place
Courtney's Place
#38 of 77 in Key West
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Property: Merlin Guest House Key West
Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Merlin Guest House Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing