We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 14 April 2011

When the Comfort Inn's "non-smoking room" we reserved had been smoked in (not acceptable to me because of allergies) - we changed hotels and stayed one night at the Best Western Hibiscus and the next night at the Key Ambassador (because of non-availability the 2nd night at the Hibiscus). I think that the Key Ambassador is overpriced (and we actually preferred the less expensive Hibiscus.) Our ocean-view room at the Ambassador was clean enough and comfortable enough though, and came with a microwave, frig, and had a sliding glass door and outdoor seating area. There is a good bike/walking area across the street that runs alongside the water - you just have to cross a very busy road to get to it. Overall for us, the price didn't fit - even for Key West. If I visit Key West again for any reason, I would first try to find a room at the Hibiscus. If money is not a factor for you, then the Key Ambassador is a good choice as well. Best of all - both Best Westerns are 100% non-smoking!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a Manager's Special
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

This hotel would have to be the worst hotel at Key West, it is dirty and definitely not what was expected. We arrived went in to check in and walked right out. We then had to cancel those reservations and find another place to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAM1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keyambassador01, General Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Dear Guest,
We strive to do our best to meet every guest needs and to ensure the quality of our hotel to the highest standards. However, I am not sure of the exact issues of your overall experience, since you did not actually stay at our resort or use our amenities. It is true that first appearances can make the biggest impression. We at the hotel feel we can only improve if our guest notifies us where improvement is needed and how we can make it better. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly; we welcome another chance to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our room was spacious and comfortable. It is in a relaxing part of town - quite safe - and there is a nice walking path right across the street. The breakfast was nice, also. The drawbacks are 1) it is at the end of the airport runway so the jet engines were loud at times, and 2) it is at the opposite end of the island from the action. You have to drive to get to anything. Overall, it was pretty good. The price was right and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My vacation were perfect until I head out to this hotel. Personal are not friendly, they don't care about their guests. When I arrived, I asked where I could rent a bicycle and they told me they could take care of that for me. Nice I first thought. But the guy who bring the bike was not really cool, and the bike was so old, no brakes, no light for riding during the evening (where all other rental bikes had lights, so be warn).

The hotel is right next to the hotel so you don't need a wake up call....

The pool and bar are closed at 7 PM where the Hyatt next to this one is open until really late. You don't even have access to the pool area to relax once closed.

Otherwise, hotel is clean, rooms are big.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviaue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We just got done staying at the Best Western Key Ambassador. They had great hostipality at the tiki bar (food was good), the front desk helped tremendously, rooms were large and clean. The pool was beautiful and warm and the facilities that are around the pool were beautifully done. The free breakfast in the morning is a little off the beaten path but provided great service which included someone making waffles for you to somewhat of a large selection of foods. Very close to the airport, which you did hear airplanes going by at times during the day. Get a room on the lower floor - you won't hear them as much. The air conditioner had a rattle in it but it didn't bother us to much. It is away from Duval street so we rented a moped (sorry spelling), which in my opinion is the only I would travel for one or two people. Duval street has very limited parking but if you travell by moped you can park anywher and for three days it only cost us $4 for gas - worked out deal with guy and got 3 days for $140 (cash), it was at hotel in less than 10 minutes. Got room for $180 a night - little expensive but then again I am not used to going to hotels outside of the midwest. Great for families!

Room Tip: Lower level - Harbor view is cheaper - OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallofamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

After taking my 77 year old father on a 7 day cruise I rented a car in fort lauderdale and we drove down to key west. I have visited the keys several times over the years and wanted to stay in key west this time. I booked the best western because of the reviews and price and was not disappointed. It was everything they advertised and then some.
Some of the reviews I had read complained about the airplanes flying over. If you don't like planes this may be an issue. I observed approx. 20 - 25 planes a day and 80% small to mid size prop planes. I did nt hear any planes after 8 OR 9PM. The only other issue I could see was the location to town, but I did see the trolley stop in front of the office about every 30 min.. We stood at the pool and waived on the live web cam to everyone back home in the snow. The complex was very clean and very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed near the pool and had a screened in porch. I've taken the time to do a review on any hotel before this one, so that should say it all.

Room Tip: stay in a pool view room its worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uspro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stood at this hotel for 7 nights 8 day, and can't wait to go back. The hotel was beautiful and the view was AMAZING! The staff was more than helpful and very pleasant at all times. When we asked for a late check out there was not even a question asked the answer was yes! This hotel is perfect for a couple looking for an escape or a family that does not want to share their stay with many teenagers there on spring break! Overall I would have to say that we had such a pleasant trip that we are already booking to go back next year. Thank you to the staff for making our trip so pleasant!

Room Tip: room 234 or 235 AMAZING VIEW w/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £135 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing