We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
White Marsh, United States
1 review
“Clean, friendly, great view”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Too bad it's not closer to town but I would recommend staying here and renting bikes. Ocean view was beautiful and the pool was very nice. The room was perfect for my sister, cousin and myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that we could provide a nice family get away for you. Our rooms are newly renovated and we have a great staff that take pride in their jobs. We hope to have you again for your next getaway. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    704
    315
    114
    69
See reviews for
646
712
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April 2013 we had a great time. beautiful grounds clean rooms we had a beach view room well worth the little extra $$ we spent.The staff was very friendly, great pool area with bar. It is about 5-10 minutes from downtown depending on traffic Great place to stay if you want to be away from downtown. We will be staying there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and property. We are pleased that we met your expectations and are looking forward to your return visit. We are a little further from downtown but we do have an amazing property with newly renovated rooms. Well worth the 5-10 minute drive. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you're looking for the perfect spot on Key West, here it is...clean, friendly, beautiful grounds and pool area, well maintained and pet friendly...breakfast are great also. Quiet spot away from the noise yet 5 minutes from Duval St and all the action...and a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonneyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Key West. We have a great staff who really care about our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back during your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel with nice clean rooms, in a great location for commuting back and forth to the main area of key west. Its a little pricey but I'm putting that down to its location. We stayed here for 3 nights and had absolutely no complaints at all.
The staff were wonderful, even after we left the hotel. We had a bit of an issue with these cash passports that you load up before you go on holiday.....these things are a total nightmare!!! When you check into a hotel, a holding fee is taken at check-in and then released on check-out, in our case the fee was quite significant and although the hotel had released this fee on check-out, we discovered a couple of days later that it still hadn't gone back onto our card. We contacted the card people who were extremely unhelpful about the situation and we ended up having to contact the hotel again......I must stress that it was not the hotel causing the delay with the funds going back on our card, it was entirely down to the cash passport people. The hotel staff could not do enough to help us with our dilemma.....emailing details to cash passport and speaking to them directly, the hotel staff also stayed in touch with us, which is more than can be said for the staff at cash passport. However, in the end with a lot of help from the lovely staff at the key ambassador hotel, we did get the situation resolved. These guys provided us with a service which was above and beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. I remember this situation and I am glad that we were finally able to get it resolved for you. We take great pride in customer service and guest satisfaction. Next time you are in town, please contact me directly, we would love to have you back. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel was awful in its entirety. From a racist Caribbean front desk woman who couldn't find our reservation because they had it misspelled in their system to a room that was spacious, but had a broken sink, a shower that became a Niagra Falls in miniature when one took a shower which posed a hazard afterwards to a toilet that overflowed when flushed. Lastly, to be next door to the daily breakfast nook was noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank BaronessGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I am terribly sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay.We take great pride in customer satisfaction and guest services. We did not meet your expectations and I apologize for that. We will take this as a learning experience which will make us a stronger team. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss the matter in further detail. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

it was great but the pool closed too early 9pm should have been to 11pm like other hotels. The airpot was a little loud at times also but it was managable.The location was great and you could rent electric cars and keep them on the premises with you. The iguanas were plentiful and running around all over the place. This is a very nice hotel and the pool was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Desdia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Getting feedback from our guests helps us make the daily decisions that improve our guests vacations. We are very happy we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The first thing people need to know that really is not stated anywhere by the hotel - but I did learn from tripadvisor.com before going - The hotel IS AT THE END OF A RUNWAY! Key West International Airport. This means planes landing and taking off and NOISE. Sometimes they take off over the hotel, sometimes they switch and land over the hotel. I was there for 9 days in July 2013. July is Key Wests slow time of year, so, not a lot of flights. Probably more in the winter (busy) time of year. There is everything from bi-planes, Beech Craft, small jets and larger commercial jets. Latest I ever heard planes was 2300 hours and earliest was 0800. According to the airports website as of December 2009 they had 155 flights a day. If you enjoy aircraft this is the place for you! Would I stay here again? Yes. Over all a good experience. Anything really spectacular? No. Pool was very nice, room was clean and a good size, sliding glass door to patio that was screened in. My room was 2 queen beds (my bed was not real comfortable and needed replacing) over looking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico across S Roosevelt Ave. Breakfast was satisfactory. There are no elevators, so, you have to carry everything. Somewhat of a work out if you are on the 2nd floor (and ther are ONLY 2 floors) as I was (and I suggest a 2nd floor room for noise purposes...don't have to hear the folks above you walking around) I did talk to another couple who complained about this. The pool bar / restaurant (The Cheekie Hut) is kind of cool and open from 1000 to 1900 hours. The food was good and a wide selection of drinks that were prices acceptably. Jesse was our bar tender while we were there. He is a decent dude. He moves at his own pace and is kind of hard to get to talk, but, all in all does a good job and as he gets to know you "warms" up a bit. I'm sure his job can be difficult and he never sees the same face for very long, so, why get to friendly? No coolers, drinks or food is permitted to be brought into the pool area. If you want anything you MUST purchase it from the Cheekie Hut. Understandable I guess. My question was the Cheekie Hut closed at 1900 hours and the pool closed at 2100 hours. If you want a drink in between those hours what do you do? I solved the problem, I just took my own in. I figured if any employees said anything I would "officially" ask that question. None of the staff really stuck out as an exceptional or above average employee. It seemed most didn't speak English and avoided conversation. They did their jobs but just not real friendly or talkative. I can live with that. I used the laundry facilities and they were neat, clean, operational and reasonably priced (1.75 to wash and dry) Only 2 washers and 2 dryers and it was "hit or miss" if they would be available or not. The hotel is on the opposite end of the island from Downtown, Duval St and most attractions, so, you will need a car to take one of the sight seeing trolleys. We used Old Tyme Trolley. They did a really good job and you get to ride the 2nd day free. I want to say it was 30 bucks but it was worth it. Get off where ever you want and get back on the next one. They ran from about 0900 to 1700 hours and come around about every 30 minutes. Curry was the best driver we had. The Iguanas run wild in the back of the hotel and are very cool to watch. They will occasionally get into the pool area and run around. They are more afraid of you than you should be of them. The Ibis birds are also present in the pool and bar area. They are a bit more daring and will help themselves to your food and drinks if you are not careful. Beautiful animals to watch though. I will be adding pictures a little later on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M, Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your 9 night stay. I apologize that no one stood out and made your stay that much more enjoyable. That is something that we can improve upon for your next stay with us. We do ask our guests to purchase drinks at our pool bar and to not bring in their own. After the pool bar is shut down we ask that guests do not bring any glass containers to our pool as it is a safety hazard for other guests. We try not to impede on our guests when they are enjoying our pool after pool bar hours. Thank you for leaving your review, we look forward to making your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing