We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but you need a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Munich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location, but you need a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Located in the neighborhood of the airport, you should expect some airplane noise during the daya. From 6 PM it got quiet. The best is, that you -if you are lucky to have the right room - will have a great view to the ocean from the room. So I could sleep with an open window and hear the waves, nice !
The stuff was very friendly. I had a coupon. And normally with a coupon you get a room, which is not the high standard. But they have been so nice to give me this great room with the ocean view. So thanks again, next time I will stay with you again.
The only thing which is not soo good is, that it´s a little bit away from the touristic center. So if you want to go to the town center, you need a car (and a place to park, which can be challenging). But the rest was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    680
    297
    102
    64
See reviews for
611
679
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Nice clean and comfortable, a great January vacation

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirimica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Was nervous about a Best Western as they are not always "the best". However, this place was gorgeous on seven acres of tropically landscaped grounds with a beautiful pool. Rooms were large and very clean and updated. Food at the tiki hut was good with generous portions. Free breakfasts were also great. We were upgraded to a pool and oceanview room and given an additional discount with a coupon from one of the local travel magazines....that was a bonus. Laundry facilities were a plus.
You must have a car to stay here as it is far from Duval and all the action, but it is close to Smather's beach. It was actually nice to get away from the craziness of downtown and I would highly recommend this for families with children.
Another reviewer complained about parking be we had no problems parking and the hotel was sold out. It is close to the aiport so you do hear the planes but they really weren't that bad...not jumbo jets or anything.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethesunCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed at this motel during the Fantasy Fest celebration for 4th time. They have been nice to us in the office and the rates are reasonable for that time of year. The pool is great. The rooms and breakfast are very nice. It has always been quiet for sleeping and plenty of parking. I would recommend this place to anyone and looking forward to going back this next Oct.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

From looking at pictures and reviews prior to our stay this hotel seemed very nice. However, when we arrived we were given a room in the back. Maybe this room has not been remodeled yet because everything seemed outdated - linens, TV, bathrooms. Beds were hard as a rock and the room was extremely noisy! Part of this was due to the surrounding guests but a big part is due to the entrance door. There was no seal around the door so any noise outside sounded like it was in our room. In addition, this hotel is located close to the airport and you can hear planes overhead very clearly. The weather during our stay was very cool so without a seal around the door there was a lot of cold air coming in. There were also no extra blankets in the room.

If you want to be closer to the heart of Key West, this is not the right hotel. It is pretty far away from Duval street and other attractions. The hotel advertises a shuttle, but the shuttle is actually a 90-minute guided trolley tour with the hotel being one of the scheduled stops.

From the pictures, the Tiki Bar seemed to be a unique aspect of the hotel however due to the cool weather it was barely open during our stay. The continental breakfast was average.

Overall, expected more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Member12011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keyambassador01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
It is very sad that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately you did not inform us of your dismay during your stay. We could have tried to better your experience, such as a complimentary upgrade from the room type you reserved.

I am sorry if you misread our information regarding room types and the shuttle service we provide. It does state that we provide a shuttle service to and from the airport only. The trolley is a narrated tour guide and does stop here which is convenient for those who are interested. Even though we sell the tickets for the company “Historic Tours of America” this trolley does not belong to the hotel. We are very lucky to be one of the few hotels that this tour stops at.

For the safety and comfort of our guest we do close the bar during inclement weather. If we could have our way we would have sunshine all the time. =)

I hope you decide to give our hotel a second chance to meet all your expectations. Please feel free to contact me.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed at the Key Ambassador for two nights during the last week of December 2010. I was surprised and a little concerned, upon arrival, to find that all the rooms had outside entrances, and my room was at ground level. However, I found my room to be quite large, clean, and modern, with plenty of towels, a fridge, microwave, and even a pull-out couch. The bed was very comfortable, and despite the airport being literally next door to the property, there was no flight activity past 9:30pm and none in the morning to wake you up. During the evening hours, I noticed staff riding around the property in golf carts to keep an eye on what was going on, so that was reassuring, as I was kind of nervous about staying in a hotel with an outside entrance. It made me feel very safe. I arrived for the continental breakfast about an hour before it ended, and found it very crowded, as it is in a very small room with barely any seating. so I left without getting anything. The Key Ambassador is located pretty far from Duvall St, but there is a trolley (I believe it is $30/person) that stops for pickups and drop offs in front of the hotel until 5:30pm, and takes you to Duvall St, Mallory Square, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you don't mind its location being a bit far from all the activity of Key West.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

This was our third time at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn. We love the mini suite Harbor View room, it is very clean,roomy and well stocked with towels, bath items and a fridge. The grounds are beautifully kept and a AWESOME pool with a great Tiki bar. There is also a laundry facility. If you get up early enough you can walk across the street and catch a beautiful sunrise upon the Atlantic Ocean. All the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny72664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing