We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We came to Key West from Miami on a whim this past spring break. After calling multiple hotels in the area, Best Western was able to accommodate us. The staff could not have been better. They were attentive, helpful, and friendly. There was no hassle. If you are looking for a budget friendly place to stay in Key West but don't want to sacrifice a good staff or clean rooms, then Best Western Hibiscus is where you should stay. I will recommend it to anyone and everyone in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    911
    161
    47
    32
See reviews for
696
923
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
venice, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a great location to be right near the fun. A bit pricy for the quality it provides, but it all comes down to: location, location, location... We will be back if prices don't go further up. All in all we had a pleasant stay with friendly but busy stuff; it was spring break and they had their hands full. This location is a great base camp for explorations on foot if you like walking. Not the best if you want to spend time on the beach; but we have beaches at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yes there are newer hotels but this one appears to have been upgraded by Best Western to at least have reached their expected standards and whilst not cheap, it was a lot less expensive than many of the newer ones we looked at booking in Key West............our room was clean and spacious and everything worked fine. The pool was a pleasant surprise in that it was much bigger than expected and 8 foot deep at the deep end. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool area and no problem finding space in the hotel's two free car parks.

An added bonus was that the room had a bath tub and fixed shower head over it and not just a shower cubicle.......that pleases my wife as she cannot understand how you American ladies clean your "under-carriage" properly with the fixed headed showers in the cubicles you find in most hotels (do you all learn how to do hand stands at High School and then do these in the shower or has no one in America ever thought to invent a shower head on a flexible pipe?).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevora130559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Room smelled from cleaning products and it was very strong even with the doors and windows open. Our air conditioner would not work probably, did not take out the humidly nor did it cool the room down. Furniture needed up dated, lots of dings and drawers were all sticking and did not close.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 457betsyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
If there is an issue with your room at check in, please let someone know. Do this wherever you stay. We don't want you to be unhappy and if you let us know, we will fix it or find you another property more suitable. Some guests have an adverse reaction to any chemical smell and we try to keep the smells at a minimum. But if you let us know, we will move you. Sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

had a very nice stay. you can walk from here to the beach and to the port. easy to find. great pool and hot tub. staff is great!!! The pictures are right on . breakfeast was ok, nothing fancy. our room faced the pool and was on ground floor. pool noise was nothing, very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it. The rooms are very spacious, we stayed 4 in a room and had plenty of room. It is really too big for just 2 people. The bathroom/dressing area is great. Breakfast was a nice surprise. The location is perfect and a short walk to all the action on Duval Street. I would definitely stay there again and suggest it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dianeh792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The receptionist is the first person one meets on the hotel staff. A warm welcome is a good first impression, a frosty abrubt welcome does a hotel no favours. Having booked on 4th Jan 2014 for 12 nights, 1st of March the room charge was immediately taken on my card: after 47 years travelling (30 professionally) this is the first and only time that payment has been taken in advance except for special deals, which this was not. That niggled. On arrival we had choice of room 126 or 231. Room 126 had no natural light except for the restroom window and was down a very dark alleyway. We turned that room down within one minute and returned to reception where the lady receptionist initially wondered if the was a room, and after rustling and muttering through files room 231 reappeared. We accepted it. We were very happy with the room which was above the lobby, it was quiet, comfortable with plenty of natural light. The metal bases of the beds were noisy. The Breakfast area is woefully small with about 20 seats for 62 rooms(124 eaters?) and a bit cluttered. The food was adequate and plentiful. The location is superb for downtown Key West. On departure the male receptionist was efficient and friendly ,as was his male coleague the previous evening. First impressions count, we were not amused on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Sorry you were disappointed. We are a deposit required motel and we have always required a deposit to secure a room. True, not all properties around the world do this. Our policy is listed quite prominently on the website and again before you put your credit card in for the reservation. It is great that we got you into a room you liked even though we started out wrong - the staff made an effort to help. Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing