We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay ruined by horrible breakfast and unusable internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the best Best Western room we've ever stayed in, but it should be for $300 per night! The large room had pleasant décor, good air conditioning and lighting, and comfortable furniture and bed. We had a microwave and a large mini-fridge with freezer. There were two separate sink areas, making it easy for both of us to get ready in the morning. The pool area was extremely popular. I tried to use the computer in the lobby, but it was so slow that I gave up. We walked the length of Duval Street from the motel to the pier in the evening to watch the sunset. Be sure to get some Key lime pie at Kermit's on Duval. We would have given this place four stars, but the breakfast was terrible. There was little choice, and the items were mainly inferior carbs like sweetened cereal. Would it be so difficult to have hard-boiled eggs or hot oatmeal?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We would love to enhance our breakfast but we don't have a restaurant or a restaurant license. Because we do not have a restaurant license we are limited as to what we can offer on the continental breakfast. This is governed by the State of Florida. We understand this and we try to offer the best we can within our limits Sorry it was not as expected. There are always alternatives and we have many great restaurants within walking distance. Thanks for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Best Western Hibiscus offers a number of things we find appealing. East to drive to, ample parking, efficient check in, a large comfortable, quiet room and last but not least - within walking distance to the Hemmingway House, The Key West Lighthouse, the Truman "Little White House", and Duval Street and Mallory Square. The hotel staff called an early morning taxi for our Fort Jefferson trip, and allowed us to park our car at no charge at the hotel even though we had already checked out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d17mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We came to Key West from Miami on a whim this past spring break. After calling multiple hotels in the area, Best Western was able to accommodate us. The staff could not have been better. They were attentive, helpful, and friendly. There was no hassle. If you are looking for a budget friendly place to stay in Key West but don't want to sacrifice a good staff or clean rooms, then Best Western Hibiscus is where you should stay. I will recommend it to anyone and everyone in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delaney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a great location to be right near the fun. A bit pricy for the quality it provides, but it all comes down to: location, location, location... We will be back if prices don't go further up. All in all we had a pleasant stay with friendly but busy stuff; it was spring break and they had their hands full. This location is a great base camp for explorations on foot if you like walking. Not the best if you want to spend time on the beach; but we have beaches at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yes there are newer hotels but this one appears to have been upgraded by Best Western to at least have reached their expected standards and whilst not cheap, it was a lot less expensive than many of the newer ones we looked at booking in Key West............our room was clean and spacious and everything worked fine. The pool was a pleasant surprise in that it was much bigger than expected and 8 foot deep at the deep end. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool area and no problem finding space in the hotel's two free car parks.

An added bonus was that the room had a bath tub and fixed shower head over it and not just a shower cubicle.......that pleases my wife as she cannot understand how you American ladies clean your "under-carriage" properly with the fixed headed showers in the cubicles you find in most hotels (do you all learn how to do hand stands at High School and then do these in the shower or has no one in America ever thought to invent a shower head on a flexible pipe?).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevora130559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Room smelled from cleaning products and it was very strong even with the doors and windows open. Our air conditioner would not work probably, did not take out the humidly nor did it cool the room down. Furniture needed up dated, lots of dings and drawers were all sticking and did not close.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 457betsyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

If there is an issue with your room at check in, please let someone know. Do this wherever you stay. We don't want you to be unhappy and if you let us know, we will fix it or find you another property more suitable. Some guests have an adverse reaction to any chemical smell and we try to keep the smells at a minimum. But if you let us know, we will move you. Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

had a very nice stay. you can walk from here to the beach and to the port. easy to find. great pool and hot tub. staff is great!!! The pictures are right on . breakfeast was ok, nothing fancy. our room faced the pool and was on ground floor. pool noise was nothing, very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#43 of 51 in Key West
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
3.7 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £143 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
Best Western Hibiscus Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing